fighter range under modified world size

Ideas for expansions and improvements to Defcon

Moderator: Defcon moderators

katf
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:39 am

fighter range under modified world size

Postby katf » Mon Nov 06, 2006 9:35 am

Sorry if this has been covered elsewhere, but I couldn't find anything.
I've been messing with the wroldsize option to try it out, and have discovered that fighters and bombers fuel ranges are not affected. And not in a good way. For example, on a map with worldsize 50, everything should have twice the range, twice the speed etc. Well, the airfields have red combat range circles that are correctly scaled, but the aircraft that get launched have actual ranges that are not scaled to match. Its not a game breaker exactly, but i think it severely reduces the point of playing with different world sizes.
So... bug report? Now what?
psyclog
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:46 am

Postby psyclog » Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:57 am

Sorry to necro this thread, but - no replies?!
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:40 am

Apparently, it is either not considered a problem or not considered a problem worth fixing; keep in mind that ALL gameplay changes make the new, fixed, version incompatible with previous versions.
User avatar
Wasgood
level5
level5
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 11:44 am

Postby Wasgood » Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:40 pm

That is the point of a new version is it not?
psyclog
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:46 am

Postby psyclog » Tue Oct 06, 2009 5:17 pm

bert_the_turtle wrote:keep in mind that ALL gameplay changes make the new, fixed, version incompatible with previous versions.
Not sure I understand you here - are you talking about the latest patch?
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:56 pm

No, I'm talking generally. Defcon's network model is that all clients send their input to the server, the server distributes that to all clients, and each client simulates the game according to the collected input. If the clients run different versions with different game rules, they simulate different outcomes. They go out of sync. That's why you can't let different game code revisions play together.
psyclog
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:46 am

Postby psyclog » Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:53 pm

Ah, right, of course.

I was going to apply it to all players in the network of course.


I am currently trying to recreate the movie Fail Safe. Will be a hard thing to do with fighter range being only 7 minutes.

Return to “Think Tank”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests