Demo High Scores

Anything and Everything about Uplink

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver

Janus_uplink
level1
level1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2001 10:22 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Postby Janus_uplink » Sun Oct 14, 2001 2:35 am

My high scores are
5700 (first time)
and
16900 (second time)

if anybody got something way higher, please do tell :)
ph34r.
VeSpA
level2
level2
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2001 10:55 pm
Location: over here
Contact:

Postby VeSpA » Sun Oct 14, 2001 2:40 am

21800 with my first char "VeSpA"

still playing with "uNSKiLLeD" ;)
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to build bigger and better idiots.
So far, the universe is winning.
Blaine
level1
level1
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2001 4:12 pm
Location: Pittsburgh
Contact:

Postby Blaine » Sun Oct 14, 2001 5:45 am

I only managed a 5900 my first time through.

Honestly I spend most of my time trying to break into things that have nothing to do with my mission so, maybe that's a sign.

My only 'claim to fame' is I managed to get the 200Ghz processor. Which really didn't make too much of a difference for Password Breaking...at least not as much as I would hope.

I'll keep at it and see if I can stay focused and break 10k.
sibn
level1
level1
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2001 4:51 am

Postby sibn » Sun Oct 14, 2001 6:43 am

Actually, it is faster.  Quite a bit faster.

You really only notice it on higher security systems (such as the Social Security Database), where the password can take huge amounts of time to break on a 60Ghz processor.  As I pointed out in my hardware post, though, I had a 3-cpu slot gateway, with a single 200Ghz processor in it (bought it before I did the math).

I bought 2 80Ghz processors for the other 2 slots.  Almost doubled the speed of the gateway, for 2600c;  9,400c less than a single 200Ghz processor would cost.

SIZE DOES MATTER.  And so does speed.  who do you ever see saying "My computer is too fast!"?  ;)  You can always chew up the extra cycles somehow.  Keep working at it.

For example, I once cheated to get 7.9 million c, and broke into Uplink Internal Services.  The admin password took about 1 second to generate.  I was using the TRINITY gateway, with 8 200Ghz cpus in it.
Ever wake up with the feeling that they're out to get you?  Well, it's not paranoia if they really are out to get you:
http://www.m-w.com/cgi-bin/dictionary?va=paranoia
TacKat
level1
level1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2001 10:24 pm

Postby TacKat » Sun Oct 14, 2001 2:02 pm

With the 8 200 CPU's I can usually have the password cracked even before they start to trace me.
Blaine
level1
level1
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2001 4:12 pm
Location: Pittsburgh
Contact:

Postby Blaine » Sun Oct 14, 2001 5:32 pm

I guess I was just expecting an outrageous difference with just the 200Ghz.

I got the 2 slot MoBo and added the 200 to it so I had 260Ghz and that was cool I guess. I was faster.

I usually don't start my trace software until well inside the target computer so, maybe that's why it doesn't seem as fast. Even the default 60Ghz can crack a pass in respectable time on a lower machine.

*shrug*. Guess the difference will be very noticable on the 20 paralell processors!

I scored 46,100 on the Demo and I'm confident to state that I feel I can break 100,000. Haven't tried it yet...probably will later on today.

Probably not the best score ever recorded but I could go to sleep a happy man, secure in my 100k demo run.
Blaine
level1
level1
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2001 4:12 pm
Location: Pittsburgh
Contact:

Postby Blaine » Sun Oct 14, 2001 11:00 pm

108,600 points.

I'm fairly certain that there is no limit to the number of points you can get. Someone could come in here with 1,000,000 points and I wouldn't be even slightly surprised.

I'm done with the point system. I'm goin back and trying to hack the bank with the demo:) Now that's a challenge!!
Ravenshadow
level2
level2
Posts: 243
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 5:47 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby Ravenshadow » Sun Oct 14, 2001 11:44 pm

Well, on my last one (which only ended because I tried to hack into a high security system which was a mistake - took them about a second to stop my password getting process *grin*), I scored 61,000 and something. Though that would have easily gone on for much, much longer if I had not been stupid.

Although the file delete/file copy missions were getting a little old... Though at this moment in time I am rather clueless on how to do most other things *grins*

On the last game, I had the highest gateway type for the demo, 200Ghz Processor, the highest modem... Although I did notice that was pointless buying on a gateway that could not use most of its speed *grin* Full memory... And the highest versions I could buy on the tutorial tools (tracker, etc).
~ They can not catch us all ...
AHardyBoy
level2
level2
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 5:39 pm
Location: TEXAS
Contact:

Postby AHardyBoy » Wed Oct 17, 2001 5:41 pm

919900.

I hit the motherlode at the bank, then got nailed about 2 minutes later.
Ahardyboy
Level 3 Hacker: Veteran
Neuromancer Rating: Single-minded
Kadarom Douhrek
level2
level2
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 10:46 am

Postby Kadarom Douhrek » Thu Oct 25, 2001 11:09 am

Somewhere around 20,000,000.

Banks, banks, and more banks.
All of them to be exact.:biggrin:
Icepick
level5
level5
Posts: 7528
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2001 10:29 pm
Location: Bradford, England

Postby Icepick » Thu Oct 25, 2001 11:39 am

hacking the bank on the demo isnt hard, just make sure you have a lot of connection bounces, i managed to crack the cypher and the password in one connection, then reconnected to do the voice anayliser, and that was without any hardware upgrades :)
Dunno what my high score is yet though cus im still going on the demo
AsMiLoN
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2001 9:25 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby AsMiLoN » Thu Oct 25, 2001 10:20 pm

You dont really need to bounce around the world to hack into a bank you know... Here's a funnier way to hack into a bank with only once bouce server :O
Do 4-5 bounces and and make your way into an console able server (preferbly uplink test server since ya got its admin pass :) ) go into the console and type these commands:

cd sys
delete
shutdown

Finito the server will delete the os, try to reboot the system and disconnect all users cause of internal problem... Voila. Click on that server and then onto a bank. Load your bypassers and you wont be detected through passive trace cause the other server cant keep any log since it hasn't any os :))
Icepick
level5
level5
Posts: 7528
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2001 10:29 pm
Location: Bradford, England

Postby Icepick » Fri Oct 26, 2001 1:01 am

hmmmmmmmmm, thats an interesting idea, i'll have to try that when i get enough for a high enough proxy bypass on the demo (yes im still waiting for my full version to arrive :( )
pagnaet
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2001 1:27 pm
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Contact:

Postby pagnaet » Fri Oct 26, 2001 3:27 pm

haha! :biggrin:
thats clever.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests