Tool: DEFCON CoastlineDrawer

Discuss your new mods and themes here

Moderator: Defcon moderators

User avatar
zach
level5
level5
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Denmarkia
Contact:

Tool: DEFCON CoastlineDrawer

Postby zach » Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:51 am

DEFCON CoastlineDrawer
Yes, yet another stupidly simple tool to ease your modding experience

With this tool, you're able to draw the coastlines yourself. It even reads the current coastline data, if any.

* Left click to start/keep drawing,
* Right click to place current line and stop drawing.

Quite intuitive. Try fiddling around with it, it won't bite!
I chose the pink colour of two reasons:
1. It's easier to tell where you've drawn already.
2. Pink is the colour that's least likely to dominate your map.

If you already have a 'coastlines.dat' file in the 'data\earth' folder, the tool just appends to this file. Else it creates a new 'coastlines.dat'-file.

After you've drawn what you want, boot up Defcon and ... look! (The coastlines aren't spot-on in this picture, since I didn't feel like making a perfect coastline. Keep in mind you'd rather draw a pixel off the coast than a pixel in it)

Keep in mind this application is very simple, and it only specifies coordinates as integers. It's meant as a tool to ease coastlinedrawing (duh²) until there's a Map Editor available

Download link
dccoastlinedrawer.zip

~

Yes, I did just copy all that from the CityPlacer post. I think it's okay to be lazy after 2 hours of bugtracking ;)

More info at http://defcon.zanzer7.net/

Enjoy :)
Last edited by zach on Thu Apr 03, 2008 1:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Kuth
level4
level4
Posts: 709
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 5:55 am
Location: Keele Imperium
Contact:

Postby Kuth » Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:56 am

hmmm....

Haven't tried mapediting yet, but I'll give this a shot when I'm able.
User avatar
LordSturm
level4
level4
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:13 am
Location: Australia - No Nukes :(
Contact:

Postby LordSturm » Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:13 am

Haha thanks man, making life easier for all us modders. :P
Now all we really NEED to do ourselves is the graphics...

Any idea what international.dat and such are for yet?
"Surely you didn't mean to press that button just then did you?"
"No, nor will i disarm the nukes."
"Oh well, I will have my Fighters shoot them down."
"Sure you will."
"Oh NOES, ITS BEEN PATCHED!!!"
User avatar
karma_sleeper
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:08 am
Contact:

Postby karma_sleeper » Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:14 am

I shall check this out. Thanks for sharing.
A witty saying proves nothing.
-Voltaire
[Except, perhaps, that you are witty.]
User avatar
Spacemonkey
level4
level4
Posts: 609
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 1:31 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Postby Spacemonkey » Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:14 am

Map modding is so easy now with all these coastline drawing and cityplacer tools. Back in my day we had to do everything with pen and paper.

Image
User avatar
Spacemonkey
level4
level4
Posts: 609
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 1:31 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Postby Spacemonkey » Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:16 am

LordSturm wrote:Any idea what international.dat and such are for yet?


international.dat is for the borders of countries.
User avatar
zach
level5
level5
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Denmarkia
Contact:

Postby zach » Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:32 am

You beat me to it :P
User avatar
LordSturm
level4
level4
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:13 am
Location: Australia - No Nukes :(
Contact:

Postby LordSturm » Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:13 am

Lmao, do we need to edit that too? :P
"Surely you didn't mean to press that button just then did you?"

"No, nor will i disarm the nukes."

"Oh well, I will have my Fighters shoot them down."

"Sure you will."

"Oh NOES, ITS BEEN PATCHED!!!"
denzil
level2
level2
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 5:59 pm
Location: Bournemouth, UK.
Contact:

Postby denzil » Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:28 am

Makes sense that we may need to :)

Good work as usual zanzer
User avatar
0Avatar0
level1
level1
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 4:11 pm

Postby 0Avatar0 » Fri Oct 06, 2006 9:54 am

Good work as usual zanzer

:D
User avatar
Lazureus
level1
level1
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:15 pm
Contact:

Postby Lazureus » Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:20 pm

Hmm, for now, maybe you can just rename international.dat to coastlines.dat to use the tool to edit them? Or would that not work?

Btw, what is coastlines-low? Do i have to edit that too? It looks just like coastlines.dat except there seem to be less jagged edges on the borders, less pacific islands or something.

It'd be cool if the tool showed international.dat lines as green and coastlines as purple as it currently does, and let you switch between them for editing, making the current mode bright and inactive mode darker. That'd put the icing on the cake, methinks^.^
User avatar
zach
level5
level5
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Denmarkia
Contact:

Postby zach » Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:36 pm

For now, it's perfectly okay to use the CoastlineDrawer to make the borders in international.dat ...
I might add the option to export as Coastline or International, but not right now ~ quite the busy! ;)
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:44 pm

Spacemonkey wrote:Map modding is so easy now with all these coastline drawing and cityplacer tools. Back in my day we had to do everything with pen and paper.

You had pens and paper!? Why, back in my day, we didn't have pens! We would hit ourselves with rocks until we bled, then used sticks to draw with our own blood. As for paper, that was a luxury! We had to write on small pebbles. We learned to write really small, so that our pebbles would last longer!

xander
User avatar
shinygerbil
level5
level5
Posts: 4667
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 10:14 pm
Location: Out, finding my own food. Also, doing the shinyBonsai Manoeuvre(tm)
Contact:

Postby shinygerbil » Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:06 pm

Lazureus wrote:Btw, what is coastlines-low? Do i have to edit that too? It looks just like coastlines.dat except there seem to be less jagged edges on the borders, less pacific islands or something.


The game uses coastlines-low.dat instead of coastlines.dat when you enable the "Low world detail" graphics option. At least, I assume so.
Here is my signature. Make of it what you will.
Image
User avatar
Isoeph
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 6:39 am

Postby Isoeph » Mon Oct 16, 2006 6:59 am

Hi, wasn't sure if anyone had mentioned this bug yet, but I've found that when I try to load my own custom BMP Map it causes the tool to crash with the following error:

Image

The only thing I can think of that would cause that issue would be something to do with it refrencing the cityplacer instead of coastlinedrawer...course I could be completely off the mark.

Anyway, thanks again for going to the trouble to code this!

Return to “Mod Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests