Ive been using 1.0

Technical Support for all Defcon related issues

Moderator: Defcon moderators

User avatar
CptDarknuggets
level1
level1
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 6:01 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Contact:

Ive been using 1.0

Postby CptDarknuggets » Fri Dec 15, 2006 11:00 pm

For the past forever! Everytime I run a new patch and go to start a game it just says Defcon has encountered a serious error. Everything works fine on 1.0 though. Any help?
User avatar
hobophobe
level1
level1
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 2:56 am
Location: Canada

Postby hobophobe » Sat Dec 16, 2006 5:27 am

Hey, at least you aren't missing out on very much.
User avatar
MrBunsy
level5
level5
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 4:40 pm
Location: Southampton
Contact:

Postby MrBunsy » Sat Dec 16, 2006 12:32 pm

I suppose you could try installing Defcon 1.0 in a new directory somewhere, and then patching that before running it, to see if anything different happens.
User avatar
ShadowFox37
level1
level1
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:12 pm
Location: Somewhere in time...
Contact:

Postby ShadowFox37 » Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:23 pm

I encountered the exact same error. I agree with the aforementioned. Uninstall Defcon from whatever directory you're using now, and install it to a different one (for example what I used was C:/Program Files/Defcon1). This cleared up any problems I had. Also note that any patches will automatically detect what directory you installed it to so you won't have to change the directory each and every time you have to go to patch the game.
antipornoanakin
level0
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 2:39 am

Postby antipornoanakin » Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:33 am

well it could be registry problem
get ccleaner
and it will clear up registry problems
its freeware
defcon isfun
oh no!
Romania hit!
all died!
no survivors!
heard by the united states and canada
United States is currently a tiny dust speck in the globe
Geogre W Bush: we are currently safe.
if we lose, all the white house has to do is put key in the hole
and earth detonates
if the u.s can;t survive nobody will
if the europe won't let us.
we'll make a satelite and launch into space and call E.T aliens for help
hey a silo takes hours to arrive right?
maybe an E.T alien ray gun invasion could vaporize it into little drips
Slinken
level2
level2
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 11:58 am
Location: Gävle, Sweden

Postby Slinken » Thu Dec 21, 2006 1:05 pm

antipornoanakin wrote:well it could be registry problem
get ccleaner
and it will clear up registry problems
its freeware
defcon isfun
oh no!
Romania hit!
all died!
no survivors!
heard by the united states and canada
United States is currently a tiny dust speck in the globe
Geogre W Bush: we are currently safe.
if we lose, all the white house has to do is put key in the hole
and earth detonates
if the u.s can;t survive nobody will
if the europe won't let us.
we'll make a satelite and launch into space and call E.T aliens for help
hey a silo takes hours to arrive right?
maybe an E.T alien ray gun invasion could vaporize it into little drips

WTF??? Am I the only one that didnt understood a thing?
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Thu Dec 21, 2006 1:17 pm

Slinken wrote:WTF??? Am I the only one that didnt understood a thing?


I barely understood it but I'll translate it for you:



antipornoanakin wrote:well it could be registry problem
get ccleaner
and it will clear up registry problems
its freeware


"You may have problems due to your registry, have you tried cleaning it? If you don't already have a registry cleaner you can try ccleaner as its freeware."



antipornoanakin wrote:defcon isfun
oh no!
Romania hit!
all died!
no survivors!
heard by the united states and canada
United States is currently a tiny dust speck in the globe
Geogre W Bush: we are currently safe.
if we lose, all the white house has to do is put key in the hole
and earth detonates
if the u.s can;t survive nobody will
if the europe won't let us.
we'll make a satelite and launch into space and call E.T aliens for help
hey a silo takes hours to arrive right?
maybe an E.T alien ray gun invasion could vaporize it into little drips


"Defcon is fun."
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Thu Dec 21, 2006 3:34 pm

Montyphy wrote:
antipornoanakin wrote:defcon isfun
oh no!
Romania hit!
all died!
no survivors!
heard by the united states and canada
United States is currently a tiny dust speck in the globe
Geogre W Bush: we are currently safe.
if we lose, all the white house has to do is put key in the hole
and earth detonates
if the u.s can;t survive nobody will
if the europe won't let us.
we'll make a satelite and launch into space and call E.T aliens for help
hey a silo takes hours to arrive right?
maybe an E.T alien ray gun invasion could vaporize it into little drips

"Defcon is fun."

I work in a school where something like 70% of the kids are ESL (English as a second language -- most of them speak Spanish). Because I seem to be the only person here who is not deathly afraid of destroying the computers by clicking the wrong thing (okay, a bit of an exageration), I am often asked to help with things like the newsletter. It always strikes me that the Spanish translation of English material is longer than the original English. I wonder if Gibberish has a similar property -- I mean, it took antipornoanakin 15 lines of free verse to say what Montyphy was able to say in 3 words, and I think that Montyphy managed to pick up most of the subtleties. ;)

xander
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:04 pm

xander wrote:I work in a school where something like 70% of the kids are ESL (English as a second language -- most of them speak Spanish). Because I seem to be the only person here who is not deathly afraid of destroying the computers by clicking the wrong thing (okay, a bit of an exageration), I am often asked to help with things like the newsletter. It always strikes me that the Spanish translation of English material is longer than the original English. I wonder if Gibberish has a similar property -- I mean, it took antipornoanakin 15 lines of free verse to say what Montyphy was able to say in 3 words, and I think that Montyphy managed to pick up most of the subtleties. ;)

xander


Image
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.

Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:27 pm

Montyphy wrote:Image

Hrm... that image looks strangly familier, only without the proper alpha channels... ;)

xander
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:34 pm

The computer I'm using has limited image editing software i.e. I had to use Paint. :P
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.

Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
Spacemonkey
level4
level4
Posts: 609
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 1:31 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Postby Spacemonkey » Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:21 pm

hobophobe wrote:Hey, at least you aren't missing out on very much.


What?! The new patches are the best, they have all the awesome things.
Slinken
level2
level2
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 11:58 am
Location: Gävle, Sweden

Postby Slinken » Fri Dec 22, 2006 8:09 pm

Montyphy wrote:
Slinken wrote:WTF??? Am I the only one that didnt understood a thing?


I barely understood it but I'll translate it for you:



antipornoanakin wrote:well it could be registry problem
get ccleaner
and it will clear up registry problems
its freeware


"You may have problems due to your registry, have you tried cleaning it? If you don't already have a registry cleaner you can try ccleaner as its freeware."



antipornoanakin wrote:defcon isfun
oh no!
Romania hit!
all died!
no survivors!
heard by the united states and canada
United States is currently a tiny dust speck in the globe
Geogre W Bush: we are currently safe.
if we lose, all the white house has to do is put key in the hole
and earth detonates
if the u.s can;t survive nobody will
if the europe won't let us.
we'll make a satelite and launch into space and call E.T aliens for help
hey a silo takes hours to arrive right?
maybe an E.T alien ray gun invasion could vaporize it into little drips


"Defcon is fun."

Thanks now I understand everything.

Return to “Windows Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests