Steam or Stand alone?

General discussion about Defcon

Moderator: Defcon moderators

Do you play through Steam or Stand Alone?

Steam
12
24%
Stand Alone
39
76%
 
Total votes: 51
User avatar
Angel of Death
level3
level3
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:13 pm
Location: Oklahoma USA
Contact:

Steam or Stand alone?

Postby Angel of Death » Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:16 pm

Steam or Stand Alone
Sirthomasthegreat
level3
level3
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:18 am

Postby Sirthomasthegreat » Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:20 pm

there should have been a both. I use both. However since i use steam more i chose steam.
User avatar
Angel of Death
level3
level3
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:13 pm
Location: Oklahoma USA
Contact:

Postby Angel of Death » Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:55 pm

Sirthomasthegreat wrote:there should have been a both. I use both. However since i use steam more i chose steam.

Well I did it that way for a reason. But thanks.
User avatar
MrBunsy
level5
level5
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 4:40 pm
Location: Southampton
Contact:

Postby MrBunsy » Fri Dec 08, 2006 10:02 pm

Angel of Death wrote:
Sirthomasthegreat wrote:there should have been a both. I use both. However since i use steam more i chose steam.

Well I did it that way for a reason. But thanks.
What's the reason?

Anyway, this is likely to be skewed, but for all it's worth I got the standalone. Steam's good, sometimes, but I'll leap at any chance to not use it.
Torp
level1
level1
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 10:48 pm

Postby Torp » Fri Dec 08, 2006 10:04 pm

I've never had any problems with Steam, and in fact am quite a fan of the idea, but I decided I wanted to buy this game directly from Introversion.

Had it been Steam or go to the store, I'd gone for Steam.
User avatar
Mighty Santa
level2
level2
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 5:10 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Postby Mighty Santa » Fri Dec 08, 2006 10:11 pm

Boxed version.

Santa - waiting for PC upgrade
4, 8, 15, 16, 23, 42
User avatar
Angel of Death
level3
level3
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:13 pm
Location: Oklahoma USA
Contact:

Postby Angel of Death » Sat Dec 09, 2006 12:31 am

MrBunsy wrote:
Angel of Death wrote:
Sirthomasthegreat wrote:there should have been a both. I use both. However since i use steam more i chose steam.

Well I did it that way for a reason. But thanks.
What's the reason?

Anyway, this is likely to be skewed, but for all it's worth I got the standalone. Steam's good, sometimes, but I'll leap at any chance to not use it.


I'm wondering how many people out there are using the cheat.
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Sat Dec 09, 2006 12:32 am

The cheat? Besides, how does knowing how many use the standalone or Steam version tell you how many use 'the cheat'?
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
Angel of Death
level3
level3
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:13 pm
Location: Oklahoma USA
Contact:

Postby Angel of Death » Sat Dec 09, 2006 12:44 am

Just to see if it could be done, I used it the other night. I Have steam AND the Stand alone and you run a server with one (steam) and then join your own server as a demo player with the stand alone.
Sirthomasthegreat
level3
level3
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:18 am

Postby Sirthomasthegreat » Sat Dec 09, 2006 1:42 am

I dont do that. Plus you need two auth keys to do that. I have one. I am using the stand alone to test the beta patch thank you. I have just coppied the auth key file over to the stand alone.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Sat Dec 09, 2006 1:53 am

Sirthomasthegreat wrote:I dont do that. Plus you need two auth keys to do that. I have one. I am using the stand alone to test the beta patch thank you. I have just coppied the auth key file over to the stand alone.

No, you need one auth key to set up the game -- the second player can be a demo client.

xander
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Sat Dec 09, 2006 1:57 am

Angel of Death wrote:Just to see if it could be done, I used it the other night. I Have steam AND the Stand alone and you run a server with one (steam) and then join your own server as a demo player with the stand alone.


So, you wanted to find out who uses a stand alone client and Steam client to connect to the same game yet you specifically left the option "both" out of your poll?
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.

Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
Angel of Death
level3
level3
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:13 pm
Location: Oklahoma USA
Contact:

Postby Angel of Death » Sat Dec 09, 2006 3:03 am

Montyphy wrote:
Angel of Death wrote:Just to see if it could be done, I used it the other night. I Have steam AND the Stand alone and you run a server with one (steam) and then join your own server as a demo player with the stand alone.


So, you wanted to find out who uses a stand alone client and Steam client to connect to the same game yet you specifically left the option "both" out of your poll?


Why would you use both?? :?: :?:
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Sat Dec 09, 2006 3:12 am

Angel of Death wrote:Why would you use both?? :?: :?:


Seriously, learn how to follow a conversation. :roll:
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.

Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
Angel of Death
level3
level3
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:13 pm
Location: Oklahoma USA
Contact:

Postby Angel of Death » Sat Dec 09, 2006 3:15 am

Montyphy wrote:
Angel of Death wrote:Why would you use both?? :?: :?:


Seriously, learn how to follow a conversation. :roll:


Seriously, why would you use both??

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest