Introversion's third game : New Defcon Screenshots!

Anything and Everything about Uplink

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver

Steeds
level2
level2
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2002 12:04 pm
Location: Somewhere in the UK
Contact:

Postby Steeds » Fri Jan 20, 2006 8:08 pm

OMG. :shock: this game is going to BLOW YOU AWAY ! :roll:

Why is there no Pre-order option for this game in the store already, Eh??

Oh and to go with a future special boxed edition you would need (Da-da-DAAAA):

A BIG RED BUTTON OF DOOM :twisted:
"If god had meant us not to wear clothes, we would be born naked...."
Leetkey for all your firefox L3375p34k requirements
Darksun
level5
level5
Posts: 6461
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 7:08 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby Darksun » Fri Jan 20, 2006 8:46 pm

Steeds wrote:Why is there no Pre-order option for this game in the store already, Eh??


Because traditionally IV arn't great with deadlines. You probably won't be able to order till the game goes gold.
Steeds
level2
level2
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2002 12:04 pm
Location: Somewhere in the UK
Contact:

Postby Steeds » Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:07 pm

Darksun wrote:
Steeds wrote:Why is there no Pre-order option for this game in the store already, Eh??


Because traditionally IV arn't great with deadlines. You probably won't be able to order till the game goes gold.


It should really read:
Steeds wrote:Why is there no Pre-emptive strike option for this game in the store already, Eh??


heres a good point

A Question to introversion:

What is the estimated price range for defcon figured to be?
"If god had meant us not to wear clothes, we would be born naked...."

Leetkey for all your firefox L3375p34k requirements
AgentX 24
level4
level4
Posts: 836
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2002 3:09 pm
Location: New York

Postby AgentX 24 » Sat Jan 21, 2006 1:01 am

£20-30 I would assume.
Image
Stewsburntmonkey
level5
level5
Posts: 11553
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 7:44 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Postby Stewsburntmonkey » Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:21 am

Just because you can't use it doesn't mean it sucks. I can't legally fly an SR-71 Blackbird, but is still one hell of a fine aircraft.
Deepsmeg
level5
level5
Posts: 6510
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:26 pm
Location: Register 2102
Contact:

Postby Deepsmeg » Sat Jan 21, 2006 1:38 pm

beno can...
Image
Steeds
level2
level2
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2002 12:04 pm
Location: Somewhere in the UK
Contact:

Postby Steeds » Sat Jan 21, 2006 2:41 pm

When i was younger i had "shuttle" for the Atari-st. It had the largest game manual you had ever seen (we are talking near enough hundreds of pages on the game itself, then a few hundred more on operating and the entire history of the NASA space shuttle!) and i swear that if you completed it you could send off for a certifcate that you can pilot one.

Unfortunately, there was a glaring bug. When you succesfully launch and do whatever in orbit (bear in mind the whole simulation was done in realtime so it take hours/days) you had to re-enter the atmosphere to land. Well whenever you re-enter correctly or not, the heat shielding gave way and the shuttle exploded like a firework. and it was released around about the same time as the challenger disaster.

So the moral of the story is either

a) Dont let me pilot a shuttle unless you want the most expensive firework of all time,

or

b) Dont release a faulty game on a format which cannot be patched (it was copy protected floppy disks) nor corrected by the then non-existant internet

:oops: BREATHE :oops:
"If god had meant us not to wear clothes, we would be born naked...."

Leetkey for all your firefox L3375p34k requirements
Ozymandias IV
level4
level4
Posts: 907
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: New York City
Contact:

Postby Ozymandias IV » Mon Jan 23, 2006 4:01 pm

Are there plans for a Mac version of Defcon?
Rkiver
level5
level5
Posts: 6405
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 10:39 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Postby Rkiver » Mon Jan 23, 2006 5:45 pm

I'd imagine that Ambrosia will be doing it again. Never fear Mac users, I dont think IV will let you down, they haven't so far have they?
Uplink help: Read the FAQ
Ozymandias IV
level4
level4
Posts: 907
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: New York City
Contact:

Postby Ozymandias IV » Tue Jan 24, 2006 3:22 am

No, but Ambrosia have. *Onlink*coughcough.
AJ_Letson
level1
level1
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 12:11 am
Location: In front of a computer screen
Contact:

Postby AJ_Letson » Tue Jan 24, 2006 4:33 am

Wait a minute....are you saying it's Ambrosia's fault that there's no working port of Onlink? First off, it's only version 0.1.5, and also, the most recent news article at onlink-mod.net talks about the Mac port.
Stewsburntmonkey
level5
level5
Posts: 11553
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 7:44 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Postby Stewsburntmonkey » Tue Jan 24, 2006 4:36 am

Ambrosia is in control of the Mac code for Uplink and they have not released it. Onlink and other such mods modify the source code (which IV have released for the Windows/Linux version). Since Ambrosia haven't released the code for the Mac version moding the Mac game is generally limited to graphical changes and the like (which don't require changes to the source code). :)
AJ_Letson
level1
level1
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 12:11 am
Location: In front of a computer screen
Contact:

Postby AJ_Letson » Tue Jan 24, 2006 5:00 am

The third bit of news is for the Mac user who wishes to play Onlink. As some know, we have a few working prototypes of a MacOSX native Onlink, but due to licensing issues, we have been entirely unable to release it. That may change, however, as we have been in contact with Introversion in regards to how we may end up able to release it. Please take note that the earliest that argeements and development can be done is March, and I do not expect it to be completely resolved then. I just thought I could spread some hope to those with a Mac.


Straight from Onlink's website.
AJ Letson
President, BAM! Game Design
http://www.bamgames.tk
User avatar
ChasM
level2
level2
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 11:47 pm
Location: Arizona Desert

DirectX SUCKS!

Postby ChasM » Wed Jan 25, 2006 6:55 pm

Can I get DirectX 9.0c to work on a Vax VMS platform?
(-: Chas.M. :-)
User avatar
prophile
level5
level5
Posts: 1541
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 4:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
Contact:

Postby prophile » Wed Jan 25, 2006 11:53 pm

Well that was completely irrelevant to everything.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests