How to install mods

Moderated discussion about Uplink

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver, Punisher Bass

Ixtys
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: Latvia, Riga

How to install mods

Postby Ixtys » Fri Dec 10, 2004 8:14 pm

Hi! Can somebody explain to me in details how to istall mods or themes. I copy all the files to uplink directory and nothing happens. I launch the game and go to the options and there are no themes to choose from as an example. I am using patch 1.31 Thanks in advance!
jshadoww
level1
level1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 2:48 pm
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Postby jshadoww » Fri Dec 10, 2004 11:25 pm

1: Themes... Go to Options -> Themes

2. Mods... Make sure its in the Uplink Directory...Launch the Mod .exe, not the uplink, .exe....

For Example: Lets say you want to play the FBI mod, open the FBI.EXE or whatever its called

3. You probally could have found this elsewhere in the forums.
Image
...Yeah that ^ says something...If you can read it.
.*=MUGEN=*.
level1
level1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 2:41 am
Location: Down Under a.k.a Australia
Contact:

Postby .*=MUGEN=*. » Sun Feb 13, 2005 7:51 am

yeah im havin the same prob but when i click on the .exe and when i tried dragging it over the uplink exe it says Fatal Error Please shut uplink down :!:
Last edited by .*=MUGEN=*. on Tue Mar 01, 2005 11:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
dunetrooper
level4
level4
Posts: 832
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 7:28 pm
Location: Middle of nowhere Wyoming.

Postby dunetrooper » Thu Feb 24, 2005 7:59 pm

Go back to www.modlink.net find the readme by punisher bass that says installing mods for dummies, or something like it. And read it. Also with most mods it has a readme that says step by step on how to install it correctly. That's what readme's are for, you to read them.
I wasn't here.
.*=MUGEN=*.
level1
level1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 2:41 am
Location: Down Under a.k.a Australia
Contact:

Postby .*=MUGEN=*. » Tue Mar 01, 2005 11:24 am

i looked all over and i cant find Punisher Bass I even tried running a search but found nothing!
.*=MUGEN=*.
level1
level1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 2:41 am
Location: Down Under a.k.a Australia
Contact:

Postby .*=MUGEN=*. » Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:59 am

OK people im gettin really pissd off about the error im getting when i use uplink! could someone tell me the reason why is it the right version coz i think going 1.3.3 ( i think ) or do i have to use an older version coz of the patch in the new version??? damn i dunno could someone just tell me why!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rkiver
level5
level5
Posts: 6404
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 10:39 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Postby Rkiver » Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:48 am

You also created another topic about that question, that is frowned upon. To use the mods.

1) Must be windows version. Sorry but that is just how it is.

2) You must have Uplink patched to version 1.31.

3) Copy the mod files into your Uplink folder.

4) Start using the mod executable.

5) Create a new user.
Uplink help: Read the FAQ
DMJoshuA
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 6:19 am

extract it

Postby DMJoshuA » Sat Apr 03, 2010 6:24 am

if you downloaded it as a rar/zip file...extract it to uplink directory(not copy and paste!!)
if you installed uplink on C:/programfiles/uplink
then extract it there
its reccomended to use winrar
Rkiver
level5
level5
Posts: 6404
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 10:39 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Postby Rkiver » Sat Apr 03, 2010 9:32 am

5 years, one month, one day.

Great bump there. Check the date before posting in future please.
Uplink help: Read the FAQ

Return to “Uplink in Moderation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests