Can't authenticate or get a server listing or...

Technical Support for all Defcon related issues

Moderator: Defcon moderators

A.D. Murder
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:22 pm

Can't authenticate or get a server listing or...

Postby A.D. Murder » Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:30 pm

...or even connect to an IP manually!

Today, any kind of network functionality with Defcon is not working. When I start up, it says AUTHENTICATION STATUS UNKNOWN. If I open up the authentication options window, it just hangs at AUTHENTICATION STATUS CHECKING...

If I just switch to being a demo user, I still can't get any response in the server browser. But I'm really just trying to join a game that my friend is hosting, so when I put in his IP address manually, its never able to connect either.

I've played plenty of successful Defcon games and I haven't experienced anything like this. I'm having no problems with any other internet-related programs and services and I have made no changes to any of my router settings. Can anyone offer me some help? Thanks.
User avatar
xyzyxx
level5
level5
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Postby xyzyxx » Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:27 am

It sounds like you're saying DEFCON worked fine for you in the past. Is that true?
Some people talk because they have something to say. Others talk because they have to say something.
User avatar
dutch_camel_NL
level1
level1
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 10:06 pm

Postby dutch_camel_NL » Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:55 am

Is your Firewall and/or router blocking traffic?
Zarkow
level4
level4
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 2:54 pm
Contact:

Postby Zarkow » Fri Oct 20, 2006 3:29 am

Did you previously play with the cracked version...?

In anyway, network-configuration, current ISP and so on, this info is needed.
Mr_Friendly
level0
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 10:11 am
Contact:

Postby Mr_Friendly » Sat Nov 04, 2006 12:12 am

i am also having exactly the same problem.

i bought defcon the day it came out, registered it. never played cracked version.

used to be fine, played behind a router/modem

now moved house

Demon is my ISP, their crappy USB speedtouch modem (dial-up @ 2 meg ADSL)

cant find the servers, cant connect to games, authentication 'unkown' and hangs on 'checking'


note: this happened BEFORE updating to 1.1, which has made no difference
User avatar
shinygerbil
level5
level5
Posts: 4667
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 10:14 pm
Location: Out, finding my own food. Also, doing the shinyBonsai Manoeuvre(tm)
Contact:

Postby shinygerbil » Sat Nov 04, 2006 12:20 am

I think you'll find that if you click below:

http://forums.introversion.co.uk/defcon ... php?t=3256

It will tell you that we are all having tha same problem.
Here is my signature. Make of it what you will.
Image
Mr_Friendly
level0
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 10:11 am
Contact:

Postby Mr_Friendly » Sat Nov 04, 2006 12:43 am

aye, sorry! :oops:

Return to “Windows Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests