Prison Architect Alpha2 released

The only place you'll ever hear the truth
User avatar
Chris
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2000 7:28 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Prison Architect Alpha2 released

Postby Chris » Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:40 pm

The first major update to the Prison Architect alpha has been released, and all Alpha customers can download it immediately from the Wiki in the usual place (Downloads section). We have uploaded builds for Pc and Mac. Mac users will be pleased to hear we have fixed the issues with MacosX 10.6 and also retina displays.

You can pre-order Prison Architect and get immediate access to the alpha at www.prison-architect.com!

We have made the first of many update videos which explains and demonstrates the new features. Our future plan is to release a video with each of our Alpha updates, and the format of the videos will generally be a recorded conversation between myself and Mark in which we demo the new features and explain them to you. We hope you approve! Subscribe to our Youtube channel to keep up.



We ran a poll on our Alpha forums asking the community what feature they’d like to see first, and Guard Deployment came out clearly on top (beating the Fire Department callout and Escape Tunnels). So the first major feature of this new build is the Deployment screen. This shows you a security schematic of your prison and allows you to assign guards to each of your sectors, and to set patrols for them to walk along. This makes locking down your prison a lot easier!

Image

We’ve also fixed a bunch of bugs and introduced an option when creating a new prison which lets you restrict the incoming rate of prisoners so they don’t overwhelm you. Rather than receiving a random number every day you will only receive prisoners when you have space. This is optional but gives a more laid back sandboxy feel. This was another very strongly requested feature.

We hope you enjoy the new update. We’ll be running a new Poll on the alpha forum soon asking you what features you’d like to see next. We’ve been totally blown away by the incredibly positive response to Prison Architect, and it warms our hearts that our Alpha forum is so bursting with great ideas people have posted, our Wiki is filling up with content, and the Prison Architect modding scene has already started up.

Here is the full change list:

Code: Select all

= Deployment mode
    New screen in the toolbar, unlocked in the usual way by the Security Chief
    You can assign Guards to the sectors of your jail
    You can draw Patrol routes within the sectors, and your guards will follow them   

- Intake options: When creating a new map there is an option called Continuous Intake
    - "Enabled" behaves like Alpha1, ie a semi-random number of prisoners arrive every day
    - "Disabled" means prisoners only arrive when you have capacity to fit them in
    - Max 24 prisoners per day either way       
   
- Newly created sandboxes have a Time Warp Factor, which govers the speed of the game clock.
    Large maps now "slow down" the game clock by 50% to give entities longer to get around.
    Medium maps slow down the game clock to 75%. Small maps run at 100%.

- The game now saves thumbnail PNGs when you save a level. 
    These are displayed in the Loading / Saving screen when available
   
- Large Pipes can now be built under existing walls
       
- Fixed: Game now runs on MacOSX 10.6 or greater (issue with libcurl)

- Experimental Fix: Game should now run properly on Retina Mac screens
    It will default to fullscreen at the lower (non retina) resolution
    You can force Retina resolution (2x higher) in preferences.txt with screenW and screenH

- Fixed: Some needs should not be displayed to the user (Eg need for Weapon)

- Fixed: Prisoners will no longer sit on chairs or use any equipment in any Office

- Fixed: An issue where goods and Prisoners in a supply truck could be left behind on the road

- Fixed: Prisoners would sometimes become stationary zombies after being escorted from the deliveries zone
    (AiTargetSet flag not cleared)
   
- Fixed: Room type was often forgotten after a Save & Load. Room type would show up after load as "None".
    Note: Save games with this bug will still be broken on Load.  The game will assign these rooms type "Cell" as a guess.
 
- Fixed: An issue that caused Save Games to load very very slowly (appearing to crash) if you had created a single very large room
   
- Mealtimes [Secret]


Follow us to stay up to date:
Subscribe to our Blog
Subscribe to our Youtube channel
Follow us on Twitter
Last edited by Chris on Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
shinygerbil
level5
level5
Posts: 4667
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 10:14 pm
Location: Out, finding my own food. Also, doing the shinyBonsai Manoeuvre(tm)
Contact:

Postby shinygerbil » Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:41 pm

Sweet!
Here is my signature. Make of it what you will.
Image
crummett
level2
level2
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:04 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Postby crummett » Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:59 pm

nice thanks!! If you have say 6 guards and you click 6+ times how does that deal with it?
User avatar
Harmonica
level1
level1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 1:27 pm

Postby Harmonica » Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:14 pm

Thanks Chris & co.
nuker1991
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:21 am

Postby nuker1991 » Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm

Great :D

Now i can play with the guards :p
Cant wait on the next release 8)
User avatar
thekev506
level1
level1
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 3:36 pm
Location: Merseyside

Postby thekev506 » Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:17 pm

thanks!
User avatar
Tigerchen
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 7:52 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Tigerchen » Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:18 pm

Sounds great, good Job. Thank you for listening to the com. :D
kevin00756
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 2:57 pm

Postby kevin00756 » Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:29 pm

Great will try it later :)
User avatar
kongoman
level2
level2
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 5:01 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby kongoman » Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:15 pm

Great news, I'm excited !
Rekka
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:48 am

Postby Rekka » Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:29 pm

Downloading. :D Thanks for the new version. :)
User avatar
scottystreet
level1
level1
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Postby scottystreet » Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:30 pm

Hooray!
Anybody know anything about the 'Spawn' and 'Properties' tabs on the menu seen in the video? I'm guessing these are developer tools... Is there a launch flag to turn them on or something?
rockchops
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:13 am

Re: Prison Architect Alpha2 released

Postby rockchops » Thu Oct 18, 2012 7:46 pm

Chris wrote:

Code: Select all

- Mealtimes [Secret]



Oh, Chris. You tease!
DennisPennis
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:55 am

Postby DennisPennis » Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:25 pm

zip-file for the PC version is corrupt. At least it says so for me...

Code: Select all

!   C:\..\..\Downloads\Prisonarchitect-alpha2-pc.zip: The archive is corrupt
!   C:\..\..\Downloads\Prisonarchitect-alpha2-pc.zip: The archive is corrupt
!   C:\..\..\Downloads\Prisonarchitect-alpha2-pc.zip: CRC failed in sounds.dat. The file is corrupt
!   C:\..\..\Downloads\Prisonarchitect-alpha2-pc.zip: The archive is corrupt
AsgerJ
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 3:57 am

Electric chair problem.

Postby AsgerJ » Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:40 pm

Hi! I have a problem with the electric chair. It says that I have to connect power to it, but it stays at 94%. I have tried putting cable in different places, but it didn't help.
Is this a bug, or am I doing something wrong?
I'm on mac, Mountain lion.

Sincerely, Asger


Edit:
I restarted the game and tried it again, and it worked! Really liking this game so far.
Last edited by AsgerJ on Thu Oct 18, 2012 9:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mas Tnega
level5
level5
Posts: 7898
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 11:54 pm
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Postby Mas Tnega » Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:56 pm

DennisPennis wrote:zip-file for the PC version is corrupt. At least it says so for me...

Code: Select all

!   C:\..\..\Downloads\Prisonarchitect-alpha2-pc.zip: The archive is corrupt
!   C:\..\..\Downloads\Prisonarchitect-alpha2-pc.zip: The archive is corrupt
!   C:\..\..\Downloads\Prisonarchitect-alpha2-pc.zip: CRC failed in sounds.dat. The file is corrupt
!   C:\..\..\Downloads\Prisonarchitect-alpha2-pc.zip: The archive is corrupt
Check the file size. If it's less than 79290kB, the connection probably dropped somewhere during the download. New releases haven't been too kind on the site lately.

Return to “Introversion Blog”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests