openGL or D3D?

General discussion about Defcon

Moderator: Defcon moderators

User avatar
ill generator
level1
level1
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 9:48 am

openGL or D3D?

Postby ill generator » Wed Sep 20, 2006 12:58 pm

Don't kill me for not searching.

Will the graphics be handled by Direct3D or OpenGL? If it's GL I'm pretty much fucked, cause my gfx card/mobo combo kills all opengl apps instantly. I thnk that's the reason anyway, I can't even play Darwinia :cry:

Well.
User avatar
false
level3
level3
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 5:57 pm
Contact:

Postby false » Wed Sep 20, 2006 1:06 pm

It's OpenGL.
~>
Dependent filter
Preserves port number
Does not supports hairpin of media
Darksun
level5
level5
Posts: 6461
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 7:08 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby Darksun » Wed Sep 20, 2006 1:45 pm

What graphics card do you have? o.o
WNivek
level2
level2
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 10:01 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA From liquid death to cinnamon toast!
Contact:

Postby WNivek » Wed Sep 20, 2006 2:29 pm

Defcon will eventually run on multiple platforms
DirectX/Direct3D is for Windows only
OpenGL is for multiple platforms

The choice seems obvious to me
El_Presidente
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 6:05 am

Postby El_Presidente » Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:09 pm

what video card do you have ill generator, it seems strange because nvidia and ati have good windows opengl drivers ...
User avatar
ill generator
level1
level1
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 9:48 am

Postby ill generator » Fri Sep 22, 2006 2:57 pm

I have an Nvidia 6600GT (Xfxforce) card. No OpenGL applications work. I can play Uplink if I rename/delete Nvidia's OGL driver (nvoglnt.dll) thus forcing microsoft's built-in drivers, but unfortunately that seems to force software mode (I'm not too sure) and thus slowing everything down quite a bit. I have managed to tweak my Uplink settings so that the game runs fine, but stuff like Quake 2, Darwinia, various emulators that use OpenGL for rendering 2d/3d and the like are really just too slow for playing.
I also have problems with D3D in both Max Payne 2 and GTA III, various objects (cars and guns in GTA, guns and lights in Max Payne) are colored red, which is extremely annoying. Had the same problems with No One Lives Forever 2, but uninstalling the game solved it ^_-
Darksun
level5
level5
Posts: 6461
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 7:08 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby Darksun » Fri Sep 22, 2006 3:42 pm

That card has full OpenGL support, so I think the problem is with software rather than hardware. Do you have the latest drivers and updates from the Nvidea site?
User avatar
Dave2
level4
level4
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Reading, England

Postby Dave2 » Fri Sep 22, 2006 3:49 pm

I'm using a 6600GT now, and since I'm a Linux user, OpenGL is basically all I've got. I've played Uplink, Darwinia and Defcon just fine on it. Hell, I'm pretty sure that nVidia support OpenGL better than they do Direct3D. As Darksun said, make sure you have the latest (I recommend official, certified) drivers. If that doesn't fix it, you may have a dodgy card which should be replaced.
Don't think about The Game.
User avatar
svack
level1
level1
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 2:40 pm
Location: Brighton, Biatch
Contact:

Postby svack » Fri Sep 22, 2006 3:55 pm

I say drivers, I have had similar problems, It just turned out to be dodgy drivers, Uninstall and re-install from official nvidia website

And remember to uninstall the current ones, it may leave some part of them on if you just update

Edit: And iirc, Im sure somewhere I heard somewhere that the Graphics are opengl and the sound is direct sound (directx) so it will use opengl and directx on windows
User avatar
ill generator
level1
level1
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 9:48 am

Postby ill generator » Fri Sep 22, 2006 4:32 pm

I have solved it now. The problem was not that I had too old drivers, I had too new ones.
I rolled back to 71.89 drivers (the same ones that are the latest nvidia drivers compatible with Black & White, which is why I even have them) and voila! I even get a framerate of ~50 fps with little or no choppiness, and in 1024/32bit/pixel effect and semi-high settings. I am happy. Gonna try the 81.98 drivers too, just to be sure. I know for a fact that nothing over 90.00 works anyway.

Thanks for the tips &c. I'm off to play Darwinia ^___________^
User avatar
Dave2
level4
level4
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Reading, England

Postby Dave2 » Fri Sep 22, 2006 4:35 pm

That's very strange, because I've played Defcon and other OpenGL games fine with 9xxx drivers on this 6600GT in Windows (me being in Windows is a rare thing, but I tried it just the other day).
Don't think about The Game.
User avatar
ill generator
level1
level1
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 9:48 am

Postby ill generator » Fri Sep 22, 2006 4:51 pm

Yes, it's extremely strange. I have notified Nvidia's support about this particular problem, though I doubt they'll care much.
I tried playing Uplink just now in maximum resolution and all, and it works perfectly. Gonna try the 81.98 drivers now.

Me: Hello, I have this problem...I have the latest drivers and I've performed a clean install yada yada
Nvidia support: ok, but have you got the latest drivers?
Me: I just told you I do
Nvidia: ok, but try installing the latest drivers, if that doesn't work, install the latest drivers.
Me: grr.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Fri Sep 22, 2006 4:55 pm

svack wrote:Edit: And iirc, Im sure somewhere I heard somewhere that the Graphics are opengl and the sound is direct sound (directx) so it will use opengl and directx on windows

That is correct. The Linux and Mac versions will probably continues to use OpenGL, and OpenAL for sound.

xander
User avatar
NeoThermic
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 6254
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 10:55 am
Location: ::1
Contact:

Postby NeoThermic » Fri Sep 22, 2006 5:57 pm

svack wrote:Edit: And iirc, Im sure somewhere I heard somewhere that the Graphics are opengl and the sound is direct sound (directx) so it will use opengl and directx on windows


Yes, but directsound doesn't have anything to do with your graphics card, incidently :)

NeoThermic
User avatar
svack
level1
level1
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 2:40 pm
Location: Brighton, Biatch
Contact:

Postby svack » Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:12 pm

I know, but if someone see's the word direct sound, they think directx and they think D3D, I was merely clearing up the question of OpenGL or D3D

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests