Mapmaking- Country Selection?

Discuss your new mods and themes here

Moderator: Defcon moderators

User avatar
Lazureus
level1
level1
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:15 pm
Contact:

Mapmaking- Country Selection?

Postby Lazureus » Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:43 pm

Ok, so i've figured out the whole coastlines.dat and cities.dat dealy, how do you determine where your units can be placed for each team on that map?
User avatar
zach
level5
level5
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Denmarkia
Contact:

Postby zach » Fri Oct 06, 2006 4:01 pm

sailable.bmp specifies what is land and what is sea.

You have to make travel_nodes.bmp fit the sailable.bmp file though;

Chris wrote:Every node must be in a sailable location, and every node must be able to sail in a direct line to at least one other node. The sailable regions are determined by one of the bitmaps, called sailable.bmp.


Hope this helps :)
User avatar
Lazureus
level1
level1
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:15 pm
Contact:

Postby Lazureus » Fri Oct 06, 2006 4:32 pm

no no , i meant like, where can red place their silos, where can orange place their silos, etc. like when you click territories, it highlights the area that belongs to the player, and it shows like a faded blur in the ocean of that color just off the coast.

i know there's bmps for countries in earth, but they look like the highlight graphics for the lobby minimap. where are they determined in-game?

also, what determines which city belongs to which team too?
User avatar
zach
level5
level5
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Denmarkia
Contact:

Postby zach » Fri Oct 06, 2006 4:43 pm

the bmps for countries in 'data\earth' both work as the highlight graphics for the lobby minimap and the ingame territories.
antidotos
level1
level1
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 12:36 pm

Postby antidotos » Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:32 pm

Sorry if this has already been answered :
is it possible to have disjointed territory ?
ie can I add a part of the Mid East to America and so will the game take this into account ?
Antidotos.
Remember the Mahabarhata.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Fri Oct 06, 2006 9:21 pm

antidotos wrote:Sorry if this has already been answered :
is it possible to have disjointed territory ?
ie can I add a part of the Mid East to America and so will the game take this into account ?

I haven't experimented with it, but it seems like it should be possible. It would basically involve adding some territory into a couple of .bmps, unless I am severly mistaken.

xander
User avatar
zach
level5
level5
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Denmarkia
Contact:

Postby zach » Fri Oct 06, 2006 10:11 pm

It's very possible, you can even have overlapping territories in this way!
mindule
level2
level2
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 5:14 am
Location: Baton Rouge

Postby mindule » Fri Oct 06, 2006 10:17 pm

zanzer7 wrote:sailable.bmp specifies what is land and what is sea.

You have to make travel_nodes.bmp fit the sailable.bmp file though;

Chris wrote:Every node must be in a sailable location, and every node must be able to sail in a direct line to at least one other node. The sailable regions are determined by one of the bitmaps, called sailable.bmp.


Hope this helps :)


Does this mean you can make a really big lake for people to sail in?
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Fri Oct 06, 2006 10:46 pm

Ofcourse it does.
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
antidotos
level1
level1
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 12:36 pm

Postby antidotos » Mon Oct 09, 2006 12:09 pm

thanks for the information Xander and Zanzer.
I wonder however whether the AI could really cope efficiently with the distorted strategies.....
Antidotos.

Remember the Mahabarhata.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:47 pm

antidotos wrote:thanks for the information Xander and Zanzer.
I wonder however whether the AI could really cope efficiently with the distorted strategies.....

I don't see why not...

xander
User avatar
shinygerbil
level5
level5
Posts: 4667
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 10:14 pm
Location: Out, finding my own food. Also, doing the shinyBonsai Manoeuvre(tm)
Contact:

Postby shinygerbil » Mon Oct 09, 2006 5:31 pm

On that note, has anyone played around with ai_markers.bmp? I'd like to know properly how it works :) I will have a fiddle around when I get the chance, but if anyone has any knowledge to spill, I'd be most grateful!

EDIT: diffle != fiddle

EDIT2: I'll actually correct my mistake this time
Here is my signature. Make of it what you will.
Image
denzil
level2
level2
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 5:59 pm
Location: Bournemouth, UK.
Contact:

Postby denzil » Mon Oct 09, 2006 5:35 pm

And the award goes to shinygerbil :D

I'm going to be taking a look at that bmp over the next few days
User avatar
Lazureus
level1
level1
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:15 pm
Contact:

Postby Lazureus » Mon Oct 09, 2006 10:59 pm

I did something with ai_markers for my mod, but did it random.

If ai_markers is completely blank, your game will crash against the CPU when it tries to place naval units. However, when i randomly placed green and red dots in the territorial waters for each territory, the game runs, the CPU works, but it does some funky things. Like one CPU will have water units just going in circles in their starting spot. Another CPU will not build a full navy (i see fleets of like 5 subs, 2 carriers, and maybe one fleet of 6 something else). And some of them will make weird decisions that dont make sense.

And once today, while spectating 6 CPU ffa, i saw one CPU team launching nukes that spazzed out. they didn't just launch and arc towards the opponent. they zipped super fast down, then to the side, then teleported up to the top, went directly sideways, then went up again, and started moving back and forth infinitely at the top of the map >.> and the subs that launched the nukes were at the south of the map, trying to hit a southern continent >.>

So I would like to find out how Ai_Markers is SUPPOSED to be done.
User avatar
Spacemonkey
level4
level4
Posts: 609
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 1:31 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Postby Spacemonkey » Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:28 am

Lazureus wrote:they zipped super fast down, then to the side, then teleported up to the top, went directly sideways, then went up again, and started moving back and forth infinitely at the top of the map


omg, I want one!

Return to “Mod Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests