Cursor Movement

Technical Support for all Defcon related issues

Moderator: Defcon moderators

chaz1356
level1
level1
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:38 am

Cursor Movement

Postby chaz1356 » Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:41 am

I just downloaded the demo but the cursor lags behind my movement and is extremely slow making it almost impossible to play the game. I have tried all the troubleshooting that your site mentions but nothing seems to work. I was curious if there was a way to fix this problem or if it supossed to be like this because if it is then I am for sure not going to buy the full game.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:03 am

What are your hardware specs? It is possible that your machine is not powerful enough for Defcon, or you might be suffering from bad multi-core support. Without any specs, we can't help. Specifically:

CPU -- what kind? how many? multi-core?
Video Card -- what is it? how much video RAM? are the drivers up to date? what drivers are you using?
RAM -- how much?
OS -- what OS are you running? what version? is it up to date?

xander
chaz1356
level1
level1
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:38 am

Postby chaz1356 » Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:11 am

- Windows Xp
- Radeon 9800, 128MB
- Windows

I mean i run games like CIVIV and rise of nations fine, how much more memory etc. could defcon take?
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:17 am

chaz1356 wrote:- Windows Xp
- Radeon 9800, 128MB
- Windows

I mean i run games like CIVIV and rise of nations fine, how much more memory etc. could defcon take?

You would be suprised. Defcon is a fairly intensive game, both in terms of AI and graphics. It may not look like it, but it is fairly sophisticated. And you still haven't told me what processor you are using.

xander
chaz1356
level1
level1
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:38 am

Postby chaz1356 » Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:19 am

You'll have to give me a break here. Whatever processor comes in like a 2003/2004 windows xp.
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Thu Nov 02, 2006 8:59 am

chaz1356 wrote:You'll have to give me a break here. Whatever processor comes in like a 2003/2004 windows xp.


Press the Pause/Break key while holding the Windows button on your keyboard. The CPU and total RAM will be listed under Computer on the tab the window opens on.
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
MrBunsy
level5
level5
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 4:40 pm
Location: Southampton
Contact:

Postby MrBunsy » Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:29 pm

chaz1356 wrote:You'll have to give me a break here. Whatever processor comes in like a 2003/2004 windows xp.
I remember reading about someone who tried to see how slow a processor XP would cope with... I think he got down to about 66Mhz, or something equally crazy.

edit: 20Mhz!! http://winhistory.de/more/386/xpmini_eng.htm
chaz1356
level1
level1
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:38 am

Postby chaz1356 » Fri Nov 03, 2006 12:22 am

pentium 4
512 MB of RAM

Return to “Windows Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests