Read/Write  access

Anything and Everything about Uplink

Moderators: jelco, bert_the_turtle, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver

Dane
level0
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 11:39 am

Postby Dane » Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:06 pm

When you connect via read/write you dont get traced, if you bypass the monitor, take the Global criminal database, you log in with read/write, after taking all the missions you can find, with framing people for computer crimes and the other missions that requries you to connect to the GCDB, now you just start changing names, without being traced, lots of cash in it, but isnt it just to easy? 10+ missions, 1 login, no trace and around 200000 cash.
SSHack
level4
level4
Posts: 584
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2002 7:16 pm

Postby SSHack » Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:09 pm

Interesting method, but I prefer the ADMIN log-in.
You get more excitement when you are being traced.
"I am a hacker, and this is my manifesto. You may stop this individual, but you can't stop us all... After all, we're all alike." ----Awards:---- ||Grow Up! by Deepsmeg ||Qu
User avatar
Iris
level5
level5
Posts: 2423
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 6:15 am
Location: Land of the Morning Calm

Postby Iris » Fri Jul 25, 2003 1:22 pm

yes, but then if you want to upgrade your equipment much faster without the hassle, and get more challenging missions, i'd go with Dane's idea.
Image
Adriac
level5
level5
Posts: 3504
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2002 7:20 am

Postby Adriac » Fri Jul 25, 2003 2:01 pm

I don't think any of the real veterans would contest the fact that most of Uplink is too easy :) None of the stuff is as hard as it seems to n00bs.
00010001000100000000101100010111000 10110000100010001100001011111000101 10000100100000111100010000000011010 0001011000111100001000100001011
User avatar
Starfyre
level5
level5
Posts: 3247
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: in the tree house

Postby Starfyre » Fri Jul 25, 2003 2:08 pm

Does read/write give you log access?
Tuxedo Penguin
level2
level2
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Gloucester, NC.  USA
Contact:

Postby Tuxedo Penguin » Fri Jul 25, 2003 6:56 pm

Nope.  Not at all.  You'll still have to remove the logs of a machine on your bounce route.  *Thank you InterNIC!*

(Edited by Tuxedo Penguin at 6:56 pm on July 25, 2003)
"Our galaxy is tens of trillions of miles across, and surrounding it are countless galaxies of comparable size. All the cosmos that we have mapped out are only a grain of sand on a neverending beach. The universe extends infinitely beyond what your brain
NVShacker
level2
level2
Posts: 201
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: Lost in your eyes.

Postby NVShacker » Fri Jul 25, 2003 7:42 pm

*BING*
You, sir, just gave me a mod idea.
Byebye Internic.
If you laughed even once at this post without giving money to me, then your a thief.--NVShacker    Oooh. You didn't laugh?
Laugh at my profile then. I DARE you.
http://uplink.stewsburntmonkey.com/profile.php?NVShacker
AnthonyS
level5
level5
Posts: 1943
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 7:32 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
Contact:

Postby AnthonyS » Fri Jul 25, 2003 8:30 pm

You don't need a mod for that: You can remove InterNIC from the map in version 1.01, thus ending the game :)
User avatar
Luigi300
level5
level5
Posts: 1615
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 2:08 pm
Location: :noitacoL
Contact:

Postby Luigi300 » Fri Jul 25, 2003 8:32 pm

I did that once, it sucked :/
Luigi for mod in 2006!
Deepsmeg
level5
level5
Posts: 6510
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:26 pm
Location: Register 2102
Contact:

Postby Deepsmeg » Fri Jul 25, 2003 8:46 pm

as do you

Oh, and yanno that thread about all your last posts... Here's my reply:
Image
Image
Foxman
level2
level2
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2002 12:50 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby Foxman » Sat Jul 26, 2003 1:50 am

If you take out InterNIC, what do you do when you need to find a public access server (voice analysis) or an internal services server (mainframe bounce)?

EDIT: Here's an interesting idea, though - make voice analysis passwords non-standard! 'I am the system administrator. My voice is my passport. Verify me." just doesn't make sense. Why not add slightly innovative passwords like, I don't know, "TK-421! Do you copy?", "A stitch in time saves nine", or even singing the first part of Carmina Burana (O fortuna, velut luna, etc. etc.) Since it would be logically impossible to crack the password by brute force,  you'd have to find it - maybe within the sysadmin's own PC!

(Edited by Foxman at 1:55 am on July 26, 2003)
"The trouble with the gene pool is that there's no lifeguard."
54727573742069732061207765616B6E657373202D206275742063616E2
04920626F72726F7720736F6D65206D6F6E657920616E797761793F
Virulent Virus
level4
level4
Posts: 517
Joined: Sun May 12, 2002 1:21 pm

Postby Virulent Virus » Sat Jul 26, 2003 10:59 pm

Good Idea. No really! it was good. :). next time, post in the right forum to have more chance of getting noticed. Not that it wasnt good here, but...... ill quit while im ahead.



*raises his head and sees the other vets sniggering

...bugger......
This is not a signature.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests