Uplink 1.55 Patch/Demo (Windows/Linux)

Discussion about the latest patch

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Rkiver, frenchfrog, JamesL

User avatar
frenchfrog
level5
level5
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Quebec

Postby frenchfrog » Wed May 02, 2007 8:59 pm

Really depends on Ambrosia software.
The Ultimate Uplink Guide (for any question on Uplink)
Latest Uplink Patch
User avatar
KingAl
level5
level5
Posts: 4138
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:42 am

Postby KingAl » Thu May 03, 2007 9:55 am

Indeed. if you want updates, pester them about it.
brunnenguk
level0
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 8:57 am

Postby brunnenguk » Tue May 08, 2007 4:16 pm

This patch seems to have a curious bug. There are files encrypted at level 8. Decrypter only goes to level 7.

Help! :(
User avatar
frenchfrog
level5
level5
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Quebec

Postby frenchfrog » Tue May 08, 2007 4:49 pm

I think it always been like this. I don't remember touching file encryption levels.
User avatar
KingAl
level5
level5
Posts: 4138
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:42 am

Postby KingAl » Wed May 09, 2007 3:07 am

Indeed, this has happened before. It's simply a complication to your missions though - i.e. you won't get paid in full - rather than a game breaker, and I've never really considered it a bug.
MarianG
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 10:05 am

Postby MarianG » Tue May 29, 2007 10:30 am

Is this a bug?.
I read that you can hack into dead agests PC's.
I've complete Mole Mission. The dead of several agents appeared in the news.
And now I'm trying to hack into them but no result. I wan not easy to get the IP for the PC but I did it, still nothing. The same message appears. Something like "No external log ... , Please leave now."
I have a question, can you put the IP for each agent in the "Uplink_Agents_list". Hacking into all targets on screen, and following the links, takes 2 or 3 days.
User avatar
KingAl
level5
level5
Posts: 4138
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:42 am

Postby KingAl » Tue May 29, 2007 10:34 am

There is only 1 personal computer in the entire game that you can hack. If take a look at the logs in the ARC central mainframe when the dead agent e-mail arrives, you might be able to find it.
Gentlemen, you can't fight in here: this is the War Room!
Ultimate Uplink Guide
Latest Patch
Mr.Me
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 7:35 pm
Contact:

Postby Mr.Me » Tue May 29, 2007 7:42 pm

Ok, so i've been reading the forum, i checked the faq's, but i'm not able to find an answer to my question. Why can't i install the latest patch?
Oh, and i'm running an online, english, pc version.
The problem is this, i can't click on ok, to install the patch in the folder.(to replace the first exe file.).
The path and drive are correct, but still the ok button won't work.

Anybody have an idea on how this can be solved?
Let me know, ok?
Thx in advance!!

Greetz!!
User avatar
frenchfrog
level5
level5
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Quebec

Postby frenchfrog » Tue May 29, 2007 9:50 pm

Mr.Me wrote:i'm running an online, english, pc version.


If that 'online' version is not directly from Introversion you are out of luck. If it's Steam it will update itself automatically (you may try the Steam beta to try the latest patches). Other then that, be sure to select the right directory, worse case, try redownloading and reinstalling Uplink.
Mr.Me
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 7:35 pm
Contact:

Postby Mr.Me » Wed May 30, 2007 12:08 pm

Thx for the quick reply!!

The online version i bought, was directly from Introversion. (Bought it online in 2005). Last week, after buying a new pc, i installed it again. (with the downloadlink wich was provided upon purchase). Registered the product again, and started playing. Untill the fatal error occured...... :cry: Then i started to look up some info, and came here.
How do i tell if it's Steam? :?:
In the other case, i will try downloading and reactivation again.

Greetz!!!
User avatar
KingAl
level5
level5
Posts: 4138
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:42 am

Postby KingAl » Wed May 30, 2007 12:13 pm

Steam is an online content delivery service - if you don't know what it is, you don't have the Steam version ;)
Check in your Uplink directory to see if there's a text file called something like errorlog.txt - it might give shed light on what the fatal error was caused by.
Gentlemen, you can't fight in here: this is the War Room!

Ultimate Uplink Guide

Latest Patch
Mr.Me
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 7:35 pm
Contact:

Postby Mr.Me » Thu May 31, 2007 4:37 pm

Ok, in the debug log i found this.

An Uplink Assertion Failure has occured
=======================================
Condition : *(condition [i]-1) == ' '
Location : C:\Development\Uplink\source\World\Computer\recordbank.cpp, line 136
============== B E G I N C O R E D U M P =================
retAddress = 004CCCD3
============== E N D C O R E D U M P =====================

I think that it went wrong here.....(i think...... :? ). Maybe i should send this to the support section and see what they come up with??
Or should i send the complete debug log?

Greetz!!
User avatar
frenchfrog
level5
level5
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Quebec

Postby frenchfrog » Thu May 31, 2007 6:35 pm

You should post in the Bug Reports section in the future.

Was this report done in Uplink 1.55 with an agent created in 1.55?
Parafox
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 10:41 am

Postby Parafox » Sat Jun 02, 2007 5:41 am

I thought I'd give Uplink a try in linux, so I installed version 1.31 from my cd, which ran fine (after I deleted the libgcc file) , but whenever I patch it to 1.55 it wont load.

Here's the relevent part of my debug.log:

===============================================
NEW GAME 18:4, 31/5/2007
===============================================
Version : 1.55
RELEASE
Linux Build
Version 1.55 (RELEASE)
Compiled on Mar 19 2007 at 13:34:53
(code-C)(code-M)(code-T)
Loading uplink options from /home/parafox/.uplink/options...success


An error occured in Uplink
Files integrity is not verified

An Uplink Error has occured
Files integrity is not verified
Saving uplink options to /home/parafox/.uplink/options...success
User avatar
KingAl
level5
level5
Posts: 4138
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:42 am

Postby KingAl » Sat Jun 02, 2007 5:54 am

It won't 'load' as in it won't start? Try deleting your existing options file - since it gets buggered up there and I believe it creates options if there are none present (though this may not be true of the linux version).
Make sure you start a new agent file when you get the new patch to avoid future problems, also.
Gentlemen, you can't fight in here: this is the War Room!

Ultimate Uplink Guide

Latest Patch

Return to “Latest Patch”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests