Spy satellites

Discuss your new mods and themes here

Moderator: Defcon moderators

User avatar
torq
level3
level3
Posts: 399
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 6:28 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Spy satellites

Postby torq » Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:40 pm

Is there any way to add spy satellites? That's a great way to spy on enemies. Also the satellite becomes visible when within ground radar range and can be shot down with the missile. It can just fly in orbit around the globe and reveal ground units and installations. Satellites are launched from siloses.
User avatar
scholt
level1
level1
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 12:45 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Postby scholt » Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:17 pm

I like this Idea, but it has to be sure that you can't just spy on the whole area and see everything on an easy way.

Perhaps they could be shown like the GoldenEye satellites:
Image
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:42 pm

Currently, there is no way to add units to Defcon. This includes, but is not limited to, spy satellites, MIRVs, land units, spy planes, and Star Wars-style missle interceptors.

xander
R.Reagan
level1
level1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 7:09 pm

Postby R.Reagan » Wed Oct 18, 2006 4:21 pm

nice idea, maybe we can work together on it when it is possible one day, look on R.Reagans "Star Wars" in mod projects. until then we can develop our ideas?!
greetings batou
Sirthomasthegreat
level3
level3
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:18 am

Postby Sirthomasthegreat » Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:01 pm

incorrect on the land units,
make the whole map sailible,
the only thing that doesnt fit is i dont see to many fighter launching trucks...
wait OMG make the fighter a predator UAV, that might work.
Of course the battleships would be tanks,
and the subs would be ground digging nuke launchers?
I might just work on this!
User avatar
zach
level5
level5
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Denmarkia
Contact:

Postby zach » Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:41 pm

Sirthomasthegreat wrote:incorrect on the land units,
make the whole map sailible
Then where are you going to place the structures?

Anyway, it is possible to change the subs/ships into pseudo-land units. denzil and I had a go, but the development is kinda halted for now. Blame me :oops:
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Wed Oct 18, 2006 9:00 pm

Sirthomasthegreat wrote:incorrect on the land units,
make the whole map sailible,
the only thing that doesnt fit is i dont see to many fighter launching trucks...
wait OMG make the fighter a predator UAV, that might work.
Of course the battleships would be tanks,
and the subs would be ground digging nuke launchers?
I might just work on this!

*sigh*

Why do you feel the need to correct me? You can create fake land units by making certain parts of the land sailable, and putting carriers, battleships, and subs in those places. In fact, I have gone into great detail about how that could be done, and zanzer7 actually started to put something like that into practice. It was not germane to this topic, so I didn't feel the need to add it. However, if you wish:
I wrote:Currently, there is no way to add units to Defcon. This includes, but is not limited to, spy satellites, MIRVs, proper land units, spy planes, and Star Wars-style missle interceptors.

Is that better?

xander
Sirthomasthegreat
level3
level3
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:18 am

Postby Sirthomasthegreat » Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:17 pm

just putting that out there...
anyway im working on a mod that will have land units
alphager
level3
level3
Posts: 400
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 1:36 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby alphager » Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:31 pm

Sirthomasthegreat wrote:just putting that out there...
anyway im working on a mod that will have land units

what part of "it is not possible" did you not understand?
Sirthomasthegreat
level3
level3
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:18 am

Postby Sirthomasthegreat » Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:25 am

the "not part", at least i am attempting...
i have plenty of time so if i cant get it to work than oh well
samdude9
level1
level1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 4:20 pm

Postby samdude9 » Sat Oct 28, 2006 12:17 pm

THESE PARTS ARE IN THE MAIN EXE - UNACCESSABLE TOTALLY UNACCESSABLE
ok?
User avatar
Kuth
level4
level4
Posts: 709
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 5:55 am
Location: Keele Imperium
Contact:

Postby Kuth » Sat Oct 28, 2006 12:31 pm

My God, how many of these are running around the forum?

Will we ever again see the days like pre-release Defcon? I suppose not...

As fantastic as Sattelites are (Once again, I even made an icon for this since I thought it was such a great idea before Defcon was released), we modders cannot create- we can only edit what's available to us. Perhaps someday Introversion will decide to make Defcon more moddable and do some changes, but until then we're stuck with what we have and what capabilies we're given.

And Zanzer7 continues to make handy tools that makes modding more friendly, but we still can't make anything.
samdude9
level1
level1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 4:20 pm

Postby samdude9 » Sat Oct 28, 2006 12:34 pm

Thankyou!
Sirthomasthegreat
level3
level3
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:18 am

Postby Sirthomasthegreat » Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:48 pm

funny thing, im almost done...
User avatar
Kuth
level4
level4
Posts: 709
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 5:55 am
Location: Keele Imperium
Contact:

Postby Kuth » Mon Oct 30, 2006 9:41 pm

If you're so confident it's possible, then show us what you have.

In this case, I think, you'll have to convince us you suceeded.

Return to “Mod Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest