Something I never understood....

Discussion on the full game [spoilers]

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver, Punisher Bass

AgentFade
level1
level1
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 2:25 pm

Something I never understood....

Postby AgentFade » Mon Sep 05, 2005 7:14 pm

When I look at the logs in InterNIC, which I destroy without delay, I notice that they are all from 127.0.0.1.

Which brings me to my question. If 127.0.0.1 is your own computer, wouldn't the traces aimed at you auto-fail, as they'd go around in a complete circle?
talk to me about anything Uplink. I can usually help you.

Image
User avatar
Mr. Roboto
level4
level4
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 6:05 pm
Location: Baltimore.md.us

Postby Mr. Roboto » Tue Sep 06, 2005 1:09 am

Only because you're confusing real reality for game reality.

The developers used the 127.0.0.1 IP as the gateway's IP, not your system specificaly, since no version of Uplink works on the net... yet. If one does, it would show your system's IP or your ISP's IP instead.

In case you haven't noticed, the IP addresses aren't very real either. If you looked up an Uplink IP of 666.666.666.666 it may come back as Satanic Military Systems central mainframe.( :twisted: ) In real life it would fail since each 3-digit number ("octet") can only go from 1-254.
AgentFade
level1
level1
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 2:25 pm

Postby AgentFade » Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:07 pm

Oh yea...shoulda thought of that.
talk to me about anything Uplink. I can usually help you.



Image
User avatar
Flamekebab
level5
level5
Posts: 2979
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2002 5:39 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Postby Flamekebab » Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:28 pm

Erm, don't you mean 0 - 255 ?
User avatar
Mr. Roboto
level4
level4
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 6:05 pm
Location: Baltimore.md.us

Postby Mr. Roboto » Tue Sep 06, 2005 10:24 pm

Just checked my A+ study book... yep, 0-255.

I had thought 0 and 255 were some kind of special case, but I was wrong. My bad!
User avatar
Flamekebab
level5
level5
Posts: 2979
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2002 5:39 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Postby Flamekebab » Wed Sep 07, 2005 12:13 am

Kinda ironic that you listed 127.0.0.1 in the same post, really?
Spectere_uplink
level4
level4
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2002 9:38 pm
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Postby Spectere_uplink » Wed Sep 07, 2005 2:07 am

Mr. Roboto wrote:I had thought 0 and 255 were some kind of special case, but I was wrong. My bad!

Close, but not quite.

The highest value in a given subnet is a broadcast IP. All systems in the subnet answer to it.

The lowest value in a given subnet is considered a network address. That basically identifies what network a system is in yadda yadda I need to freshen up a bit on my Cisco networking but that's basically what it is.

It really depends on what subnet mask you're using. For instance, 10.1.4.255 would be a perfectly valid IP address if you were using a subnet mask of, say, 255.255.252.0. So would 10.1.5.0. In that situation, the network address in that subnet would be 10.1.4.0 and the broadcast would be 10.1.7.255.
.what.
FTR123
level2
level2
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:33 am

Postby FTR123 » Thu Sep 15, 2005 1:54 am

I found a computer once that had the same address as in uplink ¨127.0.0.1¨this is weird.
Go Visit My first Website
www.freewebs.com/dolphin_2
User avatar
Mr. Roboto
level4
level4
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 6:05 pm
Location: Baltimore.md.us

Postby Mr. Roboto » Thu Sep 15, 2005 2:20 am

FTR123 wrote:I found a computer once that had the same address as in uplink ¨127.0.0.1¨this is weird.

In other words, you found another computer that was your computer. That is wierd.

I did some googling for the address 127.0.0.1. For those who don't know already, the address is a "loopback address" that machines can use by sending datagrams back to itself. It's actualy part of the 127.0.0.x block used for loopbacks.
AgentFade
level1
level1
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 2:25 pm

Postby AgentFade » Sat Sep 17, 2005 7:46 pm

And that's what I'm saying. 127.0.0.1 is your own computer's way of saying it's back to the system you're on.
talk to me about anything Uplink. I can usually help you.



Image

Return to “The Full Game”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest