Game Over

Anything and Everything about Uplink

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver

chaz13
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 8:30 pm

Game Over

Postby chaz13 » Thu Mar 08, 2007 8:44 pm

Hey,

I was REALLY far through, and i got caught because of my little brother when i left the room. IS THERE ANY WAY WHATSOEVER TO GET MY USER BACK? Please people, i'm begging you! i can't afford to spend god knows how many hours getting back to where is was! PLEASE!
Rkiver
level5
level5
Posts: 6405
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 10:39 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Postby Rkiver » Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:43 pm

Get over it and start a new user. Seriously. Not that hard.
Uplink help: Read the FAQ
ArekRashan
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 3:24 am

Postby ArekRashan » Thu Mar 08, 2007 10:12 pm

No. There is no way to restore a disavowed Agent. Uplink uses a "do-or-die" or "ironman" style save system. When Uplink shows you a "Game Over" screen it has deleted all of the save data for that Agent.

In the future, you may want to make a backup of your save file any time you reach a point you might want to start over from.
Apa7HY
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 4:03 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Postby Apa7HY » Fri Mar 09, 2007 3:35 pm

ArekRashan wrote:No. There is no way to restore a disavowed Agent. Uplink uses a "do-or-die" or "ironman" style save system. When Uplink shows you a "Game Over" screen it has deleted all of the save data for that Agent.

In the future, you may want to make a backup of your save file any time you reach a point you might want to start over from.


Wrong. It does NOT delete save data.
User avatar
frenchfrog
level5
level5
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Quebec

Postby frenchfrog » Fri Mar 09, 2007 3:57 pm

It, does.
The Ultimate Uplink Guide (for any question on Uplink)
Latest Uplink Patch
Anjow
level0
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 12:32 am

Postby Anjow » Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:11 pm

It does...

The .usr file from a functioning healthy agent will have a filesize of ~1.2MB-1.5MB and when you get disavowed it will go down to ~500 bytes.
User avatar
mr_anonymous
level3
level3
Posts: 461
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:06 am
Location: unknown

Postby mr_anonymous » Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:20 pm

Apa7HY wrote:
ArekRashan wrote:No. There is no way to restore a disavowed Agent. Uplink uses a "do-or-die" or "ironman" style save system. When Uplink shows you a "Game Over" screen it has deleted all of the save data for that Agent.

In the future, you may want to make a backup of your save file any time you reach a point you might want to start over from.


Wrong. It does NOT delete save data.

Oh, please, PLEASE tell frenchfrog that he is wrong. Please? That would make my day!
Image

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests