Making my OWN uplink

Anything and Everything about Uplink

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver

Gamez4Free
level1
level1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:43 pm

Postby Gamez4Free » Sun Mar 12, 2006 10:14 pm

Well yea... :roll: :lol: :oops:

Well all profit will go to introversion anyway.
Deepsmeg
level5
level5
Posts: 6510
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:26 pm
Location: Register 2102
Contact:

Postby Deepsmeg » Sun Mar 12, 2006 11:44 pm

How can there be profit from a free thing?
Image
vooshy
level2
level2
Posts: 225
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 8:45 pm
Contact:

Postby vooshy » Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:37 am

Sylph-DS wrote:There's no way of stopping it from being played by people with a warezed version of Uplink..


aww im sure his heart was in the right place when he thought about it, although one way would be to not allow .txt or .nfo files to run while uplink is running. But that might lead to a wave of printer burglaries from warez people.
FTR123
level2
level2
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:33 am

Postby FTR123 » Mon Mar 13, 2006 2:38 am

why not create a code to start the installation. that´s a better idea maybe. :?
Go Visit My first Website
www.freewebs.com/dolphin_2
User avatar
D3adKl0wn
level2
level2
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 7:35 am
Location: Close Enough...
Contact:

Postby D3adKl0wn » Mon Mar 13, 2006 4:26 am

FTR123 wrote:why not create a code to start the installation. that´s a better idea maybe. :?


OR, since from what i can gather, he's going to be using the DEV CD for most, if not all, of the program... why not just make a really good MOD and that way there is no problem with the codes because you'd need them to play anyways... :?
vooshy wrote:although one way would be to not allow .txt or .nfo files to run while uplink is running.


what would that solve? even if they couldn't look at the code until they shut down uplink, what's to stop them from writing it out on paper, or printing it.? :wink: :?
Image
vooshy
level2
level2
Posts: 225
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 8:45 pm
Contact:

Postby vooshy » Mon Mar 13, 2006 11:02 am

Hence the printer burglaries, i know my effort was rubbish.
Darksun
level5
level5
Posts: 6461
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 7:08 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby Darksun » Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:41 pm

You can't redistribute and of the original content like graphics, sounds etc. Anything you make with the DevDisk has to work only with an original install of Uplink. Just adding the codecard screen isn't enough.
User avatar
Gravitron
level3
level3
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 7:31 pm
Location: Isra(H)el
Contact:

Postby Gravitron » Mon Mar 13, 2006 4:31 pm

Printer Burglaries...

[snort]
iGAME...on the PC
Image
Image
Image
Gamez4Free
level1
level1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:43 pm

Postby Gamez4Free » Mon Mar 13, 2006 8:02 pm

Well all graphics will be different.

It will be a separate game, but because you will need to key card means only original uplink owners can play it.

Which means Introversion still gets money for their original work.
User avatar
Babylon5
level5
level5
Posts: 1873
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:30 pm
Location: Stevenston, Ayrshire, Scotland
Contact:

Postby Babylon5 » Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:42 pm

Gamez4Free wrote:Well only people who have the keycard can play. And those are the people that have the original uplink.


You said you would have to do away with the keycard system.
Image

No, I have NOT fixed my speakers.
Gamez4Free
level1
level1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:43 pm

Postby Gamez4Free » Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:32 pm

Ive changed my mind.
User avatar
D3adKl0wn
level2
level2
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 7:35 am
Location: Close Enough...
Contact:

Postby D3adKl0wn » Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:05 pm

well, instead of changing your mind, why don't you just go ahead and make a new mod for uplink using some of the ideas that you had. I mean, everyone here has to admit that the game has gotten quite stale, and theres only so many times you can do the story missions...

As it sits, there are very few really good mods out for this game, the only ones that i've bothered to even use have been the FBI mod and Simply uplink (the latter purely due to the map enhancements and the saving of the connection routes). I've never even gotten to try Onlink because it seems that it's too buggy, and crashes on me all the time..

I'm sure that you had good intentions when you said that you were going to make your own uplink, but in reality, what everyone has said here about no being able to use the source to make a stand alone game is true. But that shouldn't stop you from making a kick ass mod if you put the time into it.

so in short... don't give up on the idea of changing uplink completely, just take it in another direction... you can't release your own game based on their code, so why not just improve upon their game and give all of the old vets something new to do...lol
Image
Ozymandias IV
level4
level4
Posts: 907
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: New York City
Contact:

Postby Ozymandias IV » Tue Mar 14, 2006 10:41 pm

You'll have to excuse us for being skeptical. We've seen countless numbers of people saying that they were going to make a game similar to Uplink, or Uplink 2, or Uplink Online or whatever, but most fail.
vooshy
level2
level2
Posts: 225
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 8:45 pm
Contact:

Postby vooshy » Wed Mar 15, 2006 2:08 am

remember also that you should use skepticism to your advantage as it is the best reason to complete a project.
User avatar
Babylon5
level5
level5
Posts: 1873
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:30 pm
Location: Stevenston, Ayrshire, Scotland
Contact:

Postby Babylon5 » Wed Mar 15, 2006 6:32 pm

Or, ignore all comments/ideas, and code away!
Image



No, I have NOT fixed my speakers.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests