Question about workers

(previously 'DEVELOPER') Private forum for registered community members. To register, please visit www.prison-architect.com/register.

Moderator: NBJeff

User avatar
Setari
level2
level2
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 2:39 am

Question about workers

Postby Setari » Sun Oct 20, 2013 6:36 am

My workers just... stopped working. What do I do?
SPWeber
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:05 am

Re: Question about workers

Postby SPWeber » Sun Oct 20, 2013 7:47 am

Try reassigning the jobs from deployment. If that doesn't work try unmarking and remarking the room. If that still doesn't work, you might try messing around with dismantling the room's objects. This happened to me today with laundry and unzoning the room and dismantling all the washing machines and replacing them all fixed it.
User avatar
Setari
level2
level2
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 2:39 am

Re: Question about workers

Postby Setari » Sun Oct 20, 2013 7:13 pm

Well, I meant to say my workmen, like the staff have stopped like, building anything. All they do is grab sheetmetal. I hired like 7 more workment to make it 15 workmen and they still idle around, so I know there's enough workmen for the job.
Frannyan
level1
level1
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 11:44 pm

Re: Question about workers

Postby Frannyan » Wed Oct 30, 2013 12:36 am

Is there a task they're stuck on? Someplace that's blinking that it's unreachable/no route?
Steve42
level1
level1
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:08 am

Re: Question about workers

Postby Steve42 » Wed Oct 30, 2013 3:42 am

I have this issue also... almost.

I had 20 workers and only 2 to 3 would build at a time. So I put in 100 workers. All of them will start heading to build, and half way there, they just quit running, do an about-face and march slowly back to storage... just in time to do it all again. Over and over. Repeat ad nauseam. And still, only 2 to 3 workers will build while all the others do the Benny Hill thing.

I have tried this with 20, 30, 40, 50... up to 100 workers and I get the same thing. Any number over 4 and the yo-yo effect comes into play.

Just thought I would share my experience here. Already bugged at Mantis.


SOLVED: ****

Okay. I fixed my issue. I don't know if it applies to anyone else, but here was my solution.

My delivery area was in the middle of my prison. I had already built the offices for the Warden, etc. The next building I put up was a workshop. I then marked the room as a workshop and sheet metal was delivered.

This was my issue. Since my delivery area was not at the curb, the program assigned jobs to prisoners to move the sheet metal to the workshop. Since I do not have any prisoners yet, this apparently created an issue with my workmen.

I de-marked the workshop room, saved, and then removed the sheet metal from my save game file and it fixed the problem with my workers.

Hope this helps.
User avatar
_alphaBeta_
level4
level4
Posts: 534
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Re: Question about workers

Postby _alphaBeta_ » Wed Oct 30, 2013 2:42 pm

This may be related to Mantis Artifact ID 2831. While I didn't notice the workmen efficiency hit that you're reporting, I did notice that there's a problem with sheet metal deliveries when the deliveries section is inside the prison (and off the road) and prisoners can't access it. I'll take note to see if my workmen efficiency dropped when I moved deliveries inside the prison lately. If not, the difference could be that your prison didn't have any workers yet, and mine does.

You may want to add your findings to this report since it seems related to the deliveries area being away from the road and involves sheet metal delivery.

Return to “Community Members”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests