AMD Athlon vs Intel Pentium

Anything and Everything about Uplink

Moderators: jelco, bert_the_turtle, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver

Damian
level0
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2002 10:32 pm
Contact:

Postby Damian » Mon Feb 25, 2002 11:52 am

Which Do you prefere, I am an Athlon man myself...
"I'm begining to get tired of killing you"
Icepick
level5
level5
Posts: 7528
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2001 10:29 pm
Location: Bradford, England

Postby Icepick » Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:00 pm

Me too, AMD is teh Uber-win ;)
Kadarom Douhrek
level2
level2
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 10:46 am

Postby Kadarom Douhrek » Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:04 pm

Athlon & Athlon XP sittin right here.
Arzi
level1
level1
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 12:52 pm
Location: Finland

Postby Arzi » Mon Feb 25, 2002 3:53 pm

I have:
AMD K6-2 450Mhz
AMD XP 1600+ (1400Mhz)

Why should we buy expensive and slow Pentiums?
Zhark
level1
level1
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2002 5:39 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby Zhark » Mon Feb 25, 2002 4:49 pm

Me be the happy owner of an 800Mhz AMD Athlon Thunderbird :)
Linux zealot of the Uplink forums.
- I can say many nice things about Linux... Remember though, that zealots are not known to be 100% trustworthy...
- Palle 'Absent' Raabjerg
ssh
level0
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:42 pm
Location: Scotland

Postby ssh » Mon Feb 25, 2002 4:54 pm

I am a Pentium owner...
...Why?
...AMD broke, asked friend to get AMD pour moi and he came back with a Pentium and motherboard?

Why?  How?  One of life's unanswered questions.
Azmyth
level1
level1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2002 6:01 pm
Location: No-Cal
Contact:

Postby Azmyth » Mon Feb 25, 2002 5:02 pm

My first PC was an AMD CPU....
My current is an AMD as well.
It's as good (or better) of a product for less money and
I made a shit-load of money on AMD stock a few years ago, so my loyalty is with them!
~@z~
CGI Timeout
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 4:27 pm
Location: STFU™

Postby CGI Timeout » Mon Feb 25, 2002 5:08 pm

Intel over AMD any day.  I must have worked with at least 200 AMD chips in my life.  Never had any luck with them.  They overheat and lock up like crazy.

...CGI Timeout™
The Muffin Man
level1
level1
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 4:47 pm
Location: Rainy Ol' England

Postby The Muffin Man » Mon Feb 25, 2002 5:45 pm

If it says 1800mhz on the box, then in my opinion it doesn't matter who makes it. I challenge anyone to do worse than my 400mhz K6-2, though :(.
And where does Stalin come into all of this?
Kadarom Douhrek
level2
level2
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 10:46 am

Postby Kadarom Douhrek » Mon Feb 25, 2002 6:04 pm

Are you gonna make me fire up the ol' 486DX 33?
Or dig the 8088 out of storage?
The Muffin Man
level1
level1
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 4:47 pm
Location: Rainy Ol' England

Postby The Muffin Man » Mon Feb 25, 2002 6:06 pm

Up in my loft there's a 286. And it works.
And where does Stalin come into all of this?
Zhark
level1
level1
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2002 5:39 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby Zhark » Mon Feb 25, 2002 6:44 pm

Ha! that's nothing! I have two Commodore 64 with diskstations... But that propably doesn't count since they're not PCs

I know that one of my friends is the happy owner of a _very_ old, fully functional IBM ps/2 machine though.
Linux zealot of the Uplink forums.
- I can say many nice things about Linux... Remember though, that zealots are not known to be 100% trustworthy...
- Palle 'Absent' Raabjerg
antiproanti
level1
level1
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2002 10:48 am
Contact:

Postby antiproanti » Mon Feb 25, 2002 8:04 pm

i have an atari computer from waaaay Back In The Day...
yes, a computer made by atari
it uses normal cassette tapes to store data
what a world we used to live in... ;)
Who needs drugs when you have Winamp Visualizations?
M2M
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2002 7:03 pm

Postby M2M » Mon Feb 25, 2002 8:12 pm

I still have a BBC computer that my mum used in uni. I think I beat you all. And I have a 486 I use every now and then, just for amusement, but at the moment I'm using an Athlon :-)
I appologise for spelling/grammar errors - Im a scientist not a linguist
PsychoBob
level2
level2
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2002 2:30 am
Location: The moon
Contact:

Postby PsychoBob » Mon Feb 25, 2002 9:38 pm

I have an abacus. You ALL lose.
Harassmentation without Representation

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests