Gigaquads

Discussion on the full game [spoilers]

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver, Punisher Bass

AgentJester818
level0
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2002 2:44 pm
Contact:

Postby AgentJester818 » Tue Oct 08, 2002 3:25 pm

I was wondering what exactly a gigaquad was. I mean, I know that it's Uplink's memory thing, but what in comparision to a gigabyte is it? Is it like 4 gigabytes = 1 gigaquad? If this is so, then why is it that the programs are so huge, and why is it that the Uplink Agent Lists are so big?
I've got mail! I've got mail! I've got mail! I've got mail! I've got mail! I've got mail! I've got mail! I've got mail! I've got mail! I've got mail! I've got mail! YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYY!!!!!My attempt at a website: www.geocities.com/whatsanemail818
Cold Fusion
level5
level5
Posts: 1425
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2002 8:10 pm
Location: England

Postby Cold Fusion » Tue Oct 08, 2002 3:46 pm

I don't know how much a "gigaquad" is, but the reason why the programs are so big is probably because of the complexity of the programs in 2010. I mean, if you look back to 1990, the programs were very small, and look how big they are now.

Well that's what I think anyway. ;)

EDIT: Just looking back at this thread, I would also add that the reason why the Agent List is so large would be the massive amount of "encoding" it has on it. That would be my guess.

(Edited by Cold Fusion at 4:41 pm on June 9, 2003)
*Cold Fusion*
Stewsburntmonkey
level5
level5
Posts: 11553
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 7:44 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Postby Stewsburntmonkey » Tue Oct 08, 2002 4:34 pm

I think they took that from Star Trek, the idea I believe is while modern computers use bytes, at the current exponential growth of memory, sizes of memory in years to come would become rediculously large, so you create a fictious memory measurement to use.  There is no given conversion that I know of, but the idea might be something that as modern systems operate on bits (base 2) future systems may work with a qits (or whatever), using base 4 (interstingly DNA has four base pairs, genetic computing?).  That would give a conversion rate: a quad holding 4^8 would be 256 times the size of a byte.  :)
ironlion45
level1
level1
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 7:07 am
Location: Cyberspace- or A bowl of Spaghetti when sleeping

Postby ironlion45 » Thu Oct 10, 2002 9:28 am

I don't know. I always guessed that a gigaquad was like a gigabite, except that instead of file sizes being measured in bites, its measured ing quads.  

heheheheh.  

PS:  256k ram ought to be enough memory for anybody, any time  -Bill Gates.

The first pc that I owned I thought had a freaking huge 20 megabite hard drive.  I remember the first program I got that had more than 30 megabytes was huge.  And when I thought it would take forever to fill up a 1 gig hard drive.  

I wonder how long till I will be laughing at myself at how slow those old 128MB ATI Radeon 9700 graphics cards were? i'll give it about 6 moths the way things are going now.
"whenever somebody logs on to the internet bored, somewhere, someone is spamming a message board."
                       
"You Are the Source; It comes from within." -Annonymous
RuBiX KuBiX
level1
level1
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2002 6:25 pm
Contact:

Postby RuBiX KuBiX » Sat Oct 12, 2002 4:39 am

ya its off a gigabyte hey chris how many bytes in a gigaquad?
think you have it the best in america why don't you take a good look you rich brainwashed fool!
     ~ZIONISM IS RACISM~
Biblin
level2
level2
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2002 7:50 pm
Location: Devon, UK
Contact:

Postby Biblin » Tue Oct 15, 2002 3:33 pm

History's full of silly quotes like the one from dear old Mr Gates.  I'm particularly fond of:-

"I see a world market for maybe 5 computers" - CEO IBM

Never Ever comment on the future if your famous, coz people like us will mock you for years on boards like this one
Signatures are for idiots.
User avatar
Punisher Bass
level5
level5
Posts: 1703
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2002 4:21 pm
Location: St. Louis MO
Contact:

Postby Punisher Bass » Wed Oct 16, 2002 1:52 am

Moore's Law- Computing power doubles every 12 to 18 months. There is no "top of the line" anymore. Everything is out of date or too slow the second it comes out.
Image
There is no patch for human stupidity.
Steg
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2002 8:40 pm
Location: In front of my computer
Contact:

Postby Steg » Thu Oct 17, 2002 9:42 pm

I came to the same conclusion as Stewsburntmonkey.
With the ever increasing size of programs, the industry decides to go replace binary (0,1) with the 'quad' (0,1,2,3) therefore 4 * 8 digits to a bit
Steg
Prowd owner of UT2003
Prowd owner of a 600Ghz Gateway
mrdeath
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 8:42 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby mrdeath » Sun Oct 27, 2002 4:35 pm

i think its like the same as Mb are 2 Kb 1000Kb=1 giga byte
Talesin
level4
level4
Posts: 875
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2001 4:15 am
Location: Burbank, CA, USA

Postby Talesin » Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:53 pm

Quick lesson in binary-base counting (what computers use):

It goes by powers of 2. 1GB is not 1000MB except to marketroids.
1TB == 1024GB
1GB == 1024MB
1MB == 1024KB
1KB == 1024B

Counting then progresses by factors of 2, on average. 512, 256, 128, 64, 32, 16, 8, 4, 2, 1, 0.

So it's possible to have 768MB RAM in your machine (a 512 stick and a 256 stick), but it's a LOT less likely that you'll have 700MB unless one of your chips has gone bad. Otherwise you'd need a 512, a 128, a 32, and a 16 stick.

What's being suggested is that instead of being a base-2 counting system, the lowest unit would be able to count 1-4 instead of 1-2 as it stands now.

Problem with that is that it's defined as a 'Gigaquad'. For that assumption to be correct, we'd have to transfer over on a whole to referencing Gigabits (as with LAN throughput ratings) rather than Gigabytes (System volatile/nonvolatile memory ratings).

(Edited by Talesin at 8:56 am on Oct. 27, 2002)
FinalDestination
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 10:29 am
Location: Buffalo, NY
Contact:

Postby FinalDestination » Wed Nov 06, 2002 10:34 am

gigaquads are based on quantum computing which should make its in the future. For more info go to http://www.qubit.org/
Stewsburntmonkey
level5
level5
Posts: 11553
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 7:44 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Postby Stewsburntmonkey » Wed Nov 06, 2002 2:23 pm

It may be a reference to quantum computing as well, but as far as I know the term quad has not been defined in quantum computing.  As for Talesin's comments the metric prefixes are misused as they are and are uniquely defined for bytes as it stands, and not even consistantly at that, and so there is little problem redefining the prefix for a base 4 system.  4^5 = 1024 so "Giga" could infact retain its meaning, or it could be scaled being used to represent 4^10.  Although this is all theoretical and does not much matter.  :)  
Dan Netwalker
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 8:29 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Dan Netwalker » Fri Nov 08, 2002 8:30 pm

IMHO, the machines in Uplink are 64Bit architecture, so instead of words, they use a quartet of bytes to code a cpu instruction. So, Gygaquad can be a Gyga of "quads" (1GQuad = 4 GBytes). A 20 GQ program measures 80 GB

(It's the most logical aproach I can see...)
...and God said "Let it be the light"... Login: God Passwd: omnipresent
Stanislav
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 5:22 pm

Postby Stanislav » Sat Nov 09, 2002 5:23 pm

Some reading for the oens more interested in powers of 2, and another example of the laziness of human beeings.

http://physics.nist.gov/cuu/Units/binary.html
Stewsburntmonkey
level5
level5
Posts: 11553
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 7:44 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Postby Stewsburntmonkey » Sat Nov 09, 2002 6:10 pm

I want to know who the idiot was who came up with gibibyte, mebibyte, kibibyte, and the rest of them?

Return to “The Full Game”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest