Minecraft (Pic Heavy)

The place to hang out and talk about totally anything general.
User avatar
Feud
level5
level5
Posts: 5149
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:40 pm
Location: Blackacre, VA

Minecraft (Pic Heavy)

Postby Feud » Sat Sep 25, 2010 11:44 pm

Since the Random thread is going to get messy if that's where the topic stays. :wink:

Edit: Minecraft info-

Unofficial IV Server- ponduspalle.dyndns.org:25565

Minimap Mod- http://www.minecraftforum.net/viewtopic ... 12&t=41455
Download the client
Open the .jar file
Connect to the server (ponduspalle.dyndns.org , port 9777)
Load overlay map (Normal2 from the docs folder is the newest at the moment)
Calibrate it to -864 and -1024

Google Docs folder containing map images- https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0B0b4i6 ... NDFm&hl=en
Last edited by Feud on Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Xocrates
level5
level5
Posts: 5262
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:34 pm

Re: Minecraft (Pic Heavy)

Postby Xocrates » Sun Sep 26, 2010 12:17 am

Feud wrote:Lessons learned: 1) Build your fortress on land, then build a canal to flood the moat. Building an entire island just isn't practical.

Sadly, this doesn't work on the paid version.
User avatar
Feud
level5
level5
Posts: 5149
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:40 pm
Location: Blackacre, VA

Postby Feud » Sun Sep 26, 2010 12:19 am

Yeah, I heard that the water has been changed around some. Does it not flow like it used to?
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Sun Sep 26, 2010 12:31 am

Found this useful guide today:

Image
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
Feud
level5
level5
Posts: 5149
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:40 pm
Location: Blackacre, VA

Postby Feud » Sun Sep 26, 2010 12:59 am

I'd figured the air pocket one out by accident when I flooded a cave system (but the wood casting mold idea is genius!). Been trying to think of a good way to incorporate it into my fortress as a way of preventing unwanted visitors. An underwater maze with air pockets only along the correct route would be fun, but it would be a bear to build it.
User avatar
Xocrates
level5
level5
Posts: 5262
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:34 pm

Postby Xocrates » Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:26 am

From up here, the view of Xocrates Bay (name pending?) is fairly impressive:

Image

Mind you, the view from down there is even more so:

Image

Hi Shwart!
Image

Image

Night time!

Image

Image

Image
User avatar
Chris
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2000 7:28 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Postby Chris » Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:30 am

Brilliant work guys, I love the giant Darwinian :) I've been pretty hooked on Minecraft for a few weeks now, seems to have enjoyed a massive spike recently.
User avatar
elexis
level5
level5
Posts: 1466
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Postby elexis » Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:34 am

Always good to have a seal of approval :)

Xocrates, if you want prettier rock try throwing it into a furnace (or a dozen furnaces). Unless you are using multiplayer and crafting isn't supported yet...
User avatar
Shwart!!
level5
level5
Posts: 1237
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:36 am

Postby Shwart!! » Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:37 am

:) The only part I was involved there for was the Darwinian, and it was pretty easy to make. I quite like how the lighting engine allowed me to shade it similarly to the normal DG sprite, though. Pity that can only be seen at night.
When I have time, I'm going to find the map that my brother and I made a huge castle-thing on... it's pretty cool. I'll put some pics here.
EDIT: Yea, crafting works. We just didn't think about using another material before making it.

Shwart!!
Jordy...
level5
level5
Posts: 2367
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:57 pm

Postby Jordy... » Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:38 am

man. I'm getting tempted here...
User avatar
Feud
level5
level5
Posts: 5149
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:40 pm
Location: Blackacre, VA

Postby Feud » Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:41 am

Nice job Xocrates!

That's an awesome building location, a nice lagoon surrounded by cliffs. I can see why your mines were so far from your settlement, I wouldn't want to spoil that landscape either.

How do you get on top of the DG? Is there a stairway, or do you just have to build/climb your way up?
User avatar
Xocrates
level5
level5
Posts: 5262
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:34 pm

Postby Xocrates » Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:58 am

Chris wrote:Brilliant work guys, I love the giant Darwinian :) I've been pretty hooked on Minecraft for a few weeks now, seems to have enjoyed a massive spike recently.

Glad you liked it :) feel free to pop in on the server mibias so kindly provided, if only to check it up close: ponduspalle.dyndns.org:25565
All you have to do is follow the Bloody long tunnel near the spawn point and climb up there (there's a passage just to the left of the waterfall on screenshot 2)

Feud wrote:How do you get on top of the DG? Is there a stairway, or do you just have to build/climb your way up?

There's a spiral staircase through the right leg and center, with exits at the arms, legs at top. The left leg also has stairs but it's arranged differently.

Feud wrote:That's an awesome building location, a nice lagoon surrounded by cliffs. I can see why your mines were so far from your settlement, I wouldn't want to spoil that landscape either.

Whut? I think you're confusing this with my single player game. This is on mibias server and my mine is actually under the lighthouse.

The reason the mine on my SP game was so far away was because I was having trouble finding iron nearby and went exploring, stopping at several points until I found a particularly rich mine. Don't be confused, the area underneath my castle (and the area around it) was pretty damn mined.

I may post some screenshots of that tomorrow. In the meantime, bedtime!
User avatar
Feud
level5
level5
Posts: 5149
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:40 pm
Location: Blackacre, VA

Postby Feud » Sun Sep 26, 2010 4:26 am

Xocrates wrote:Whut? I think you're confusing this with my single player game. This is on mibias server and my mine is actually under the lighthouse.


Ah, that I was.
elDiablo
level5
level5
Posts: 3111
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 12:23 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby elDiablo » Sun Sep 26, 2010 12:18 pm

Skycity is currently in the forming stages.
We dont stop playing cos we get old... We get old cos we stop playing.
User avatar
Xocrates
level5
level5
Posts: 5262
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:34 pm

Postby Xocrates » Sun Sep 26, 2010 2:38 pm

Right, I took some screenshots of my Single Player game, but they are far too many to just post here so I'll just link to a google docs folder containing them and give the descriptions here:

Image24 - View from the castle from first exploration beacon
Image25 - Segment of exploration beacons line
Image26 - Farm
Image27 - Library interior
Image28 - Darwinian statue on Library/museum
Image29 - Museum interior
Image30 - Lumber-yard access
Image31 - Boathouse/Reed greenhouse and Library/Museum/lighthouse exterior
Image32 - Library/Museum/lighthouse exterior
Image33 - Path connecting Spawn Tower to Castle
Image34 - Spawn Tower interior
Image35 - Spawn Tower train station
Image36 - Viewing gallery (front of castle interior)
Image37 - Workshop 2
Image38 - Workshop 1
Image39 - Castle 1st floor
Image40 - Castle top and view
Image41 - Castle ground floor
Image42 - Castle front balcony
Image43 - Boathouse interior

Return to “Introversion Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests