Galactic Wars v-1.0

Discuss your new mods and themes here

Moderator: Defcon moderators

User avatar
BrianBlessed
level4
level4
Posts: 867
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 9:33 pm

Galactic Wars v-1.0

Postby BrianBlessed » Sat Dec 16, 2006 7:29 pm

Image

Seeing as Spacemonkey released his spacemod, i'll be damned if I was going to be beaten by some scruffy looking nerfherder. Anyway here is the -1.0 version of my long procrastinated Galactic wars mod. When the version gets to 0 you'll know it's done. There is still a small error with nukes clipping the edge of the map, which I largely fixed by shifting continents, aswell as some sound problems such as the nuke rumbles no longer playing for unknown reasons.

The sounds probably need some work, some don't seem ambient enough and some just seem to play too frequently again for unknown reasons.

http://www.calabrese.f2s.com/galactic.rar

The Empire demands you play it!
User avatar
Chris
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2000 7:28 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Postby Chris » Sat Dec 16, 2006 8:28 pm

That screenshot is a work of art. Congratulations.
User avatar
Spacemonkey
level4
level4
Posts: 609
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 1:31 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Postby Spacemonkey » Sat Dec 16, 2006 11:50 pm

The scruffy looking nerfherder gets the princess.

And a hairy wookie.
User avatar
BrianBlessed
level4
level4
Posts: 867
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 9:33 pm

Postby BrianBlessed » Sun Dec 17, 2006 1:41 am

The Wookie would probably be better in the sack.
User avatar
ShadowFox37
level1
level1
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:12 pm
Location: Somewhere in time...
Contact:

Postby ShadowFox37 » Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:14 am

Sorry, no dice.

One of two things seems to be happening.

1) I'll get in-game, only to see a blindingly white screen. It's near impossible to see anything. Or, what happens more often--
2) Trying to start a game will result in a fatal error closing the game. Then a runtime error pops up after the game has closed.

:x

EDIT: Great, this overwrote the default Defcon Style, leaving it in some weird neon blue/milky white sort of theme. That's fine, but now attempting to place a fleet in the ocean will crash the game. I really hope you get this cleared up before more people download this and run into the same problem.
User avatar
Spacemonkey
level4
level4
Posts: 609
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 1:31 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Postby Spacemonkey » Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:33 am

Shadowfox, what version of defcon are you running?
Tracen24
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 2:38 am
Location: Atlanta

Same problem with white screen

Postby Tracen24 » Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:57 am

I also ran into same problem with milky white screen which makes the gameplay awful. I don't know how to fix it.
FedRebel
level1
level1
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 4:24 am

Re: Same problem with white screen

Postby FedRebel » Sun Dec 17, 2006 6:49 am

This thing works perfect for me in Defcon 1.0
User avatar
BrianBlessed
level4
level4
Posts: 867
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 9:33 pm

Postby BrianBlessed » Sun Dec 17, 2006 1:31 pm

If the water is blindingly white, it's probably because the gamma/brightness on your monitors is far higher than mine when setting up the styles. Presuming that's the problem, go into style editor and adjust the WorldWater primary colour.

I think the first 1.2 patch would overwrite styles, whereas the new one should switch between, nevertheless if you open the main.dat with whatever zipping or rarring program you use you can grab back the original styles.

As for the fatal errors I can only assume that maybe the mod hasn't been applied properly, like in some cases with the early 1.2 patch, and that it's still working with the old water/sailable files hence why the whole thing dies when you try to place fleets.
User avatar
ShadowFox37
level1
level1
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:12 pm
Location: Somewhere in time...
Contact:

Postby ShadowFox37 » Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:53 pm

Ah, that makes sense to me.

Spacemonkey: I'm running 1.2.
User avatar
BrianBlessed
level4
level4
Posts: 867
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 9:33 pm

Postby BrianBlessed » Wed Dec 20, 2006 6:00 pm

Has anyone managed to play it without it royally borking their system yet?

Return to “Mod Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest