Page 1 of 1

Game won't install

Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:25 pm
by blackmagic
i bought the game and it won't install im running win2000 and my error is Image


Please someone tell me whats wrong?

Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 10:11 pm
by Mr. Roboto
DOSX.EXE is a program for NT-based systems that helps them run older DOS/Windows programs. It enables DPMI (Dos Protected Mode Interface), though why a windows-based program needs it..... :?

The error simply means it cannot find DOSX.EXE where it expects it, the default location being C:\Windows\System32\. There are three possible solutions:
  1. Search your hard drive(s) for a copy of DOSX.EXE and copy it to C:\Windows\System32\.
  2. Edit Autoexec.nt so the line "lh %SystemRoot%\system32\dosx" points to the proper location. Autoexec.nt is a simple text file so you can edit it.
  3. Use your W2K install CD, if you have it, and just reinstall the missing DOSX.EXE.

Let us know if you need help with the last solution. The procedure to install a missing file from the install CD is somewhere on this forum.

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 1:35 am
by blackmagic
Use your W2K install CD, if you have it, and just reinstall the missing DOSX.EXE




i need to do this


How do i do it?

all i see in E:\WINNT\system32\ is doskey.exe LOL :P

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 2:11 am
by Mr. Roboto
blackmagic wrote:
Use your W2K install CD, if you have it, and just reinstall the missing DOSX.EXE




i need to do this


How do i?


OK then, first, put your windows CD in the drive, and open a msdos window ("run" in the start menu, then type "cmd"). At the prompt, type (where D is your CDROM):

expand D:\i386\dosx.ex_ c:\windows\system32\dosx.exe

I should point out that these instructions were originaly for Windows XP as opposed to 2000. Hopefully the 2K install CD will have the i386 directory on it as well, since it is also based on NT. You should also check the Windows directory itself since, sometimes, a 2K or XP install will put an i386 archive subdirectory there, making the CD unnecessary. If so, just change the D:\i386 to C:\WINDOWS\i386.

If not, let us know so someone who knows how to reinstall single files for W2K can give the proper instructions.

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 2:25 am
by blackmagic
lh %SystemRoot%\system32\dosx


you mean like?

lh %E:\WINNT\system32%\system32\dosx

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 2:44 am
by Mr. Roboto
blackmagic wrote:lh %SystemRoot%\system32\dosx


you mean like?

lh %E:\WINNT\system32%\system32\dosx

Actually, it should read E:\WINNT\system32\dosx
assuming E:\WINNT is where you installed W2K.

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 2:51 am
by blackmagic
NOT lh %SystemRoot%\system32\dosx

but lh %E:\WINNT\system32\dosx




@echo off

REM AUTOEXEC.BAT is not used to initialize the MS-DOS environment.
REM AUTOEXEC.NT is used to initialize the MS-DOS environment unless a
REM different startup file is specified in an application's PIF.

REM Install CD ROM extensions
lh %SystemRoot%\system32\mscdexnt.exe

REM Install network redirector (load before dosx.exe)
lh %SystemRoot%\system32\redir

REM Install DPMI support
lh %SystemRoot%\system32\dosx



thats whats in the file

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:16 am
by Banker
% is a part of Systemroot..
%Systemroot% is a "shortcut" so to speak for your system directory, so dos can find it.. Type it in a dos prompt and you'll see, your system directory will show itself.

You cant however put % before a file path, it only works with those special "shortcuts" (I lack a better name for it sorry)
A few others are %date% and %path%...

So it would be;
lh E:\WINNT\system32\dosx

Just one thing though, is "lh" some uplink program or something?
Cause it is not a recognised dos command..

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:44 am
by blackmagic
REM Install CD ROM extensions
lh %SystemRoot%\system32\mscdexnt.exe

REM Install network redirector (load before dosx.exe)
lh %SystemRoot%\system32\redir

REM Install DPMI support
lh E:\WINNT\system32\dosx


still got error :cry:

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 10:34 pm
by Mr. Roboto
Banker wrote:...Just one thing though, is "lh" some uplink program or something?
Cause it is not a recognised dos command..


"lh" is an old DOS 6.x batch file command that remains primarily for compatibility. It means "load high," load a TSR into high memory. It's mostly used in pre-NT autoexec.bat files to free conventional memory.

Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 12:39 am
by blackmagic
REM Install CD ROM extensions
lh %SystemRoot%\system32\mscdexnt.exe

REM Install network redirector (load before dosx.exe)
lh %SystemRoot%\system32\redir

REM Install DPMI support
lh E:\WINNT\system32\dosx



I did what you said and still got error


Please Help :?:

Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 2:16 am
by Mr. Roboto
blackmagic wrote:REM Install CD ROM extensions
lh %SystemRoot%\system32\mscdexnt.exe

REM Install network redirector (load before dosx.exe)
lh %SystemRoot%\system32\redir

REM Install DPMI support
lh E:\WINNT\system32\dosx



I did what you said and still got error


Please Help :?:


Same error, still? Or a new error?