can you hack into a comp and steal a program off it??

Anything and Everything about Uplink

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver

Hydralore
level2
level2
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:20 pm

Postby Hydralore » Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:51 pm

can you hack into a  computer and steal a program off it?if you can how do you know its a program?
[i]Hyd[i][b]ral[b][i]ore[i]
Stewsburntmonkey
level5
level5
Posts: 11553
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 7:44 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Postby Stewsburntmonkey » Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:54 pm

There are only a couple of computers that have programs on them, but you can steal those if you want.  Most of the time it is obvious they are programs (you are either told it is a program or it says it is).  :)
Hydralore
level2
level2
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:20 pm

Postby Hydralore » Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:55 pm

is it programs you can buy or others?
[i]Hyd[i][b]ral[b][i]ore[i]
Stewsburntmonkey
level5
level5
Posts: 11553
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 7:44 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Postby Stewsburntmonkey » Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:56 pm

Others.  :)
User avatar
xyzyxx
level5
level5
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Postby xyzyxx » Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:56 pm

You can download programs, and here's how you can tell it's a program: Programs on your data banks are red. Data files are green.

An example is Revelation_Tracker, which you hack into Arunmor's File Server to obtain. This is a runnable program.

Although... I downloaded "Sample program" from the uplink test machine and it was red, but I couldn't run it, even from the program menu. I thought that was weird.
Some people talk because they have something to say. Others talk because they have to say something.
Hydralore
level2
level2
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:20 pm

Postby Hydralore » Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:57 pm

yer but you will have to download all the files wont you?
[i]Hyd[i][b]ral[b][i]ore[i]
Stewsburntmonkey
level5
level5
Posts: 11553
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 7:44 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Postby Stewsburntmonkey » Wed Jul 16, 2003 5:00 pm

No.  Just the program files, except in one case the program is a special viewer and you need the data files to view.  :)


Edit: Damn homonyms

(Edited by Stewsburntmonkey at 11:03 am on July 16, 2003)
Hydralore
level2
level2
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:20 pm

Postby Hydralore » Wed Jul 16, 2003 5:01 pm

o right thanx
[i]Hyd[i][b]ral[b][i]ore[i]
Sym33
level2
level2
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:09 pm

Postby Sym33 » Wed Jul 16, 2003 5:27 pm

You can run programs that you cant run on other computers though, like you can run the uplink sample program through the console.
Hydralore
level2
level2
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:20 pm

Postby Hydralore » Wed Jul 16, 2003 5:30 pm

whats on it?
[i]Hyd[i][b]ral[b][i]ore[i]
Sym33
level2
level2
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:09 pm

Postby Sym33 » Wed Jul 16, 2003 5:31 pm

Run it and see ;)

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests