Page 1 of 2

Uplink 1.42 Patch (+ Still a chance to win Defcon units)

Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 3:33 pm
by John
Quite a number of bugs fixed in 1.42, thanks François!

As usual, Download the patch here.
View the full changelog here.

VERSION 1.42
  • Fixed : A crash when pressing return on the Contact Screen.
  • Fixed : Start up crash problems related to invalid native resolution (ex: 800x600 is not a native resolution on LCD).
  • Fixed : Fix some graphic inconsistencies when playing in a resolution with a ratio different of 1.33 .
  • Fixed : A crash when using the password cracker on invalid account names.
  • Fixed : A crash when clicking on the program start menu and there are no programs to run.
  • Fixed : A crash on start up when loading a font and the file was not found.
  • Fixed : Start up crash problems related to screen depth.

There's still a chance to win those signed Defcon units!

Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:00 pm
by John
Just to remind everybody, that until the end of August there is still a chance to win one of three signed Defcon units! All you have to do to enter is to play Uplink through to completion and email us the code that will be presented to you at the end of the game (as well as your user agent file). Please always do this with the latest testing version of Uplink.

Please check out this topic for more details.

Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 9:22 pm
by Hacker101
I'm just wondering...

Does François (A.K.A. FrenchFrog) get paid to make new patches?

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:10 am
by chimera
QUESTION QUESTION: Do I have to download each patch up to this one? Or can I just install this latest one? The 1.42 . I think I got the 1.32 one, it came already on my disc.

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:18 am
by Montyphy
Hacker101 wrote:Does François (A.K.A. FrenchFrog) get paid to make new patches?


I don't think he does but I could be wrong since he recently got mod privillages and thus could now be on the IV team (although being a mod obviously isn't a guarantee).

chimera wrote:Do I have to download each patch up to this one?


Nope. Just install the game from your CD and then apply the newest patch.

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:33 pm
by chimera
When will the final patch be released? Cos I've heard this one is already getting quite stable now, gotta be soon right?

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:39 pm
by Callik
Are these supposed to come through steam if purchased from it? Cause I'm still on 1.39 as far as I know.

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:43 pm
by Montyphy
chimera wrote:When will the final patch be released? Cos I've heard this one is already getting quite stable now, gotta be soon right?


Why would you want a final patch? That would mean the developers no longer care about it. There will be patches as long as bugs are present and things need tweaking.

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:46 pm
by chimera
That's not what I meant, I saw in a thread that these were beta patches and thus not downloadable over steam cos they're just beta and a 'final alpha' will be released soon, no?

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:49 pm
by Montyphy
Ah, so you're wanting to know when the next alpha release will be. Thats quite different from asking when the final patch will be. If there has been no announcement it probably means frenchfrog is busy fixing a set list of bugs. Either that or next thursday.

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:00 pm
by frenchfrog
Hacker101 wrote:Does François (A.K.A. FrenchFrog) get paid to make new patches?


I do get a _compensation_ .

chimera wrote:When will the final patch be released? Cos I've heard this one is already getting quite stable now, gotta be soon right?


Yes, a no beta patch is coming, because like you said, Uplink is quite stable now.

Callik wrote:Are these supposed to come through steam if purchased from it? Cause I'm still on 1.39 as far as I know.


Once a beta patch is considered good, it's pushed on Steam. (which will be the case of 1.42, in fact it will be 1.43 due to a minor fix)

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:04 pm
by outofexile
but, but, but... i want a new update for my steam version >_> O and this is slightly off topic, none of the mods (Sword, SimplyUplink etc. [the mods which have there own .exe's) work at all on my v1.39 STEAM

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:07 pm
by Leonaken
outofexile wrote:but, but, but... i want a new update for my steam version >_> O and this is slightly off topic, none of the mods (Sword, SimplyUplink etc. [the mods which have there own .exe's) work at all on my v1.39 STEAM

Nope, but gateways, LANs, and themes will. It's a casualty Uplink took from going to Steam.

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:12 pm
by outofexile
that sucks big style. I really want the Simply Uplink mod thing, 'cause auto bounce would be lovely. Guess i'll have to carry on taking the long way :(

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:20 pm
by Leonaken
Yea, SimplyUplink was a great mod. No offense to Chris and John, but SimplyUplink really improved the game's usability.