Page 1 of 2

Tool: DEFCON CoastlineDrawer

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:51 am
by zach
DEFCON CoastlineDrawer
Yes, yet another stupidly simple tool to ease your modding experience

With this tool, you're able to draw the coastlines yourself. It even reads the current coastline data, if any.

* Left click to start/keep drawing,
* Right click to place current line and stop drawing.

Quite intuitive. Try fiddling around with it, it won't bite!
I chose the pink colour of two reasons:
1. It's easier to tell where you've drawn already.
2. Pink is the colour that's least likely to dominate your map.

If you already have a 'coastlines.dat' file in the 'data\earth' folder, the tool just appends to this file. Else it creates a new 'coastlines.dat'-file.

After you've drawn what you want, boot up Defcon and ... look! (The coastlines aren't spot-on in this picture, since I didn't feel like making a perfect coastline. Keep in mind you'd rather draw a pixel off the coast than a pixel in it)

Keep in mind this application is very simple, and it only specifies coordinates as integers. It's meant as a tool to ease coastlinedrawing (duh²) until there's a Map Editor available

Download link
dccoastlinedrawer.zip

~

Yes, I did just copy all that from the CityPlacer post. I think it's okay to be lazy after 2 hours of bugtracking ;)

More info at http://defcon.zanzer7.net/

Enjoy :)

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:56 am
by Kuth
hmmm....

Haven't tried mapediting yet, but I'll give this a shot when I'm able.

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:13 am
by LordSturm
Haha thanks man, making life easier for all us modders. :P
Now all we really NEED to do ourselves is the graphics...

Any idea what international.dat and such are for yet?

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:14 am
by karma_sleeper
I shall check this out. Thanks for sharing.

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:14 am
by Spacemonkey
Map modding is so easy now with all these coastline drawing and cityplacer tools. Back in my day we had to do everything with pen and paper.

Image

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:16 am
by Spacemonkey
LordSturm wrote:Any idea what international.dat and such are for yet?


international.dat is for the borders of countries.

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:32 am
by zach
You beat me to it :P

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:13 am
by LordSturm
Lmao, do we need to edit that too? :P

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:28 am
by denzil
Makes sense that we may need to :)

Good work as usual zanzer

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 9:54 am
by 0Avatar0
Good work as usual zanzer

:D

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:20 pm
by Lazureus
Hmm, for now, maybe you can just rename international.dat to coastlines.dat to use the tool to edit them? Or would that not work?

Btw, what is coastlines-low? Do i have to edit that too? It looks just like coastlines.dat except there seem to be less jagged edges on the borders, less pacific islands or something.

It'd be cool if the tool showed international.dat lines as green and coastlines as purple as it currently does, and let you switch between them for editing, making the current mode bright and inactive mode darker. That'd put the icing on the cake, methinks^.^

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:36 pm
by zach
For now, it's perfectly okay to use the CoastlineDrawer to make the borders in international.dat ...
I might add the option to export as Coastline or International, but not right now ~ quite the busy! ;)

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:44 pm
by xander
Spacemonkey wrote:Map modding is so easy now with all these coastline drawing and cityplacer tools. Back in my day we had to do everything with pen and paper.

You had pens and paper!? Why, back in my day, we didn't have pens! We would hit ourselves with rocks until we bled, then used sticks to draw with our own blood. As for paper, that was a luxury! We had to write on small pebbles. We learned to write really small, so that our pebbles would last longer!

xander

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:06 pm
by shinygerbil
Lazureus wrote:Btw, what is coastlines-low? Do i have to edit that too? It looks just like coastlines.dat except there seem to be less jagged edges on the borders, less pacific islands or something.


The game uses coastlines-low.dat instead of coastlines.dat when you enable the "Low world detail" graphics option. At least, I assume so.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 6:59 am
by Isoeph
Hi, wasn't sure if anyone had mentioned this bug yet, but I've found that when I try to load my own custom BMP Map it causes the tool to crash with the following error:

Image

The only thing I can think of that would cause that issue would be something to do with it refrencing the cityplacer instead of coastlinedrawer...course I could be completely off the mark.

Anyway, thanks again for going to the trouble to code this!