Idea for "StarWars" / Satellite based nukes mod

Discuss your new mods and themes here

Moderator: Defcon moderators

NightHawk117
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 1:48 am

Idea for "StarWars" / Satellite based nukes mod

Postby NightHawk117 » Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:00 am

Hello, I've played and enjoyed the demo of Defcon and will soon be buying the full game but I thought I'd check out the modding scene first. Definitely some interesting and fun looking mods listed. I haven't looked into how difficult it is to make a mod yet so I thought I'd put this idea out there for anyone looking for a project.

I'd like to see a mod that adds satellites armed with nukes similar to Reagan's "StarWars" plan. For example, you could add a limited number of satellite units (which may take time to become active as they have to be launched into orbit) and these could target ground locations. Although there would be an advantage to having these units be able to fairly quickly move to an enemy area, the disadvantage is that they would have little/no defences so as to keep gameplay balanced. Would anybody be interested in something like this?
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:04 am

A Comprehensive Guide to Modding Defcon wrote:The first thing to realise when modding Defcon is that you can't add something, only replace i.e. you may change what a unit looks like but you can't add new units or add/change characteristics/behaviour (such as how fast something fires).
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
Crook
level1
level1
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:22 am
Contact:

Postby Crook » Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:03 pm

You could use a blank sailable.bmp for the ships perhaps, and have 3 types of satellite using the sub, carrier and destroyer perhaps? Hardly ideal for the carrier as it can launch other things - mini satallites maybe?
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:10 pm

If you had no land (as defined by sailable.bmp) you would have no cities and no where to place land units.
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.

Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
Crook
level1
level1
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:22 am
Contact:

Postby Crook » Wed Jan 31, 2007 6:07 pm

Ahhh well thats an idea that bites the dust. i thought you'd be able to have the sailable and still define cities with cites.dat.
User avatar
LordSturm
level4
level4
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:13 am
Location: Australia - No Nukes :(
Contact:

Postby LordSturm » Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:01 am

You would also want to know satellites have no means of mass propulsion , so they must orbit a mass with gravity.

Essentially u would put the earth in the middle, :P, so it could be earth vs the evil AI inhibiting the sattelites. Then again earth couldnt nuke back, bleh. :(

Maybe corrosponding cities on the earth, and n... never mind, it will never work. :(
"Surely you didn't mean to press that button just then did you?"
"No, nor will i disarm the nukes."
"Oh well, I will have my Fighters shoot them down."
"Sure you will."
"Oh NOES, ITS BEEN PATCHED!!!"

Return to “Mod Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests