Page 1 of 1

Something I never understood....

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2005 7:14 pm
by AgentFade
When I look at the logs in InterNIC, which I destroy without delay, I notice that they are all from 127.0.0.1.

Which brings me to my question. If 127.0.0.1 is your own computer, wouldn't the traces aimed at you auto-fail, as they'd go around in a complete circle?

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 1:09 am
by Mr. Roboto
Only because you're confusing real reality for game reality.

The developers used the 127.0.0.1 IP as the gateway's IP, not your system specificaly, since no version of Uplink works on the net... yet. If one does, it would show your system's IP or your ISP's IP instead.

In case you haven't noticed, the IP addresses aren't very real either. If you looked up an Uplink IP of 666.666.666.666 it may come back as Satanic Military Systems central mainframe.( :twisted: ) In real life it would fail since each 3-digit number ("octet") can only go from 1-254.

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:07 pm
by AgentFade
Oh yea...shoulda thought of that.

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:28 pm
by Flamekebab
Erm, don't you mean 0 - 255 ?

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 10:24 pm
by Mr. Roboto
Just checked my A+ study book... yep, 0-255.

I had thought 0 and 255 were some kind of special case, but I was wrong. My bad!

Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 12:13 am
by Flamekebab
Kinda ironic that you listed 127.0.0.1 in the same post, really?

Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 2:07 am
by Spectere_uplink
Mr. Roboto wrote:I had thought 0 and 255 were some kind of special case, but I was wrong. My bad!

Close, but not quite.

The highest value in a given subnet is a broadcast IP. All systems in the subnet answer to it.

The lowest value in a given subnet is considered a network address. That basically identifies what network a system is in yadda yadda I need to freshen up a bit on my Cisco networking but that's basically what it is.

It really depends on what subnet mask you're using. For instance, 10.1.4.255 would be a perfectly valid IP address if you were using a subnet mask of, say, 255.255.252.0. So would 10.1.5.0. In that situation, the network address in that subnet would be 10.1.4.0 and the broadcast would be 10.1.7.255.

Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2005 1:54 am
by FTR123
I found a computer once that had the same address as in uplink ¨127.0.0.1¨this is weird.

Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2005 2:20 am
by Mr. Roboto
FTR123 wrote:I found a computer once that had the same address as in uplink ¨127.0.0.1¨this is weird.

In other words, you found another computer that was your computer. That is wierd.

I did some googling for the address 127.0.0.1. For those who don't know already, the address is a "loopback address" that machines can use by sending datagrams back to itself. It's actualy part of the 127.0.0.x block used for loopbacks.

Posted: Sat Sep 17, 2005 7:46 pm
by AgentFade
And that's what I'm saying. 127.0.0.1 is your own computer's way of saying it's back to the system you're on.