bash: ./xyz: Permission denied

Moderated discussion about Uplink

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver, Punisher Bass

blee
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2003 3:02 pm

Postby blee » Sun Nov 16, 2003 3:11 pm

Hay

I use linux 2.6.0-test9 and when I statr Uplink I got error:
bash: ./xyz: Permission denied
Binary Uplink got mods 777.
Why the Uplink don't work on linux 2.6.0-test9 ?
User avatar
Jackmn
level5
level5
Posts: 1378
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 5:21 pm

Postby Jackmn » Mon Nov 17, 2003 3:22 pm

Have you tried installing/running it as root?

It looks like you don't have execute rights to your shell [bash] from your current user.

Uplink hasn't displayed any system-destroying bugs [or security exploits], so give it a shot.

(Edited by Jackmn at 2:22 pm on Nov. 17, 2003)
blee
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2003 3:02 pm

Postby blee » Tue Nov 18, 2003 5:57 pm

yes I run in from the root account and I have thesame error ;(
my kernel is clean for the security patches and I have in kernel enabled the support for : elf binaries, a.out binaries and misc.
User avatar
tabasco boy
level5
level5
Posts: 1180
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 4:25 pm
Location: Lovely Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby tabasco boy » Wed Nov 19, 2003 1:02 am

Quote: from blee on 4:57 pm on Nov. 18, 2003[br]yes I run in from the root account and I have thesame error ;(
my kernel is clean for the security patches and I have in kernel enabled the support for : elf binaries, a.out binaries and misc.


thats the worst thing a unix/linux user could do. i guess you surf the net on a root account aswell which is a big no no.

as a rule of thumb DO NOT RUN apps as root always run them as a normal user. in some cases if you have to run some apps with root right or maintain your linux box use the "SU" command. and try reinstalling uplink but delete the folder first and then do the file permissions right.

(Edited by tabasco boy at 12:04 am on Nov. 19, 2003)
Eating without Tabasco® Sauce is like a computer without a OS.
blee
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2003 3:02 pm

Postby blee » Wed Nov 19, 2003 9:15 pm

i know that !!!! and I run uplink (usualy) from normalu user account  and I have theame error

Return to “Uplink in Moderation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest