Silo launch after naval loss

In-depth tactical discussion on how to lose the least

Moderator: Defcon moderators

RUS3MAST3R
level0

Silo launch after naval loss

Postby RUS3MAST3R » Fri Apr 20, 2012 2:24 am

I am a noob at defcon and almost always lose my naval battles. Sure, I will probably gain skill over time, but this problem causes me to lose almost every single game I play. When my fleet is just about destroyed, it is already defcon 1. About all I would normally have left are a couple carriers in full retreat and maybe if I'm lucky some subs in enemy waters. I do not seem to have many options. I can launch immediately then, but after around 3 or 4 ICBMs are in the air, my silos get destroyed and my cities are sitting ducks, even with fighters protecting the silos. My other option is to wait it out, until a good opportunity to launch comes up. But then I get scouted and nuked with simultaneous mrbms and srbms and all silos die before an opportunity arises. So what do I do?
kudayta
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff

Postby kudayta » Fri Apr 20, 2012 3:08 am

Don't fully engage your navy, especially if you know you suck with it. Flank your enemy. Now I know sometimes you can't do that, and well, you'll just have to wait until you get better. But from what I've seen, you push in too hard and place your stuff too early. Be patient. Hit and run. Duck and weave. Float like a butterfly and sting like a bee.

Also, you mentioned that you had fighters protecting your silos. I hope you mean to say that they're searching for inbound bombers. Because they won't shoot down nukes.
skyray
level1
level1

Postby skyray » Sat Apr 28, 2012 1:32 am