AMD Athlon vs Intel Pentium

Anything and Everything about Uplink

Moderators: jelco, bert_the_turtle, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver

TheOnyx
level2
level2
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2002 10:36 pm
Contact:

Postby TheOnyx » Mon Feb 25, 2002 9:56 pm

AMD > Intel > Cyrix > TI-89 > Pocket Calculator > Abacus > Fingers.

Nah, I think you lose, PsychoBob. ;)
Do not hold strong opinions about things you do not understand.
Jabberwocky
level3
level3
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2001 12:23 am

Postby Jabberwocky » Mon Feb 25, 2002 10:18 pm

AMD chips are picees of trash. Do I use them? Sure. They're pieces of trash though. I'd rather have a PIV any day of the week, but I dont. The next boxen I build will probably be a PIV.
There is always free cheese in a mousetrap.
The Puppet
level1
level1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2002 9:33 pm
Location: England

Postby The Puppet » Mon Feb 25, 2002 11:59 pm

Athlon |20x0|2Z!!!
I am The Puppet. Feel my wrath!
Daedalus0101101
level1
level1
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2002 2:59 am
Location: ((UNKNOWN))
Contact:

Postby Daedalus0101101 » Tue Feb 26, 2002 12:13 am

I haven't heard, or read the words 8088 in years.  I am the proud to say that I own an Athlon 1 GHz.  I would take AMD anyday over Intel.  I had a P-III but it burned up after 3 days.  And Yes I had a cooling fan.  It was for a P-III 1.2 GHz proc, and mine was a 900MHz. I also own a AMD K-6-2 500 MHz
:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:
TheDuke
level3
level3
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 6:10 pm
Location: USA

Postby TheDuke » Tue Feb 26, 2002 12:21 am

My ownership history of CPUs:

1.) 8-bit 80C85 2.4Mhz (Radio Shack TRS-80 Model 100 from 1983)
2.) Cyrix 6x86 PR200+ (150 Mhz) on generic mainboard
3.) AMD K6-2 350 Mhz on TYAN mainboard
4.) AMD K6-2 450 Mhz on DFI mainboard
5.) AMD K6-2 550 Mhz on Gigabyte mainboard
6.) AMD Athlon 550 Mhz (Orignal Slot A style) on FIC mainboard
7.) AMD Palmino PR1600+ (1.4 Ghz) on Gigabyte mainboard

None of these has ever failed me.
I still have them all, and they all still work.
Chad Mulligan
level2
level2
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2002 4:56 am
Location: Mountain View, CA

Postby Chad Mulligan » Tue Feb 26, 2002 2:39 am

Heh.   Hrm.  I've used...

...an IBM PCjr (w/ memory enhanced to 128K :)), which (still functional) was given away a few years ago, and apparently appreciated despite its incredible obsolesence.

...an Epson Equity AT-class machine -- a fast one, w/ a 12MHz clock speed... given away.

...a 90 MHz Pentium I, still functional, and unusually buffed with 80MB of RAM.

...a 450 MHz Pentium II, still functional, and what I use today, with a fairly obscene 384 MB (obscene in that I rarely need anywhere near that much *shrug*).  I figure I might replace it in August or so, which would be its 4-year mark.


As for CPUs, IA-64 has the potential to be a really good architecture; there's a lot of coolness involved in terms of parallelism, predicated instructions, speculative execution and much less limited, far saner register handling.  Compiler writers have their jobs cut out for them, 'tho, and I'm not exactly budgeting for an Itanium or McKinley machine yet.  The IA-64 development cycle is still in its infancy.
"I tell you three times..."
solidox
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2002 9:32 pm

Postby solidox » Tue Feb 26, 2002 2:50 am

had a bbc micro (fear chuckie egg), atari st (fear elite), 15mhz 386 laptop (fear wilf2), 20mhz 386 desktop (fear frontier: elite2), amd k6 200mhz (fear quake2), amd k6-2 500mhz (fear q3), still waiting for an athlon :\
i had a cyrix 333 somewhere along the line which i used to make toast (very small bits of toast... more like croutons) i've got an AMD 287 co-processor lying around somewhere. i plan never to buy an intel chip, amd all the way.
IRC: irc.cocytusuk.org / #cocytusuk
zoooooooooooom
lljk
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2001 5:23 pm

Postby lljk » Tue Feb 26, 2002 2:54 am

Adriac
level5
level5
Posts: 3504
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2002 7:20 am

Postby Adriac » Tue Feb 26, 2002 2:57 am

"Working on a circuit that runs at 200 GHz..."

The future is now!
00010001000100000000101100010111000 10110000100010001100001011111000101 10000100100000111100010000000011010 0001011000111100001000100001011
solidox
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2002 9:32 pm

Postby solidox » Tue Feb 26, 2002 3:07 am

http://www.sun.com/servers/highend/sunfire15k
now that's what i want... 106 900mhz ultrasparcIII cpu's (96ghz)
1/2TB ram... way too much diskspace... yum
and all for only $4,000,000 :)

(Edited by solidox at 1:07 pm on Feb. 25, 2002)
IRC: irc.cocytusuk.org / #cocytusuk
zoooooooooooom
Kadarom Douhrek
level2
level2
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 10:46 am

Postby Kadarom Douhrek » Tue Feb 26, 2002 5:09 am

Well, if we're going to talk about console games I have a working Pong.
Not a Pong cartridge for Atari, an actual Pong.

1 console, 1 game, 2 controllers, and hours of fun.:biggrin:
TheDuke
level3
level3
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 6:10 pm
Location: USA

Postby TheDuke » Tue Feb 26, 2002 5:17 am

I might still have my Mattel Intelivision video game console in my basement. I had a bunch of games for it.
Astro smash, Space battle, Night stalker, and Space Hawk were my favorites.

Does anyone here have an Odyssey?
Jabberwocky
level3
level3
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2001 12:23 am

Postby Jabberwocky » Tue Feb 26, 2002 5:32 am

http://www.starbridgesystems.com


Yummy.

A friend of mine runs quad Xeon 1 ghz processors. Its a Unix system.

One process takes up all four chips and ALL its RAM at 100% usage every hour of every day.

Bind.

Yes, its one of fourteen core DNS handling servers. It gets a little over 50,000 requests per second.

I like hanging out in the machine room. :)
There is always free cheese in a mousetrap.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests