Demo speed problems

For problems with the game

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver, Punisher Bass

dunetrooper
level4
level4
Posts: 832
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 7:28 pm
Location: Middle of nowhere Wyoming.

Demo speed problems

Postby dunetrooper » Sun Aug 24, 2008 11:19 am

Ok, I was smart. I searched, and now that I found nothing I'm posting in the right section. Yay me!

Anyways, I'm at work, I got bored and downloaded the demo for defcon but it wouldn't start up for some reason figured it might be something on the office computer preventing me from running so didn't bother worrying. But that's not the problem, I downloaded the Uplink demo and it worked fine for about fifteen minutes where I clicked the high speed button and time stayed the same. Clicked the medium speed and it went faster but again when I clicked high speed no change. Don't know if anyone else noticed this but I never did in the full game I have at home.

Assuming just a demo bug, no big deal. Don't know about the darwinia demo though.
I wasn't here.
User avatar
frenchfrog
level5
level5
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Quebec

Postby frenchfrog » Sun Aug 24, 2008 3:06 pm

Do you play the Demo version 1.55? Does the computer is booted for more then ~32 days and you run an old version of windows? (yeah, for integer overflow in windows time counter)?

Windows version?
Quick hardware spec?
The Ultimate Uplink Guide (for any question on Uplink)
Latest Uplink Patch
dunetrooper
level4
level4
Posts: 832
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 7:28 pm
Location: Middle of nowhere Wyoming.

Postby dunetrooper » Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:17 am

I didn't realise there was a patch for the demo, I just played the one it downloaded 1.54... Might be the solution.

DXDIAG
------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 8/24/2008, 19:11:18
Machine name: ENAUS00040002
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.070227-2254)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
System Model: HP Compaq dc7600 Small Form Factor
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz (2 CPUs)
Memory: 1016MB RAM
Page File: 286MB used, 2153MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINNT
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode
I wasn't here.
User avatar
frenchfrog
level5
level5
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Quebec

Postby frenchfrog » Mon Aug 25, 2008 10:15 pm

That computer seems fine. If you are already playing demo 1.54 I doubt 1.55 would fix it but I guess it's worth a try.

Perhaps particular to the demo, it's been a while since the last time I heard about this problem.
dunetrooper
level4
level4
Posts: 832
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 7:28 pm
Location: Middle of nowhere Wyoming.

Postby dunetrooper » Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:32 am

Well it's no big deal really, my big complaint was the Darwinia demo :)
I wasn't here.

Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest