Modding fonts

Discuss your new mods and themes here

Moderator: Defcon moderators

User avatar
Kuth
level4
level4
Posts: 709
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 5:55 am
Location: Keele Imperium
Contact:

Modding fonts

Postby Kuth » Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:29 pm

I appologize if this was addressed elsewhere, but how possible is it to create new fonts to use ingame?

It appears the default announcements are all done in Kremlin and there's no changing this (unless you changed the Kremlin text?), but since the Styleeditor allows us to select a text .bmp, technically it should be possible to change all the ingame text.

So, anyone have any ideas/txt fonts to share?
deanco
level1
level1
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 5:08 pm

Postby deanco » Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:39 pm

I've already tried to change the ingame font via the Style Editor, no success.

I'd love to just get rid of that backwards 'R'. :)
User avatar
zach
level5
level5
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Denmarkia
Contact:

Postby zach » Fri Oct 06, 2006 12:00 am

The game uses Kremlin (kremlin.bmp) and Zerothreshold (zerothre.bmp) by default. Defcon also comes with Bitlow (bitlow.bmp, the uplink/darwinia font) and Lucon (lucon.bmp).

Check your 'data\fonts' folder, it should have all four mentioned files. Now, open these in photoshop/gimp/mspaint/whatever and type in the new font characters at the appropriate place.

Should work with no trouble :)
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Fri Oct 06, 2006 12:08 am

I know for sure that uppercase letters of Kremlin.bmp are used for the map text and the only way to currently change it is be altering the actual font file.

http://forums.introversion.co.uk/defcon ... php?t=2061
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
deanco
level1
level1
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 5:08 pm

Postby deanco » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:39 pm

Thanks for the tips, everyone. My 'R' is now pointing the right way.

For some reason that really bugged me...
User avatar
zach
level5
level5
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Denmarkia
Contact:

Postby zach » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:42 pm

You could also have checked the 'Caps' checkbox next to the appropriate font.
Kremlin's uppercase letters all face the 'right' way ;)
Banzai
level0
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 4:54 am
Contact:

Postby Banzai » Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:09 pm

The bitmap fonts used by DEFCON are a standard format, you can convert regular fonts to bitmap fonts with tools like Bitmap Font Builder.
Just drop the .bmps into the \defcon\data\fonts\ folder and you can access them from the style editor.
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:42 pm

zanzer7 wrote:You could also have checked the 'Caps' checkbox next to the appropriate font.
Kremlin's uppercase letters all face the 'right' way ;)


He may have liked the other letter being the wrong way round though :P
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.

Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.

Return to “Mod Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests