Modify Countries

Discuss your new mods and themes here

Moderator: Defcon moderators

dolin
level0

Modify Countries

Postby dolin » Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:57 pm

Hi,

I would like to modify the countries in game, like the areas where you can put your subs and ships, and to include some unused territories (such as Greenland)
Note that i'm not using the default DefCon map, but it shouldn't be a problem

This is my first attempt at modding, so can anyone help me?

Thanks very much for any effort!
Eagle1_Division
level0

Postby Eagle1_Division » Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:10 pm

1. First, you need to unzip the main.dat, that contains all the game data, just copy it and rename the copy main.rar and you can unzip it.

2. Second, create a "mods" folder in the same location as defcon.exe

3. To make a mod, put a folder in the "mods" folder and rename the folder to whatever you want the mod's name to be.

4. Then add a folder called "data" in your mod's folder, and that will act as the main.dat for your mod.

5. After backing up your main.rar, modify whatever files you like, then put them in the data folder as if it were the main.dat (i.e., if it's location used to be main.dat/graphics/blur.bmp, then it's new directory will be /[your mod folder]/data/graphics/blur.bmp.

That's preatty much it. Don't hesitate to ask me to clarify anything. You should find countries preatty quickly, they're under the folder called earth. You can't use standard win7 .bmp compression, though, simply checking the file size will tell you if it's the wrong compression of bmp. If you're having problems with that then I'd suggest using gimp, it's how I solved the problem.
Oh, and land is pure white (RGB: 255, 255, 255) and naval area where you place ships and such is grey (RGB: 155, 155, 155)
dolin
level0

Postby dolin » Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:32 pm

Eagle1_Division wrote:1. First, you need to unzip the main.dat, that contains all the game data, just copy it and rename the copy main.rar and you can unzip it.