1.13b

For problems with the game

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver, Punisher Bass

User avatar
Babylon5
level5
level5
Posts: 1873
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:30 pm
Location: Stevenston, Ayrshire, Scotland
Contact:

1.13b

Postby Babylon5 » Fri Jun 09, 2006 5:54 pm

I tried using the IRC program in Uplink, and it crashed due to Norton wanting to know if I wanted to let Uplink access the internet.

Also, the graphics are fuxored. I'm running a widescreen laptop with 1280x800 resolution.
Image

No, I have NOT fixed my speakers.
User avatar
ScareyedHawk
level5
level5
Posts: 1154
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2003 10:14 pm
Location: Västerås, Sweden
Contact:

Postby ScareyedHawk » Fri Jun 09, 2006 9:16 pm

Solution:
DELETE NORTON.
User avatar
Azati Prime
level1
level1
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 4:45 am
Location: California
Contact:

Postby Azati Prime » Sat Jun 10, 2006 1:29 am

I don't know if it would fix your graphics problems but I agree. Get rid of Norton and use something better like AVG. I've scanned people's computers who had Norton and found hundreds of spyware and viruses.
User avatar
John
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 487
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2000 6:22 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby John » Sat Jun 10, 2006 1:16 pm

Please can you post a screenshot (or if that proves to be impossible, a real photo) of the corrupted graphics?
User avatar
Babylon5
level5
level5
Posts: 1873
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:30 pm
Location: Stevenston, Ayrshire, Scotland
Contact:

Postby Babylon5 » Sun Jun 11, 2006 2:58 am

Image

Also, I've found that ALT-TABing out of Uplink also distorts the graphics very badly.
Image



No, I have NOT fixed my speakers.
Hacker101
level3
level3
Posts: 298
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 4:46 am
Location: USA

Postby Hacker101 » Sun Jun 11, 2006 3:43 am

:O Wow! That looks really bad and distorted... Wierd.
User avatar
Azati Prime
level1
level1
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 4:45 am
Location: California
Contact:

Postby Azati Prime » Sun Jun 11, 2006 7:29 am

Huh, I've seen distortion on other things if my video card crashes and reboots.
JamesL
level1
level1
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 5:34 pm

Graphics distortion

Postby JamesL » Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:11 am

The problem has two probable causes. The textures loaded onto the graphics hardware were damaged whilst the game lost focus (I assume Norton did that). The background is also possibly not considered "dirty" by Uplink, and so is not regenerated.

There is currently no solution, except not to alt-tab or allow Norton to interrupt Uplink. These problems should not occur in windowed mode, since the rendering should be done in a way which avoids this corruption.

You could, at least, run windowed mode while you tell Norton to accept connections from Uplink.
User avatar
Babylon5
level5
level5
Posts: 1873
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:30 pm
Location: Stevenston, Ayrshire, Scotland
Contact:

Postby Babylon5 » Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:53 pm

Well, it seems to be okay with the 1.13c patch.
Image



No, I have NOT fixed my speakers.

Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests