I have a question about installing LANs...I get errors

Moderated discussion about Uplink

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver, Punisher Bass

amsnintendofreak
level1
level1
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 1:54 pm

I have a question about installing LANs...I get errors

Postby amsnintendofreak » Sat Oct 01, 2005 2:09 pm

The subject says it all. I put the *.txt files for the LANs that I downloaded into the directory:
C:/Program Files/Uplink/data/lans

Then I ran Uplink.exe and clicked on "New User" I connected to the Uplink Public Access Server, like you normally do when creating a new user, but after I dialed in, I got a runtime error, and the game closed. I made sure all the lans where made correctly (i think) and i made sure that all the IPs of the lans were different (cuz that would cause a problem...not sure if it'd be a runtime error, though). Then i tried again and i got the same error. Someone who's good with this, please help me out! What am i not doing?

Edit: I just tried it again and took note of what the error message said. The title of the alert box was "Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library" and the message itself was:

Runtime Error

Program: C:/Program Files/Uplink/uplink.exe


abnormal program termination
User avatar
Mr. Roboto
level4
level4
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 6:05 pm
Location: Baltimore.md.us

Postby Mr. Roboto » Sat Oct 01, 2005 6:51 pm

There are guides that should tell you how to install your LANs. They're either at ModLink or at AWOL's site (search the forums for a link).
amsnintendofreak
level1
level1
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 1:54 pm

Postby amsnintendofreak » Sat Oct 01, 2005 8:08 pm

I read the lan making guide on modlink carefully (a little more then i needed to know, cuz i dont make lans, i just need to install them). I installed my lans correctly, tryed to make a new user, and the same thing happened.....I'm having a major "WTF????" moment.....
User avatar
Mr. Roboto
level4
level4
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 6:05 pm
Location: Baltimore.md.us

Postby Mr. Roboto » Sun Oct 02, 2005 1:23 am

There's one of two things I know of that may be causing the error:

1) You are running a non-Introversion version of Uplink, one from Strategy First, who altered their version and is incompatible with mods.

OR

2) You are running Introversion's version without the 1.31 patch. Download the patch here.
amsnintendofreak
level1
level1
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 1:54 pm

Postby amsnintendofreak » Sun Oct 02, 2005 8:05 pm

OMG!! I AM SOOOOO THANKFUL THAT I COULD HUG YOU.....which would be kinda creepy, so i'll stop talking now....lol.......i'm not crazy.......


Well, all insanity aside, I'm very VERY thankful. I was running version 1.3, not 1.31. I just got the game a week ago, so I assumed it came with the patch. Now I know not to. lol.
amsnintendofreak
level1
level1
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 1:54 pm

Postby amsnintendofreak » Sun Oct 02, 2005 8:29 pm

for a while (2 min.) i was content. then i got many fatal errors :shock:
two of them had to do with n00by lan-makers not making phone numbers for their modems and now my third one is a bit puzzling. i'm not good at analysing these error logs, so i kinda need help. here's the log:



===============================================
NEW GAME 15:24, 2/10/2005
===============================================
Version : 1.31
RELEASE
Win32 Build
Version 1.31 (RELEASE)
Compiled on Sep 9 2002 at 16:53:38
(code-C)(code-M)(code-T)
Loading uplink options from C:\Program Files\Uplink\users/options...success

Successfully loaded data archive data.dat
Successfully loaded data archive graphics.dat
Successfully loaded data archive loading.dat
Successfully loaded data archive sounds.dat
Successfully loaded data archive music.dat
Successfully loaded data archive fonts.dat
Successfully loaded data archive patch.dat
Loading LAN from data/lans/angelknightlan.txt...done
Loading LAN from data/lans/Animus2.4.txt...done
Loading LAN from data/lans/D and J LAN.txt...LanGenerator::LoadLAN WARNING: Unrecognised System TYPE FILESERVER
(data/lans/D and J LAN.txt)
LanGenerator::LoadLAN WARNING: Unrecognised System TYPE FILESERVER
(data/lans/D and J LAN.txt)
LanGenerator::LoadLAN WARNING: Unrecognised System TYPE FILESERVER
(data/lans/D and J LAN.txt)
LanGenerator::LoadLAN WARNING: Unrecognised System TYPE FILESERVER
(data/lans/D and J LAN.txt)
done
Loading LAN from data/lans/Encore Local Area Network.txt...done
Loading LAN from data/lans/Gtek systems LAN.txt...LanGenerator::LoadLAN WARNING: Unrecognised System TYPE FILESERVER
(data/lans/Gtek systems LAN.txt)
done
Loading LAN from data/lans/HD.txt...done
Loading LAN from data/lans/home corp.txt...LanGenerator::LoadLAN WARNING: Unrecognised System TYPE FILESERVER
(data/lans/home corp.txt)

An (unrecognised) Uplink Internal Error has occured
===================================================
============== B E G I N C O R E D U M P =================
retAddress = 004CCCD3
retAddress = 004D6A43
============== E N D C O R E D U M P =====================
phyreskull
level3
level3
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2002 6:34 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Postby phyreskull » Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:53 pm

amsnintendofreak wrote:Loading LAN from data/lans/D and J LAN.txt...LanGenerator::LoadLAN WARNING: Unrecognised System TYPE FILESERVER
(data/lans/D and J LAN.txt)
LanGenerator::LoadLAN WARNING: Unrecognised System TYPE FILESERVER
(data/lans/D and J LAN.txt)
LanGenerator::LoadLAN WARNING: Unrecognised System TYPE FILESERVER
(data/lans/D and J LAN.txt)
LanGenerator::LoadLAN WARNING: Unrecognised System TYPE FILESERVER
(data/lans/D and J LAN.txt)
done
Loading LAN from data/lans/Gtek systems LAN.txt...LanGenerator::LoadLAN WARNING: Unrecognised System TYPE FILESERVER
(data/lans/Gtek systems LAN.txt)
done
Loading LAN from data/lans/home corp.txt...LanGenerator::LoadLAN WARNING: Unrecognised System TYPE FILESERVER
(data/lans/home corp.txt)


Well... it looks like the D and J LAN, Gtek systems LAN and home corp have problems - but I thought that the FILESERVER type worked. I'll look into the code and get back to you - probably as an edit to this post. So you may not even read this text...
phyreskull
(Dave Ingram)

Quidquid latine dictum sit altum videteur!
An Uplink DevCD Owner, and proud!
User avatar
xMs
level3
level3
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 5:02 pm
Location: London

Postby xMs » Fri Nov 25, 2005 9:49 pm

Nearly 2 months old.
Stop bumping rotting threads!
phyreskull
level3
level3
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2002 6:34 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Postby phyreskull » Fri Nov 25, 2005 11:04 pm

Bleh - sorry. I'm used to the forums being lively, active places, where top threads represent the past ten minutes' talk! I guess I just have to get used to the slower pace of life now. :-(
phyreskull

(Dave Ingram)



Quidquid latine dictum sit altum videteur!

An Uplink DevCD Owner, and proud!
User avatar
xMs
level3
level3
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 5:02 pm
Location: London

Postby xMs » Sat Nov 26, 2005 1:22 am

phyreskull wrote:Bleh - sorry. I'm used to the forums being lively, active places, where top threads represent the past ten minutes' talk! I guess I just have to get used to the slower pace of life now. :-(


Well the forum is getting on a bit! :P
phyreskull
level3
level3
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2002 6:34 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Postby phyreskull » Sat Nov 26, 2005 1:33 am

True, true... sadly. I miss the old days, I do... Sometimes, I get to thinking I was back in the old days... long ago. :roll:
phyreskull

(Dave Ingram)



Quidquid latine dictum sit altum videteur!

An Uplink DevCD Owner, and proud!

Return to “Uplink in Moderation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests