Page 1 of 1

Hello

Posted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:16 pm
by newwen
Greetings,

How are we all doing today? Well, I've visited this site a number of times, and just recently decided to sign up due to the bugs that have. But we'll get to those.

I have read almost every new thread as soon as it comes up, had a couple of good laughs, and I agree with most of the people out there. I just want to say, Rkiver, you're cool and all, you make some good points, but you know sometimes you seem to be a real pain in the ass. No offense meant.

But back to the point. Just last week, I was "organizing" my desk, and I pulled out a semi dusty copy of Uplink. I went around, got the latest patch and some new mods, reinstalled it, started a new user and was playing for hours on end.

That's when it hit. The first issue is I was hacking a lan, when I tried to go to a system it wouldn't let me connect. I figured it might be a lock or something, but I went everywhere else and there's nothing else to go to. Behind the console there is a lock that unlocks the main server and I can't get in because it won't let me past it.

Another problem is that I have four or five emails that I have completed the missions for, but when I try to reply, it doesn't do a darn thing. I wait for the entire thing to appear then hit send, wait for at least two minutes and nothing happens. Not even a reply saying that I haven't done it yet. I'm really hoping I can solve this cause there's at least half a million worth of missions there.

So again I'd like to say, and I hope I can be of use here.

David

Posted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:17 pm
by Darksun
There is a bug whereby none storyline missions from ARC or Arunmor don't work.

Posted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:21 pm
by newwen
The thing is that these are just regular missions from regular companies. Copying secure databases, trace a hacker, destroy a computer system, that kind of things.

Posted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:48 pm
by Ozymandias IV
Mac or PC? I have that LAN problem occasionaly with my Mac.

Posted: Wed Oct 20, 2004 4:25 pm
by newwen
Sorry it took so long, I am using PC with Microsoft Windows XP.

It's a brand new computer with pretty good specs, I don't know why.

Posted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 4:08 pm
by Agent Zerro
Well, on Windows XP Uplink is known to have some problems.

Re: Hello

Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 11:51 pm
by FrostShard
newwen wrote:Another problem is that I have four or five emails that I have completed the missions for, but when I try to reply, it doesn't do a darn thing. I wait for the entire thing to appear then hit send, wait for at least two minutes and nothing happens. Not even a reply saying that I haven't done it yet. I'm really hoping I can solve this cause there's at least half a million worth of missions there.


Aren't there some missions that, for some reason, you can't get payed for until a certain date? Usually if you wait till you get to the next mission in the storyline, then reply, you should get somewhere. At least, in my experience. Hope that helped.

Oh, and welcome to the forums.

Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 12:05 am
by Quantum Particle
FABOT:

Federation
Against
Bumping
Old
Topics

Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 12:24 am
by FrostShard
Orange Old People... Sorry! Do Arabian Monkeys Mate In Toilets?

O
O
P
S
D
A
M
M
I
T

Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 12:28 am
by poortwistedme
Quantum Particle wrote:FABOT:

Federation
Against
Bumping
Old
Topics

QYW:

Quit
Your
Whining

Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 2:31 am
by Adam Black
Just over a week is an old topic? Fie on you, fie I say.

Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 4:22 pm
by ODDin
Well, in the General forum - sure. :P

Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 4:27 pm
by newwen
Sorry to say, but it's funny how there's all this talk about bumping the topic, and I'm still stuck with the problems I stated in my first post. I ditched the lan, started a new user, and the problem is still there, same mission same lan, but now I only have two e-mails that won't send.

Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 6:32 pm
by FrostShard
Have you tried the waiting thing? Not wanting to sound whiny, but you didn't say whether you did or not.

Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 8:23 pm
by newwen
Yes, I have let them sit there for months on end and still nothing.

I decided to live with it cause it's more than likely a bug that can't be fixed and abandoned them, but boosted my rating back by hacking banks.

Thanks anyways guys.