Few question about modding

Moderated discussion about Uplink

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver, Punisher Bass

SpikerzZ
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:19 am

Few question about modding

Postby SpikerzZ » Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:25 am

How do you ad new items in the store? Is there a way without knowing how to program? like you can do other mods.

Is there a way to add more starting locations? instead of whats there like New York and stuff if I wanted to add lets say Toronto, Canada, or something else?

Is there a way to extract the dev files that people made like the FBI mod or simply uplink, so I could mix and match?
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Re: Few question about modding

Postby Montyphy » Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:16 am

SpikerzZ wrote:How do you ad new items in the store?


You would need to edit the source code

SpikerzZ wrote:Is there a way without knowing how to program? like you can do other mods.


No. Those other mods were created by people who could code.

SpikerzZ wrote:Is there a way to add more starting locations? instead of whats there like New York and stuff if I wanted to add lets say Toronto, Canada, or something else?


Would need to edit the source code.

SpikerzZ wrote:Is there a way to extract the dev files that people made like the FBI mod or simply uplink, so I could mix and match?


You could extract some of the graphics used but not the fundamental changes since they are contained within the executable.
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
SpikerzZ
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:19 am

Postby SpikerzZ » Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:00 pm

do I need to edit the source code for everything I asked? because I know you could do some stuff with just text editing like company names and so on, lol plus you could make gateway's and stuff, lol I really want to add new starting gateway's lol
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:33 pm

SpikerzZ wrote:do I need to edit the source code for everything I asked?


Yes.

SpikerzZ wrote:because I know you could do some stuff with just text editing like company names and so on, lol plus you could make gateway's and stuff, lol I really want to add new starting gateway's lol


Only gateways, LANs, graphics, sounds and company names can be changed/added with out needing access to the source code.
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.

Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
SpikerzZ
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:19 am

Postby SpikerzZ » Thu Jul 15, 2010 5:15 pm

Oh, is there someone who could make stuff I ask? I would love to do this with version 1.55 patch
orillian
level4
level4
Posts: 585
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 8:41 pm

Postby orillian » Thu Jul 15, 2010 5:20 pm

You? Seriously there are a few people around here with the source code, (like me)

but there are even fewer who will do mods for it, (i wont)

best thing is if you want something done, you do it, download the source code, learn C and do it
SpikerzZ
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:19 am

Postby SpikerzZ » Thu Jul 15, 2010 6:49 pm

OK worth a try lol
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Thu Jul 15, 2010 9:44 pm

SpikerzZ wrote:Oh, is there someone who could make stuff I ask? I would love to do this with version 1.55 patch


With enough money you could achieve almost anything. ;)
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.

Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
SpikerzZ
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:19 am

Postby SpikerzZ » Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:12 pm

Haha thats true, I wish someone would get together with me, could you get a dev cd for 1.55? just curious, lol
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:18 pm

SpikerzZ wrote:Haha thats true, I wish someone would get together with me, could you get a dev cd for 1.55? just curious, lol


1.55Kg of gold could buy you several Dev CDs.
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.

Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
SpikerzZ
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:19 am

Postby SpikerzZ » Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:14 am

I am a real fast learner, all I would need is the dev cd and i'm sure I could make something but no cash right now for the new dev cd
axx
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 9:58 am

Postby axx » Wed Aug 03, 2011 10:12 am

@SpikerzZ

i think i'm with you. i really miss the handle of bounced connection of version 1.55 from fbi mod.
i have some programing xp, so i'm hunting some info now like whether i get the source of 1.55 patch too.
axx
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 9:58 am

Postby axx » Wed Aug 03, 2011 10:14 am

yeah, i ment on dev cd.
and another question if there is a source of fbi mod somewhere.

Return to “Uplink in Moderation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest