Darwinia Vista Patch launched

The forum with all your Introversion News!
User avatar
Mark
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed May 30, 2001 1:24 am
Contact:

Darwinia Vista Patch launched

Postby Mark » Mon Jun 18, 2007 2:36 pm

As Vista slowly marches forward, we cannot fail to jump on board. To this end, we would like to announce the launch of the Vista patch for Darwinia. This has been a long time coming, but we think it is worth it. There are a number of graphical updates and bug fixes and we thoroughly recommend installing it if you have taken the plunge and upgraded to Vista.

For more details, take a look here: http://www.darwinia.co.uk/support.
User avatar
KingAl
level5
level5
Posts: 4138
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:42 am

Postby KingAl » Mon Jun 18, 2007 2:40 pm

Shiny.
Gentlemen, you can't fight in here: this is the War Room!
Ultimate Uplink Guide
Latest Patch
Atelophobia
level2
level2
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 6:18 am
Location: Orange County

Postby Atelophobia » Mon Jun 18, 2007 5:07 pm

When I installed the patch, I got the demo version, not the full version as I had previously. :(

Edit: I can do everything a full user should be able to do (all the regular levels, etc.), but when in a level, I get the 'Buy Game' menu item, no 'Leave Location' menu item, and when I hit 'Leave Darwinia', I get the 'Want More?' nag message. I think something's a little messed up.
brice
level2
level2
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:04 am

Postby brice » Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:43 pm

Just FYI, that support page lists 1.4.2 as being available for linux... but the linked linux page contains only 1.3.0... and it still seems you have to go to the linux darwinia furum to get 1.4.0b9. If there really is a 1.4.2 for linux, YEA! \o/ ... if not, maybe you should change tha support page for consistency?

-brice
estel
level4
level4
Posts: 689
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:20 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Postby estel » Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:57 pm

Ok...

So are we going to see the 1.5 patch for XP? Please?

Pretty please?
User avatar
wwarnick
level5
level5
Posts: 1863
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 8:44 pm
Location: Rexburg, ID

Postby wwarnick » Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:47 pm

The latest patch was designed for Vista. They released the patch so any current Darwinia owners switching to Vista won't have to buy a second copy.

EDIT: anyone whose installed the patch, have you had this problem?

wwarnick
User avatar
frenchfrog
level5
level5
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Quebec

Postby frenchfrog » Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:53 pm

True, but the Steam version is at 1.5.10 and run on XP ;)
The Ultimate Uplink Guide (for any question on Uplink)
Latest Uplink Patch
User avatar
wwarnick
level5
level5
Posts: 1863
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 8:44 pm
Location: Rexburg, ID

Postby wwarnick » Mon Jun 18, 2007 9:59 pm

Do you get the special effects?

wwarnick
dalangalma
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 2:17 am

Postby dalangalma » Tue Jun 19, 2007 2:30 am

I've been waiting for 5 months to get this patch so that I could finally play Darwinia "the right way" on Vista.

However, it won't install. It says I don't have the right version of DirectX, even though dxdiag says I have DirectX 10. What gives? Can I just get a zip-format patch?
estel
level4
level4
Posts: 689
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:20 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Postby estel » Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:36 am

wwarnick wrote:Do you get the special effects?

wwarnick


Yes. But the patch still isn't available for non-Steam users; i.e. the majority of people on these forums.
User avatar
frenchfrog
level5
level5
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Quebec

Postby frenchfrog » Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:02 pm

dalangalma wrote:However, it won't install. It says I don't have the right version of DirectX, even though dxdiag says I have DirectX 10. What gives? Can I just get a zip-format patch?


Do you have the following files?

1) $WINDIR\system32\d3dx9_32.dll (yes or no)
2) $WINDIR\system32\xinput1_3.dll (yes or no)

If not, could you give a list your files beginning by:
$WINDIR\system32\d3dx
$WINDIR\system32\xinput
dalangalma
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 2:17 am

Postby dalangalma » Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:36 pm

1) $WINDIR\system32\d3dx9_32.dll NO
2) $WINDIR\system32\xinput1_3.dll YES

I've got:

d3dx9_24.dll
d3dx9_25.dll
d3dx9_26.dll
d3dx9_27.dll
d3dx9_28.dll
d3dx9_29.dll
d3dx9_30.dll
d3dx9_31.dll

and

xinput1_1.dll
xinput1_2.dll
xinput1_3.dll

Mine is Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit - I haven't been prompted to get any newer DirectX.
User avatar
KingAl
level5
level5
Posts: 4138
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:42 am

Postby KingAl » Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:42 pm

The required files are available here - you need DirectX with Optional Extra Components. Hopefully the 64-bit OS doesn't cause other issues.
Gentlemen, you can't fight in here: this is the War Room!

Ultimate Uplink Guide

Latest Patch
dalangalma
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 2:17 am

Postby dalangalma » Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:46 pm

Hm, I didn't realize there had been an update a few days ago. Maybe your installer should be specific about what version it needs - I obviously had relatively recent versions of both DX9 and DX10, but I still needed to update!

At least the patch works now!
User avatar
frenchfrog
level5
level5
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Quebec

Postby frenchfrog » Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:02 pm

Thanks for the fast reply, the message in the installer will probably be made clearer.

Return to “Introversion News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests