[Mod] TravelGrid, now with coordinates

Discuss your new mods and themes here

Moderator: Defcon moderators

User avatar
trickser
level5
level5
Posts: 1826
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 2:15 pm
Location: The Senate ; GMT+1
Contact:

[Mod] TravelGrid, now with coordinates

Postby trickser » Fri Sep 26, 2008 1:21 am

Mod shows a grid on the Worldmap

Image

Its main purpose is to measure things and estimate time of arrival.
The Distance between one node to the next horizontally or vertically is the following traveltime of a specific unit:

    Bomber: 120sec/2min
    Nuke: about 60sec/1min
    Battleship/Carrier: 200sec/3:20min or 3nodes in 10min
    Sub: 285sec/4:45min or 4nodes in 19min


The actual nuke traveltime is a little vague. While it needs a little more then 60sec on short distances, its traveltime will shorten if its arc goes near the upper map boundary. A short test showed about 2min shorten traveltime when flying a maximum distance from asia to north america (about 35min total). So 60sec is a ok approximation.

To get times of non vertical or horizontal movement , one would use Pythagoras

travelgrid.zip - unzip into your Defcon folder

An interesting side effect: The grid is actually shown on the globe in the start screen, once activated

UPDATE:

I added coordinates to the nodes.
Image

The coordinates are basicly longitude/latitude. They are also the internal used coordinates (e.g. for bot programing). But I divided them by 6 to keep numbers small. If anyone needs a modification of this, just say so.

travelgrid_coordinates.zip
Last edited by trickser on Tue Dec 18, 2012 12:39 am, edited 5 times in total.
User avatar
tllotpfkamvpe
level5
level5
Posts: 1768
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 12:04 am
Contact:

Postby tllotpfkamvpe » Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:38 am

Haha I really like this mod :lol: Thanks trickster.
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Fri Sep 26, 2008 8:22 am

Great idea.
User avatar
Pox
level5
level5
Posts: 1786
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Melbourne

Postby Pox » Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:03 am

Nice idea, will make naval nuking much easier. Thanks! :)
User avatar
rus|Mike
level5
level5
Posts: 2750
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 5:52 pm
Location: Russia, St. Petersburg

Postby rus|Mike » Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:24 am

Brilliant.

It is going to be my second active mod (after Bert's Radar Mod).
User avatar
Nightwatch
level5
level5
Posts: 1288
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:02 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Nightwatch » Fri Sep 26, 2008 11:14 am

Pox wrote:Nice idea, will make naval nuking much easier. Thanks! :)
Just change course when nukes are flying :wink:

Nice idea anyway.

It is going to be my second active mod (after Bert's Radar Mod).
Is it possible to activate both of them at the same time?
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Fri Sep 26, 2008 11:41 am

Nightwatch wrote:Is it possible to activate both of them at the same time?
Looks like it. This one is modding the border lines, while the radar range mod lazily uses the ocean bitmap.
User avatar
X-Ray
level2
level2
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 12:09 am

Postby X-Ray » Fri Sep 26, 2008 11:54 am

Nightwatch wrote:
It is going to be my second active mod (after Bert's Radar Mod).

Is it possible to activate both of them at the same time?


Yes, it is possible to activate both and more at the same time.

However, I recall something from a while back about avoiding conflicts with certain mods by making sure Bert's radar mods are in the first and second positions, followed by your other mods. (Bert, please correct me if the order of your radar mods is no longer an issue.)

Example:

1) Territory Radar Ranges (Bert's)
2) Territory Radar Styles (Bert's)
3) Real Explosions (example)
4) TravelGrid (example)
5) Other mods


The photo below depicts the four (4) mods above active at the same time (please ignore the protractor):

Image


    User avatar
    Ace Rimmer
    level5
    level5
    Posts: 10803
    Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 9:46 pm
    Location: The Multiverse

    Postby Ace Rimmer » Fri Sep 26, 2008 3:08 pm

    User avatar
    trickser
    level5
    level5
    Posts: 1826
    Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 2:15 pm
    Location: The Senate ; GMT+1
    Contact:

    Postby trickser » Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:00 pm

    oops, now i remember seeing this.
    And the idea about traveling times, i got from the How to nuke enemy bombers topic.

    So it doesnt seem to be my idea at all. Strange how your own mind can fool you, because i was convinced, this mod must be very originally.

    But you seem to like it anyway, so who cares? :D
    User avatar
    Ace Rimmer
    level5
    level5
    Posts: 10803
    Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 9:46 pm
    Location: The Multiverse

    Postby Ace Rimmer » Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:13 pm

    Well, yours is shinier than shiny's. :P

    This mod does have one drawback to it; if two decent players are using it, and one places his units based on the grid and the other figures that out without scouting but through other nefarious means (triangulation), it's a surefire way to get your units killed. :wink:
    Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast...
    User avatar
    Pox
    level5
    level5
    Posts: 1786
    Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:23 am
    Location: Melbourne

    Postby Pox » Sat Sep 27, 2008 1:11 am

    Nightwatch wrote:
    Pox wrote:Nice idea, will make naval nuking much easier. Thanks! :)
    Just change course when nukes are flying :wink:

    Nice idea anyway.


    Sure, if you're paying perfect attention to all your units. I've pulled off 4-minute flight time naval nukes by eye before.

    Ace: if you place units based on the grid, you deserve to have them all nuked. ;)
    User avatar
    Nightwatch
    level5
    level5
    Posts: 1288
    Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:02 pm
    Location: Germany

    Postby Nightwatch » Thu Oct 16, 2008 3:57 pm

    link doesn`t work anymore on my pc
    User avatar
    (MOR)
    level5
    level5
    Posts: 2799
    Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 9:00 pm
    Location: Morocco
    Contact:

    Postby (MOR) » Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:55 pm

    Nightwatch wrote:link doesn`t work anymore on my pc


    Try this one travelgrid_1.zip :wink:
    User avatar
    Nightwatch
    level5
    level5
    Posts: 1288
    Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:02 pm
    Location: Germany

    Postby Nightwatch » Thu Oct 16, 2008 5:09 pm

    ah thank you :D

    Return to “Mod Projects”

    Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests