IRC ...

Discussions on Nakatomi

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver, Punisher Bass

Slytz
level1
level1
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 1:31 pm
Location: Birmingham

Postby Slytz » Sun Jul 20, 2003 12:32 am

I've read some guys 'IRC FAQ' and then I noticed it wasn't for the game itself. So, Why won't the IRC work?

I've connected, from the options menu, and I'm using Win98SE. Is my OS a problem?

Slytz.
Slytz Tha Psychopathic Ninja Clown
User avatar
Jackmn
level5
level5
Posts: 1378
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 5:21 pm

Postby Jackmn » Sun Jul 20, 2003 3:35 am

Yes, it only seems to work in 2k/xp(/nt maybe?).
Slytz
level1
level1
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 1:31 pm
Location: Birmingham

Postby Slytz » Sun Jul 20, 2003 10:38 am

Well thats no good! I've just wasted 4000c on that! I'm on a tight enough budget as it is!

Slytz.
Slytz Tha Psychopathic Ninja Clown
shad0wx
level0
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 5:28 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Postby shad0wx » Thu Jul 24, 2003 10:24 am

the irc client in the game is setup to connect to the wrong server
- Greg
User avatar
Jackmn
level5
level5
Posts: 1378
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 5:21 pm

Postby Jackmn » Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:24 pm

Quote: from shad0wx on 10:24 am on July 24, 2003[br]the irc client in the game is setup to connect to the wrong server
Not that this matters, since he still won't be able to connect with 98/me.
Slytz
level1
level1
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 1:31 pm
Location: Birmingham

Postby Slytz » Fri Jul 25, 2003 9:58 am

lol. I chnaged it anyway, someone else said to connect to a different server.
Thanks anyway.

Slytz.
Slytz Tha Psychopathic Ninja Clown
killah
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2003 8:46 am

Postby killah » Sun Jul 27, 2003 8:48 am

So what server do i use and port # please? so that i can chat wit toehrs dont wanna let that 4000credits go to waste hehe please help!
Robert
level2
level2
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2001 5:39 am
Location: Oklahoma

Postby Robert » Sun Jul 27, 2003 5:49 pm

irc.uplinkcorp.net 6667
indycar
level2
level2
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 9:31 pm

Postby indycar » Thu Jul 31, 2003 12:32 am

i had 2k and now xp and there is no one on the irc when i am on it i wasted 4k c for nothing too but i dont give a f... cause money is no problem to me
searching for virus..  .. ... searching ..
... strange virus found: (windows) should i delete it .. khm..dont know
User avatar
Hektik sniper
level5
level5
Posts: 3642
Joined: Tue May 07, 2002 4:58 pm
Location: A Field with my fellow Clows.... MOOOOOOO!!!!!
Contact:

Postby Hektik sniper » Fri Aug 01, 2003 8:41 am

no thats because it doesnt work for you, there is always someone on irc, the channel is always full of idlers and most of the regulars spend a lot of time there.
British Army The Number 1 UK Soldat Clan
Winners of Storm and Destory CTF
CoNtRaDiCtIoN
level0
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2003 5:03 pm

Postby CoNtRaDiCtIoN » Sat Aug 02, 2003 10:31 pm

i am on XP and IRC still doesnt work for me, plus i updated the channel and port number...

ahh well.....
Woolridge
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:43 am
Location: Spain

Postby Woolridge » Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:51 am

Hey guys...I've just started a new game with the latest patch and bought this HUD upgrade irc client

Please tell me.. how does this thing work?
Just clicking on the irc icon and writing the channel? help plz.  

And other thing..is this a normal irc (you chat with real people) or a simulated irc? (you chat with the computer pretending to be real people)

by a N00b* ;)   thx
coolblast
level0
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2003 6:04 pm

Postby coolblast » Mon Sep 15, 2003 4:42 pm

Did any one solve the IRC channel cause i do need to know how that thing works all i see here is every one asking the same question with no answer ???????  so if any one knows help us out thank u
Rkiver
level5
level5
Posts: 6405
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 10:39 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Postby Rkiver » Mon Sep 15, 2003 4:48 pm

I would suggest you take the following advice if you wish to talk on irc.uplinkcorp.net channel #uplink;

Get a real irc client. Uplinks in game irc client was never properly finished, as anyone with the DevCD could tell you. WolfLord is working on a mod to fix that, but till then I would suggest you get either  XChat, Trillian, or even mIRC.
Uplink help: Read the FAQ
User avatar
ScareyedHawk
level5
level5
Posts: 1154
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2003 10:14 pm
Location: Västerås, Sweden
Contact:

Postby ScareyedHawk » Wed Oct 29, 2003 1:25 pm

With the IRC software you chat with REAL people. Not the fake agents in the game

In the next patch, I think they should show a warning sign or a text in the description about that it doesn't work on these OSs

Return to “The Latest Patch”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests