Homegrown Dedicated Server: DedCon 1.6.0_svn1038

Discuss your new mods and themes here

Moderator: Defcon moderators

Sirthomasthegreat
level3
level3
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:18 am

Postby Sirthomasthegreat » Mon Jun 18, 2007 3:07 pm

Thanks for the answers.
User avatar
Xocrates
level5
level5
Posts: 5262
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:34 pm

Postby Xocrates » Mon Jun 18, 2007 3:21 pm

By the way Bert, wouldn't you be so kind as to make available the bot setup you use on your server? It would probably be very useful. (unless, of course, it includes something that allows for the players to cheat, in which case never mind me asking)
Sirthomasthegreat
level3
level3
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:18 am

Postby Sirthomasthegreat » Mon Jun 18, 2007 5:35 pm

bert_the_turtle wrote:Create a file named "loop.bat" in the installation directory, edit it and fill it with

Code: Select all

:begin:
.\dedcon.exe <your configuration file>
goto begin
Doubleclicking on it should start the loop. I shall include such a script in the next release.


Tried it but it wont wait until the program ends. It just keeps looping regardless of the program ending.

Also I could not find my game in the internet lobby. The advert on internet is enabled but I could only find it in lan. The name of server is [1337]WOPR's dedcon server.

ip: 80.175.29.66
port 5010
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Mon Jun 18, 2007 6:29 pm

I'll have a look at the batch script when I get home; could be that I'm missing some thing or the other.

Did you put in your authkey? Without it, internet advertising won't work.

The bot config is simple:

Code: Select all

HostName Bert's Bot
WaitClient
WaitSeconds 2
Say Hi there. This is a test for the to-be-released dedicated server for Defcon.
WaitSeconds 5
Say bla bla bla and so on
WaitSeconds 5
Say This was a recorded message, trying to talk to me is futile. I'm just a bot.

WaitStart
Say Good Luck!

WaitEnd
Say Game Over.

AdvertiseOnInternet 0
WaitSeconds 600
Quit
User avatar
Xocrates
level5
level5
Posts: 5262
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:34 pm

Postby Xocrates » Mon Jun 18, 2007 6:57 pm

Isn't the recognition of the help commands part of the bot script (or possible through regular config)?

I wanted to try and implement an help system similar to the one you use on your servers. Is that possible or does it require coding?
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:41 pm

The help system is part of the dedicated server itself. Only that way, the output can be sent selectively to the person asking for help. It would be possible to implement as a client that can log onto other servers, but then it would spam the public channels. It MAY be possible to execute kicks and setting changes from that client, but of course, I'd never publish a client that does any of that.
User avatar
Xocrates
level5
level5
Posts: 5262
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:34 pm

Postby Xocrates » Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:42 pm

Ok, just checking. Nevermind me then, carry on, nothing to see here 8)
Sirthomasthegreat
level3
level3
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:18 am

Postby Sirthomasthegreat » Mon Jun 18, 2007 9:47 pm

bert_the_turtle wrote:Did you put in your authkey? Without it, internet advertising won't work.


It advertized last night. Would having a steam key be a problem?
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:49 pm

If it has been revoked since yesterday, yes. The server should then say something about failed authentication.

About the batch script: odd, it works for me on Windows 2000. What Windows version are you using?
Sirthomasthegreat
level3
level3
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:18 am

Postby Sirthomasthegreat » Mon Jun 18, 2007 11:08 pm

It said it succeded. But apparently my game ID changed as it told me I am a imposter.
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Mon Jun 18, 2007 11:24 pm

Then it seems your key got exchanged and the dedicated server does not recognize correctly that the old key is not valid any more. I'll PM you the location of a debug build that can log the communication with the metaserver.

About the impostor warning: yeah, that seems to happen with steam keyIDs. I had the vague hope the new key would have the same ID than the old one, but apparently, this is not so. Unless you're in the mood to adapt your configuration every time your key changes, you'll need to remove the keyID from the Admin command and forget about Player alltogether.
Sirthomasthegreat
level3
level3
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:18 am

Postby Sirthomasthegreat » Tue Jun 19, 2007 3:34 am

But the player is me :cry:

Is there anyway to have the key automatically copy itself into the config? I really dont feel like buying another key.
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:11 am

I could make it so that it automatically recognizes the owner of the server; and instead of pasting the authkey verbatim into the configuration, you tell it where it is found. It works that way on OSX and Linux already, where the authkey location is a constant; on Windows, it is a bit more complicated. The regular game stores its location in some registry keys, but I don't know about steam. I shall try installing the demo.
Sirthomasthegreat
level3
level3
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:18 am

Postby Sirthomasthegreat » Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:25 am

C:/program files/steam/steamapps/common/defcon/authkey
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:33 am

Thanks, but that's not a fixed location; the bit after steam/ probably is, but the rest can vary depending on your steam setup and Windows version.

Return to “Mod Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests