Page 2 of 9

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:44 pm
by frenchfrog
Montyphy wrote:Depends on how it was coded

Uplink was Introversion first game and wasn't thought with multi-language in mind.

All the strings have to be manually replaced (some with the help of a script) which is a colossal job.

joda wrote:let me say so: i have payed the same price for my german version like other people for their english version - can't i expect the same support?

In fact, the only reason there is a new patch after 3 years of inactivity is the Steam version, a positive side effect.

The mac version is still at 1.31, _illegally sold_ Strategy First version is at 1.31 and german version is at 1.32 and they will likely stay like this unless someone come up and decide to basically do it for free (just like I did Uplink 1.55).

I guess there is simply no incentives to pay to develop a patch for those versions.

Your best bet to ever see a patch for the german version is to buy the dev CD and do it yourself (the german scripts are included). You can also send an email to the support, and perhaps if enough people complains IV will do something about it.

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 12:04 am
by Montyphy
Sorry for not doing a proper check but I don't think the tutorial program starts when you create a new agent.

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 6:25 pm
by frenchfrog
Montyphy wrote:Sorry for not doing a proper check but I don't think the tutorial program starts when you create a new agent.

??? It works here.

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 8:04 pm
by Montyphy
frenchfrog wrote:
Montyphy wrote:Sorry for not doing a proper check but I don't think the tutorial program starts when you create a new agent.

??? It works here.


Yeah, sorry. My bad. Although I did notice the highlight for the close button when you get to the world map part of Tutorial 1 is wrong i.e this

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 11:35 pm
by frenchfrog
Montyphy wrote:Yeah, sorry. My bad. Although I did notice the highlight for the close button when you get to the world map part of Tutorial 1 is wrong i.e this

No, the 'close button' wording is ok, it's the 'X' button. The primary function of the 'Cancel' button is to erase a route, not exit the world map.

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 11:39 pm
by Montyphy
frenchfrog wrote:
Montyphy wrote:Yeah, sorry. My bad. Although I did notice the highlight for the close button when you get to the world map part of Tutorial 1 is wrong i.e this

No, the 'close button' wording is ok, it's the 'X' button. The primary function of the 'Cancel' button is to erase a route, not exit the world map.


I wasn't referring to the wording or function of buttons but rather the yellow highlight that is suppose surround a button and blink so you know what one to click. In this case, rather than surrounding the X button it is a small line of which most is obscured.


EDIT: Also, would you happen to know why FRAPS doesn't want anything to do with Uplink i.e. it doesn't record videos or show the FPS? Could it be something to do with key bindings or Uplink not registering itself properly? Pressing F12 (something FRAPS uses) causes Uplink to crash (I really should check if the same happens with FRAPS not running).

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 2:17 am
by frenchfrog
ok I get it, sorry.

As for FRAPS I have aboluteley no idea why it crash. Does it works in Darwinia?

Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 4:13 pm
by Ceri
Actually in multilingual games it's still not that uncommon for new patches not to be released for the alternative languages, in part because sometimes the localization team fixed the bugs in their release already, in other cases because the company doesn't note the existence of those other languages as worthy of an updated patch. I'm not naming names, not worth the fuss.

Out of curiousity is the Stomp release of Darwinia and Uplink (bundled together) in Australia legit? Seen it on the shelves recently in one of the retail stores in town.

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:42 pm
by Montyphy
frenchfrog wrote:ok I get it, sorry.

As for FRAPS I have aboluteley no idea why it crash. Does it works in Darwinia?


Fraps works with both Darwinia and Defcon but not Uplink. Even tried on a second Windows machine. Also pressing F12 seems to close/terminate/crash Uplink even if Fraps isn't running.

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 6:07 pm
by frenchfrog
yeah, F12 quit Uplink.

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 1:33 am
by Ceri
Works fine in Uplink, you just need to change the key bindings for FRAPS to something you don't use in Uplink that isn't bound to a specific function. Already tested this just now.

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 2:08 am
by Montyphy
Definitely not working on my end and this is the second machine I've tried it on. Tried binding to numerous other keys (INSERT, PGUP, Num Lock, F2, F4, F9, F8). The FPS counter isn't showing when Uplink starts, videos aren't taken, screenshots aren't taken. I know Fraps is receiving the key presses because I see the Overlay Corner has changed in the Fraps window if I press the Overlay Corner Hotkey in Uplink.

What did keys did you bind? What version of Uplink? Are you using Steam? What version of Fraps? What version of Windows?

Uplink v.1.55 LINUX Mandriva 2007.0 (Cooker)

Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 9:14 am
by ChasM
Uplink v.1.55 LINUX Mandriva 2007.0 (Cooker)

Code: Select all

[charles@localhost ~]$ Xorg -version
X Window System Version 7.1.1
Release Date: 12 May 2006
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 7.1.1
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.12-12mdksmp i686
Current Operating System: Linux localhost 2.6.17-5mdv #1 SMP Wed Sep 13 14:32:31 EDT 2006 i686
Build Date: 31 August 2006
        Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
        to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present

-----file ~/.uplink/debug.log
===============================================
NEW GAME     15:27, 30/4/2007
===============================================
Version : 1.55
RELEASE
Linux Build
Version 1.55 (RELEASE)
Compiled on Mar 19 2007 at 13:34:53
(code-C)(code-M)(code-T)
Loading uplink options from /home/charles/.uplink/options...failed

=====DEBUGGING INFORMATION ENABLED=====
Loading application data
Successfully loaded data archive data.dat
Successfully loaded data archive graphics.dat
Successfully loaded data archive loading.dat
Successfully loaded data archive sounds.dat
Successfully loaded data archive music.dat
Successfully loaded data archive fonts.dat
Successfully loaded data archive patch.dat
Successfully loaded data archive patch2.dat
Successfully loaded data archive patch3.dat
Finished loading application data
Init_Game called...creating game object
Finished with Init_Game
Saving uplink options to /home/charles/.uplink/options...success
Initialising SDL...done
 SDL is now opening a 1024x768 window in 32 depth ...done
 SDL is now changing the window caption and diverse settings ...done
 Initialising OpenGL...
Finished initialising OpenGL.
Now registering callback functions...done
 Saving uplink options to /home/charles/.uplink/options...success
Init_Fonts called...setting up system fonts
Registering fonts...done
 Loading system fonts into memory...
done
Unregistering fonts...done
 Finished with Init_Fonts
 Init_Sound called...setting up sound system
Compiled with SDL_mixer version: 1.2.7
Running with SDL_mixer version: 1.2.7
Finished with Init_Sound
Init_Music called...loading modules
Finished with Init_Music
Creating main menu.
====== END OF DEBUGGING INFORMATION ====
Loading LAN from data/lans/sample.txt...done
Saving profile to /home/charles/.uplink/ChasM.tmp...success. Moving profile to /home/charles/.uplink/ChasM.usr...success
Saving profile to /home/charles/.uplink/ChasM.tmp...success. Moving profile to /home/charles/.uplink/ChasM.usr...success
Saving profile to /home/charles/.uplink/ChasM.tmp...success. Moving profile to /home/charles/.uplink/ChasM.usr...success
Saving profile to /home/charles/.uplink/ChasM.tmp...success. Moving profile to /home/charles/.uplink/ChasM.usr...success
X connection to :0.0 broken (explicit kill or server shutdown).
---- END of file ~/.uplink/debug.log


This is a minty-fresh Uplink installation.
As Montyphy said, the pulsing yellow glow is not right. Looks like small dots along border edges.
All I did was start and close the Tutorial, then click on "X", the close Uplink button.
It crashed the desktop as if <ctrl+alt+backspace> was pressed.
Is there any way I can help? This seems similar to an X server problem in closing LINUX Defcon.

Posted: Wed May 02, 2007 12:38 pm
by brunnenguk
Excellent job on v1.55! :D (I especially like the bank IP being added to the financial details tab, - the number of times I've had to write down the IP of a bank because I got funds paid in to the wrong one)

Posted: Wed May 02, 2007 8:42 pm
by skull13
I don't suppose this will come out for mac?