A lot of bugs...

For problems with the game

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver, Punisher Bass

Eleizer
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 4:42 pm

Postby Eleizer » Mon Mar 15, 2004 4:45 pm

When I try to add criminal records to admin on Global Criminal Database I get out of the game because of the error... Also, can't get past 30.april 5:15?!?!?! Always some kind of error...
When I make someone to get arrested he answers his phone in the future as like he is still free... Some servers don't have passwords at all... Many more bugs...
All of them under XP (Could test 98 but was too lazy). I'll now start playing it under linux to see if it is the same situation.
Blasted heath
level5
level5
Posts: 1292
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 2:29 pm
Location: Scotland ©
Contact:

Postby Blasted heath » Mon Mar 15, 2004 5:18 pm

Are you using v1.31? If not you can get the patch at http://www.introversion.co.uk/uplink/otherfiles.html

Also, please post the content of your debug.log file here. :)

The phone thing is well known and is repaired in some mods. When you say servers without passwords do you mean public access servers?

(Edited by Blasted heath at 4:20 pm on Mar. 15, 2004)
Blasted heath
Darksun
level5
level5
Posts: 6461
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 7:08 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby Darksun » Mon Mar 15, 2004 10:25 pm

And make sure you use a v1.31 user under v1.31
Eleizer
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 4:42 pm

Postby Eleizer » Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:48 pm

This is when it gets out of the game after 30.april:

===============================================
NEW GAME     3:1, 15/3/2004
===============================================
Version : 1.31
RELEASE
Win32 Build
Version 1.31 (RELEASE)
Compiled on Sep  9 2002 at 16:53:38
(code-C)(code-M)(code-T)
Loading uplink options from C:\Uplink\uplink\users/options...success

Successfully loaded data archive data.dat
Successfully loaded data archive graphics.dat
Successfully loaded data archive loading.dat
Successfully loaded data archive sounds.dat
Successfully loaded data archive music.dat
Successfully loaded data archive fonts.dat
Successfully loaded data archive patch.dat
Loading profile from C:\Uplink\uplink\users/Eleizer.usr...success
Loading LAN from data/lans/sample.txt...[Already Loaded]
Saving profile to C:\Uplink\uplink\users/Eleizer.usr...success

An Uplink Assertion Failure has occured
=======================================
Condition : target
Location  : C:\Development\Uplink\source\world\generator\secure\plotgenerator-sc.cpp, line 6753
============== B E G I N  C O R E  D U M P =================
retAddress = 004CCCD3
============== E N D  C O R E  D U M P =====================


This is (i think) when it gets out of the game because of the GCD's admin GCD profile editing:
=======================
actually, can't find that one :)
=======================

As you can see, version is 1.31 but to be honest user is not but... wtf?! I have to play it all from the scratch?
Under Mandrake 9.0 it does not work without the patch ;)

Anyway, these are those which I can remember now.
About server, some server (just can't remember which one) has no password. It's not some companies server but I think it's government or something. I don't know if this is bug or what but it sucks...
User avatar
NeoThermic
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 6254
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 10:55 am
Location: ::1
Contact:

Postby NeoThermic » Tue Mar 16, 2004 9:30 pm

Due to the way that user files are created, you do have to start a new user, or all the world data is still from the old game.
That means that you can't access the better aspecs of the new game, things such as LAN's, and a multiplex of bugfixes.


NeoThermic
Darksun
level5
level5
Posts: 6461
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 7:08 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby Darksun » Tue Mar 16, 2004 10:27 pm

And it will cause a crash at certain storyline events, so yes, you'll have to start a new user
BlueScreen
level2
level2
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 11:53 am
Contact:

Postby BlueScreen » Thu Mar 18, 2004 3:46 am

if the server is the one i am thinking of, (i remember the name), you can sit there with the password cracker all day and not find the password,
this IS meant to happen, read/search the forums for the possible passwords to the server,
Since we cannot know all that there is to be known about anything, we ought to know a little about everything.  Blaise Pascal (1623 - 1662)
<damn 255 char sig limit>

Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest