anyone understand cd-rws?

Anything and Everything about Uplink

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver

pcgfx805
level2
level2
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:36 am

Postby pcgfx805 » Sat Nov 22, 2003 7:37 pm

since it said anything,
i got a new pc and it's got a cd-rw. I have had one before and no how to use it. But i bought new cd-rws for £13 but my pc says that theres no memory available or used. Now i cant burn the cd at all please help.
Darksun
level5
level5
Posts: 6461
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 7:08 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby Darksun » Sat Nov 22, 2003 7:39 pm

I know you can format CD-RW's, so try that, although you don't usually have to do it before use

It's also possible that the disks are defective, in which case I'd suggest taking them back to the store
pcgfx805
level2
level2
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:36 am

Postby pcgfx805 » Sat Nov 22, 2003 7:41 pm

it cant as it doesnt realy detect the disc at all.
Darksun
level5
level5
Posts: 6461
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 7:08 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby Darksun » Sat Nov 22, 2003 7:43 pm

In that case I'm not sure, the problem may be either faulty disks or a faulty cd-rw drive. Can the drive read normal disks, or write to CD-R's?
pcgfx805
level2
level2
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:36 am

Postby pcgfx805 » Sat Nov 22, 2003 7:44 pm

it reads all other game discs and my laptop can read eveyone of the discs that dont work on the pc
hackerboy
level2
level2
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2003 4:22 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby hackerboy » Sat Nov 22, 2003 7:45 pm

Are you sure that you have the disk in your CD-RW drive?

Other than that, you might try getting a high-quality cd that you know is good.  Something like TDK, that's what I use.  
    Friends don't let friends post spam.
pcgfx805
level2
level2
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:36 am

Postby pcgfx805 » Sat Nov 22, 2003 7:47 pm

belive me, the disc is high quality! it cost me £13 for 5. they are 'highspeed 4~12x multispeed
pcgfx805
level2
level2
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:36 am

Postby pcgfx805 » Sat Nov 22, 2003 7:49 pm

ah, it also says can be recorded only on high speed recorders. but it is a high speed recorder. and i only need to read it.
Adriac
level5
level5
Posts: 3504
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2002 7:20 am

Postby Adriac » Sat Nov 22, 2003 8:01 pm

May be a problem with formatting... I had a problem a few years back with a certain brand of CD-R from a certain computer i couldn't read with another brand of CD-R. I would look into what wossname the disks are, and what your drive supports.

I would be surprised if that were still a problem though...
00010001000100000000101100010111000 10110000100010001100001011111000101 10000100100000111100010000000011010 0001011000111100001000100001011
User avatar
NeoThermic
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 6254
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 10:55 am
Location: ::1
Contact:

Postby NeoThermic » Sat Nov 22, 2003 8:53 pm

What program are you using to write to the disks?

Are you sure that you even have a CD-RW drive?
NeoThermic
BeC
level2
level2
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 7:27 pm
Location: .fi

Postby BeC » Sat Nov 22, 2003 9:16 pm

Try to enable DMA (direct memory access)... You can find it under 'System' in the control panel (I think it's under the IDE devices).

This solved the problem when my CD-RW got out of memory and it took over 20min to write a cd (normally it takes ~3min).
"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers..."
- Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM 1943
My second home: http://www.sebastian.laxell.com
pcgfx805
level2
level2
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:36 am

Postby pcgfx805 » Sun Nov 23, 2003 12:03 pm

i dont understand. My pc is a windows xp and the cd-rw is a atapi
pcgfx805
level2
level2
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:36 am

Postby pcgfx805 » Sun Nov 23, 2003 12:11 pm

okay ive done it but it still says 0 bytes free and 0 bytes used.
Any ideas?

(Edited by pcgfx805 at 11:15 am on Nov. 23, 2003)
pcgfx805
level2
level2
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:36 am

Postby pcgfx805 » Sun Nov 23, 2003 6:32 pm

does no one know!?!?
User avatar
NeoThermic
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 6254
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 10:55 am
Location: ::1
Contact:

Postby NeoThermic » Sun Nov 23, 2003 8:42 pm

What program are you using to produce the CD's?

NeoThermic

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests