Cash generating exploit found

For problems with the game

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver, Punisher Bass

bamapookie
level1
level1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 3:28 pm

Cash generating exploit found

Postby bamapookie » Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:23 am

I found an exploit for generating cash involving the purchase of gateways. I won't reveal anything here, but if the devs wish to know, they can email/pm me.
User avatar
KingAl
level5
level5
Posts: 4138
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:42 am

Postby KingAl » Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:27 am

I presume it's to do with negatively priced gateways, an issue which has been known for a while. Ultimately, since it's a single player game, any use of an 'exploit' is just the player cheating themselves, so there's no utmost need for secrecy. Furthermore, the game is 6 years old, so while frenchfrog may get round to patching exploits, I wouldn't expect any haste.
Gentlemen, you can't fight in here: this is the War Room!
Ultimate Uplink Guide
Latest Patch
bamapookie
level1
level1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 3:28 pm

Postby bamapookie » Mon Aug 20, 2007 11:41 am

Not negatively priced gateways, but the effect is similar. Anyway, I concur with the rest of your post.
Yanlin
level1
level1
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 4:40 pm
Location: Israel

Postby Yanlin » Mon Aug 20, 2007 12:47 pm

i suppose it's the illusion you can keep buying the first gateway and the trinity back and forth until you are rich.

it doesn't work as far as i know. you are NOT getting a full refund.

and if you mean that you can download 0 priced gateways...

DUDE! THEY ARE MODDED GATEWAYS!

anyway, you don't need more power then the zion can provide... the triny is almost useless. the zion is the best gateway except the trinity. price way at least. if you have 3 turbo CPUs... do you need more power?

and the super computer... DO YOU NEED 24X200 power?
ImageImage
bamapookie
level1
level1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 3:28 pm

Postby bamapookie » Mon Aug 20, 2007 12:53 pm

No that's not it. I discovered it by accident, but I was able to generate additional funds. I won't post it publicly unless a mod says it's ok.

Edit: And it can be accomplished without modding or custom gateways.
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Mon Aug 20, 2007 12:56 pm

No one will care if you mention it so you may as well state the bug
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
Yanlin
level1
level1
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 4:40 pm
Location: Israel

Postby Yanlin » Mon Aug 20, 2007 1:02 pm

dude.

single player game. we can use cheats as much as we want. it's fine to post a bug! and exploit it! THIS IS FRIGGIN SINGLE PLAYER!
ImageImage

Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests