Globe instead of plain map

Ideas for expansions and improvements to Defcon

Moderator: Defcon moderators

Arne
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:45 am

Globe instead of plain map

Postby Arne » Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:52 am

Hey Folks!

I´m pretty new to this stuff, but I was wondering, if it wouldn´t be possible to use the globe as it is shown in the menu window as Game-Surface...I mean the 2-D-Map is fine, but an actual globe to rotate would add a lot of fun to the whole thing...
Arne
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:45 am

Postby Arne » Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:59 am

Just found a topic concerning this idea...sorry, guys, but the reply: Defcon is only a simulation sounds rather plain...What about all the nukes that fly over territories they wouldn´t normally traverse and get shot down accordingly?
User avatar
snwcrsh
level2
level2
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 6:00 pm

Postby snwcrsh » Sun Jun 01, 2008 1:11 pm

Frankly, it's not possible without a more or less complete recode for all I know. Thus not going to happen.
User avatar
Pox
level5
level5
Posts: 1786
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Melbourne

Postby Pox » Mon Jun 02, 2008 7:58 am

DEFCON's not a simulation, it's a game: sure the nuke curves are completely unrealistic, but they're part of the game, and add quite a bit to the depth of strategy required... and really, a 3D globe would take away the whole retro-feel thing DEFCON has... I love the current graphical style, myself.

Return to “Think Tank”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest