I think another Hacker keeps getting me

Stuck in Uplink? Need Help?

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver, Punisher Bass

Theneler
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:06 am
Location: Ontario Canada

I think another Hacker keeps getting me

Postby Theneler » Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:19 am

I hacked in to the Bionet Mainframe, routing through their Main System.
Shortly after, theres a " Track this hacker " mission that Uplink wont let me access, so i assume its me.
I cleared my logs out of both systems, and internic, but I keep getting disawowed. I have my save game ( don't have patience to keep restarting ) but can't figure it out.
Normally I get sacked april 12, midnight. I went back to the Mainframe, and cleared out more logs and that delayed it 4-5 hours. But I cleared Internic, the Mainframe, and their main system, and I still get caught everytime.
Any suggestions?
alphager
level3
level3
Posts: 400
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 1:36 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby alphager » Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:06 pm

a) When you get disavowed, you get the info about which company got you. Perhaps you are cleaning up the wrong company.
b) are you sure you are using a log-deleter which is good? Which level does your log-deleter have?
Theneler
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:06 am
Location: Ontario Canada

Postby Theneler » Sat Oct 07, 2006 1:14 am

I using V4 the " Impossible to Trace " one.

My profile says I got caught for hacking the BioNet Internal services machine. So I restored, went there, and the logs are empty. Now I routed THROUGH that machine into the mainframe, so I thought, maybe its the mainframe that i left a trace on, but because of the nature of mainframes, it was saying it was the Internal Server. So i went to the mainframe, and i did leave 2 logs there, so I deleted them, then went back to internice and deleted those as well. This delays me getting caught by 4 hours.
Theneler
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:06 am
Location: Ontario Canada

Postby Theneler » Sat Oct 07, 2006 1:44 am

Yeah I definetly can't figure this one out. Just tried again. I get caught for hacking the Biogenic Internal Service machine.

So I went to the mainframe, routed through the Service machine, and deleted all logs. Then i went to the Internal Service machine, deleted all logs, and even destroyed that system using a sys-delete/shutdown. All of this routed through Internic. I then went and deleted ALL logs of internic, except the first login I ever did ( so it showed connect-disconnect ), and i STILL get caught.
User avatar
frenchfrog
level5
level5
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Quebec

Postby frenchfrog » Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:39 pm

Perhaps the order to capture your gateway is already sent to the FBI.
Krid
level1
level1
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:19 pm

Postby Krid » Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:14 pm

Perhaps you deleted the log entry for your connection to internic?
ReconMikel
level1
level1
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 2:29 am
Location: The Matrix
Contact:

Postby ReconMikel » Mon Oct 09, 2006 10:09 pm

have you installed security on your gateway? You can detect the Feds poking around then blow up your gateway in the nick of time, you know!
zienkik
level0
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 6:42 am

Postby zienkik » Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:53 pm

Is it not possible that some hacker was hired to frame you? I would chack the mission board from your oldest save to see if there were any "Trace this hacker" missions that you can't accept.
mike1350
level1
level1
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 8:01 am
Location: San Jose, California
Contact:

Postby mike1350 » Wed Jan 31, 2007 8:13 pm

I think your best bet is to just nuke your gateway.. Put any important files in a File Server and nuke it :P
ZOMG H4X0RRR1!1!1!!!!!1!!11111
lunchlady55
level1
level1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:29 pm

Postby lunchlady55 » Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:27 am

I think that what's going on is you're deleting the wrong set of logs on InterNIC:

I then went and deleted ALL logs of internic, except the first login I ever did ( so it showed connect-disconnect ), and i STILL get caught.


You wanna delete all your connections prior to the hack and leave one short connect-disconnect, not make it look like you've stayed connected to Internic for 3 straight weeks.

Just after your first hack, you will see this in the Internic Logs:

21:05 password accepted from 127.0.0.1
21:04 connected from 127.0.0.1
21:03 routed 127.0.0.1 to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
21:02 disconnected from 127.0.0.1
21:01 password accepted from 127.0.0.1
21:00 connected from 127.0.0.1

Remember that at 21:06 you'll leave a disconnect, so what you'll wanna do is delete it to look like this:

21:04 connected from 127.0.0.1

Now after your second hack, it'll look like this:

21:09 Password Accepted from 127.0.0.1
21:08 connected from 127.0.0.1
21:07 routed 127.0.0.1 to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
21:06 disconnected from 127.0.0.1
21:04 connected from 127.0.0.1

Delete everything but the connect at 21:08 and then disconnect. This way it looks like you never even connected to the machine until after the second hack. To a third party hacker all they would see is:

21:10 disconnected from 127.0.0.1
21:08 connected from 127.0.0.1

Vets, please correct me if I'm wrong on this, but if it looks like you've stayed connected to Internic since March 24 won't that throw a red flag?
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:47 am

It doesn't look for suspious logs such as being connected for long periods or missing connect/disconnect logs. It only looks for logs created during the timeframe of the hack.
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.

Return to “Hints and Tips”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests