No missions/storyline?!

Anything and Everything about Uplink

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver

alextarbox
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:15 pm

No missions/storyline?!

Postby alextarbox » Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:18 pm

I played Uplink years ago and it worked great, but decided to get back into it again, since I never finished the whole thing anyways...installed it, updated to v1.54 (previously was using v1.3x)...started it up, logged in with a new agent profile, did the test mission to see if anything had really changed or not and to refresh myself...and then, well nothing...i fast forwarded time, waited for i dont know how long..and nothing! i'm not getting any emails about missions or anything at all! :evil:
orillian
level4
level4
Posts: 585
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 8:41 pm

Postby orillian » Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:09 pm

by missions do you mean just random hacking jobs or storyline missions?
User avatar
mr_anonymous
level3
level3
Posts: 461
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:06 am
Location: unknown

Postby mr_anonymous » Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:17 pm

I am really confused about what you actually did. For instance, from your description, I see no indication that you actually tried to connect to the Uplink Internal Service Server or read the Mission BBS (that is where missions will be listed). Could you, perhaps, provide a step-by-step list of the things that you have done? Include mundane details like "I connected to the Uplink ISS and checked the Mission BBS. There were no missions listed."
Image
alextarbox
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:15 pm

Postby alextarbox » Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:22 pm

both, since then however i reinstalled the whole thing and tried again to see if it made a bit of a difference and i can access the storyline missions now but still havnt seen any random missions yet, but im gonna do some more storyline missions and see if i get any random hacking jobs in the meantime :roll:
orillian
level4
level4
Posts: 585
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 8:41 pm

Postby orillian » Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:25 pm

seriously, what are you doing, are you connecting to the uplink ISS?
Mas Tnega
level5
level5
Posts: 7898
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 11:54 pm
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Postby Mas Tnega » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:30 pm

Did you remember to send the e-mail for the test mission? You actually have to complete the test mission to get a high enough rank to get missions.
User avatar
mr_anonymous
level3
level3
Posts: 461
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:06 am
Location: unknown

Postby mr_anonymous » Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:53 am

mr_anonymous wrote:I am really confused about what you actually did. For instance, from your description, I see no indication that you actually tried to connect to the Uplink Internal Service Server or read the Mission BBS (that is where missions will be listed). Could you, perhaps, provide a step-by-step list of the things that you have done? Include mundane details like "I connected to the Uplink ISS and checked the Mission BBS. There were no missions listed."

Are you incapable of following directions? Tell us what you have done, or don't expect help. We are not telepathic, and cannot read your mind.
Image

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests